We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked into Burn How for one night for our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was as the photos on their website and very clean, we only had breakfast at the hotel the choice was very good. The staff we pleasant and polite.
I would definitely return to the hotel for a stay and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for recommending the hotel, and for your review on your stay. we will look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    148
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
109
328
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for two nights Bed and Breakfast 27th &28th September in The Lodge. Booked on the day and was allocated a room on top floor which was very clean and comfortable.
The setting of the hotel is lovely and peaceful - an oasis away from the bustle of the village centre but only 5 minutes away.
Staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was exceptional with the best choice of fresh fruits we have ever seen in many visits to Bowness. The selection of cooked dishes was also very good.
Will return but book beforehand to allow more choice of rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your last minute break with us.
Yes it is best to book beforehand as we have various types of rooms to choose from, which gives guests a range of choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

we have just returned having stayed for one night at this wonderful hotel. coming up the driveway did make us think what have we done ? . After booking in and being shown our room ( room 26 ) in the outside building, we were more than pleased to find it spacious and tastefully decorated throughout. the bathroom was of a very high quality and spotlessly clean.we did walk down passed the chalet type buildings and to be honest these also looked very good. two minute walk took us to the lake or go through the rear of the property and the shops are again two minutes away.
The following morning we had what can only be described as probably the best breakfast we have eaten on our travels and served by a very polite lady called dorothy ( thank you for looking after us ). this is deffinately a place we will be visiting again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familypet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Coming up our front drive with the garden chalet rooms, does look different to the conventional hotel set up.
But once you have arrived at reception you find that all of our rooms are within the grounds of the main building.
Thank you for your lovely comments which I have passed on to Dorothy.
It will be nice to welcome you back once more to the Burn How
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice spot near the lake (5 mins walk away) with quirky but comfortable and clean rooms.

Very nice welcome and staff were excellent and accommodating.

Breakfast was great and grounds were well kept and pretty.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardWeddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing you stay with us, where you found that we are in a quiet grounds but only 5 minutes away from the village and lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed one night mid week to be near Bowness (3 minutes walk the hill) for cruise round Windermere - Double Rooms Ensuite excellent in lodges with car space - really good breakfast and evening meal in comfortable restaurant with good ambience - Friendly staff would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmicstickyfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in late September - exploring the town and walking nearby.

It has to be said that the first approach to the hotel look unpromising since most of the accommodation is in the form of small bungalow-like rooms along the front drive or in a two-storey block near the rear entrance - with external staircase. In short, the accommodation looks rather like a US motel and this looks unconventional to the typical UK eye, especially given the attractive Victorian building that is the hub of the hotel (restaurant/bar/lounge). However, it's a system that works very well in the US and it works very well here too.
That initial appearance is really the only significant downside we found with the hotel

We had one of the bungalows very close to reception and, inside, it was very roomy, with decent amounts of cupboard and drawer space, three chairs and still a lot of available floor space. Although the decoration was a bit dated to our taste, everything was clean and well maintained and all the systems (heat, lights, hot water worked nicely).
The dining room where we had breakfast looks over a very pretty garden area two two sides. The breakfast was simply excellent with a good range of cold buffet items and some extremely good local produce in the -made-to-order cooked breakfast. Breakfast and reception staff were all very friendly and efficient. We didn't eat in at dinner-time so cannot comment on the food then but the ambiance in the evening certainly looked very cosy and welcoming.

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from both the village/town centre of Bowness and the ferry stop, depending on which exit you use, so the location is extremely handy.

One note of caution if you are less mobile; the hotel site and the surrounding streets are quite hilly (this is the nature of Bowness) so you may want to bear this in mind.

Overall we found the hotel very comfortable and welcoming and greatly enjoyed our stay there. .

Room Tip: Try to get a room whose window faces onto the front garden/lawn area, rather than the drive or car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your lovely review, it is always nice to receive such nice feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My parents and I had a wonderful few days here - had our own car park, and were in a triple room with plenty of space. Bathroom was very spacious and clean, though we couldn't figure out how to turn the heater in it off. Really short walk into the main street and the gardens were beautiful and the whole hotel had no noise from the road.

Beds were great, although the wifi, whilst free, was a bit dicey - but that's a problem across the whole area, we soon found out. Best to use ethernet cables, or sit in the lounge with your laptop.

Breakfast was the standout, HUGE variety of fresh fruits and berries, cereals and yoghurts. You have to book what time your room will be in, but that's not problem. Great view from the dining room, cooked breakfast was great as well. Lots of pamphlets for area tours available at reception, Was an absolute pleasure to stay here, thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to garden patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauralulabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
It is nice that you have let us know that have had an enjoyable stay with us.
Unfortunately the signal for the wi-fi can sometimes be a problem, and we are hoping that the area will be updated soon.
We do ask guests to give us some idea of when they would like breakfast, only to try and make their stay better so we do not have to ask them to wait for a table.
Thank you for your recommendation and hope that you will visit us again if you come back to the Lake District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Property: The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing