We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual, but comfy and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in late September - exploring the town and walking nearby.

It has to be said that the first approach to the hotel look unpromising since most of the accommodation is in the form of small bungalow-like rooms along the front drive or in a two-storey block near the rear entrance - with external staircase. In short, the accommodation looks rather like a US motel and this looks unconventional to the typical UK eye, especially given the attractive Victorian building that is the hub of the hotel (restaurant/bar/lounge). However, it's a system that works very well in the US and it works very well here too.
That initial appearance is really the only significant downside we found with the hotel

We had one of the bungalows very close to reception and, inside, it was very roomy, with decent amounts of cupboard and drawer space, three chairs and still a lot of available floor space. Although the decoration was a bit dated to our taste, everything was clean and well maintained and all the systems (heat, lights, hot water worked nicely).
The dining room where we had breakfast looks over a very pretty garden area two two sides. The breakfast was simply excellent with a good range of cold buffet items and some extremely good local produce in the -made-to-order cooked breakfast. Breakfast and reception staff were all very friendly and efficient. We didn't eat in at dinner-time so cannot comment on the food then but the ambiance in the evening certainly looked very cosy and welcoming.

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from both the village/town centre of Bowness and the ferry stop, depending on which exit you use, so the location is extremely handy.

One note of caution if you are less mobile; the hotel site and the surrounding streets are quite hilly (this is the nature of Bowness) so you may want to bear this in mind.

Overall we found the hotel very comfortable and welcoming and greatly enjoyed our stay there. .

Room Tip: Try to get a room whose window faces onto the front garden/lawn area, rather than the drive or car p...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send us your lovely review, it is always nice to receive such nice feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for The Burn How Garden House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 574 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

My parents and I had a wonderful few days here - had our own car park, and were in a triple room with plenty of space. Bathroom was very spacious and clean, though we couldn't figure out how to turn the heater in it off. Really short walk into the main street and the gardens were beautiful and the whole hotel had no noise from the road.

Beds were great, although the wifi, whilst free, was a bit dicey - but that's a problem across the whole area, we soon found out. Best to use ethernet cables, or sit in the lounge with your laptop.

Breakfast was the standout, HUGE variety of fresh fruits and berries, cereals and yoghurts. You have to book what time your room will be in, but that's not problem. Great view from the dining room, cooked breakfast was great as well. Lots of pamphlets for area tours available at reception, Was an absolute pleasure to stay here, thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to garden patio.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauralulabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

It is nice that you have let us know that have had an enjoyable stay with us.
Unfortunately the signal for the wi-fi can sometimes be a problem, and we are hoping that the area will be updated soon.
We do ask guests to give us some idea of when they would like breakfast, only to try and make their stay better so we do not have to ask them to wait for a table.
Thank you for your recommendation and hope that you will visit us again if you come back to the Lake District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here some 2yrs ago and found the Hotel slightly unusual in that the reception,lounge and dining areas were in one building,and the bedrooms in other sections.Our accomodation was in the Lodge,which we believe was a private house at some time past. The whole set-up was kept very well,being clean,tidy and with helpful staff.
On a recent visit with friends we noticed that some of the bedrooms had had a facelift, the bathrooms especially, altogether a pleasant place to stay a few days,with Bowness ctr approx. 10 mins walk downhill.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms in the Lodge. First floor ok but steepish stair.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWYNEDD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel, we hope that we will be able to come back and visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner had stayed at this hotel over 10 years ago when it was a best western. so we choose to return again but this time with our daughter.

I believe in giving a honest view after all this is what this site is for.

The location of the hotel is perfect for Bowness it was 10 mins walk to the resturants we used on both the Friday and Saturday evening.

Staff - faultless and could not do enough both reception, breakfast and general manger were helpful and polite

Breakfast was great, especially the fresh fruit which my daughter loved.

Unfortunately I feel the rooms are in much need of decoration/ updating. When we arrived on the Friday evening we were shown to our chalet room, which was a family room the bed was in a terrible condition I laid on it and there was no support at all we just sunk when we mentioned this to the receptionist we was instantly moved to another room (again the staff was very helpful and dealt with the matter ) the new room smelt foisty and damp and had wallpaper peeling from the walls, I thought the smell would go over time But it didn't the damp smelt the worse near the bedside table and no heating nor opening of windows would not clear the smell.

The next morning I approached the matter with the general manager who offered to moved us to another room. (Again I cannot stress the helpfulness ) When we returned from our day out this had been done the room was clean ( abeit a massive stain on the carpet ) but it did not smell which was good and the bed was comfy. And we had a far better nights sleep.

I recognise the bathrooms have been updated but I can't help but think that if the same applied to bedroom parts of the garden and chalet rooms then it would make the burn Howe perfect. We paid £300 for 2 nights stay which we feel was overpriced considering the state of the rooms

Once again cannot fault any of the staff.

Unfortunately I would not recommend this hotel (unless it has a big refurb)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AIMEEB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We were sorry that you had a disappointing start to your stay, and that we had to move your room.
We do have a programme of refurbishing the rooms and this is on going. We appreciate all feedback from the guests and we thank you for your nice comments which we passed on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have just had a fantastic week here . Stayed in the mews room . Great room . Comfortable clean . And good facility's . Staff very helpful cant fault them . Thanx to them all . And looking forward to our next stay . Highly recommend a visit !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay, It is nice to have feedback from the guests and to hear that you will return to see us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the hotel and found the accommodation, food and service were all excellent. Our room was large and nicely decorated and we had a French window that gave us excess to the garden. The meals were first class, I inadvertently ordered a meal which included mussels to which I'm allergic , this I didn't realize until it arrived, however, they straight away offered an alternative meal. The breakfasts are particularly good, certainly amongst the best we've ever had at a hotel . The staff were without fail all very helpful. I have seen a comment about the parking being difficult, however, we didn't find this the case as each room had its own parking area, and a normal driver would have no problem getting into it. We used the small gym and it was well equipped for our needs.
Should we visit the area again then we would certainly stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

It is good to read that you tried out the gym during your stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for all the lovely comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

8 Swiss people, students and teacher, spent one night in this lovely area. The rooms were pretty and spacious. The service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was just great, a big variety of fresh fruit is offered.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

It is good to know that you all had an enjoyable stay with us, we hope the rest of your trip went well.
Thank you for taking the time to make a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $144 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing