We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Large clean and tidy room. Ideal location being only 5 mins walk to town and lake. Fantastic home cooked breakfast. Will definately stay there again. Staff were very attentive. Parking was very good. Bowness is a very easy walk to get to with plenty of restaraunts , bars and pubs without being rowdy. Take a trip on the boat to Lakeside for the steam railway and aquarium

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for your review, and comments on the room and our award winning breakfast.
It is nice to hear that you had a cruise on the Lake and down to the steam railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for The Burn How Garden House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 574 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at The Burn How Hotel for a one night stay at Bowness-on-Windermere (2 adults and one child aged 11). We really enjoyed our stay - a great central location (just a couple of minutes walk to the lake and centre), excellent parking available at hotel, friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send the review, we look forward to welcoming back to the Burn How in the future for you to enjoy another good breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Wonderful wedding anniversary weekend away in one of their Superior Four Poster Rooms. Excellent room , wonderful friendly staff and a great breakfast to set you up for the day. Could not fault the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 632Evanses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

It is good to hear that your anniversary trip went well, we hope you will return and see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

If you like your hotels to be full of mod cons like air conditioning, leisure facilities, etc., then the Burn How is not for you. If, however, you like your hotels to be pretty, to be a bit quirky and to have a sense of old fashioned style then we could be talking.

The sign at the entrance to the hotel says, 'Escape, Relax, Unwind'. I'm not sure what the difference is between 'relax'; and 'unwind' but it immediately gets to the root of the Burn How. It is quaint, it takes its time and the noisiest thing is the clink of cutlery on crockery at breakfast. Ah, the breakfasts. The hotel has won an award for this meal but I am getting ahead of myself.

On arrival the first thing you notice are the car park spaces. They are small and shoehorned around the various buildings that make up the hotel. If you have a large estate then I hope you enjoy three point turns. The lobby is small (almost as small as the bar) but we were met by a charming Receptionist who was one of those people who appears to be on duty 24/7. We were in a garden room with very fetching views over the lawn. The room itself resembles a 1970s IKEA catalogue which is not such a bad thing but it was so retro I half expected to find a Goblin Teasmade next to each bed.

Now for a black mark. The bathrooms are small but right on fashion apart from the one glaring design flaw. The hotel owners have decided to put a small window above the sink with a mirror over the adjacent toilet. This means anyone with the inclination can stand outside on the patio, put their head through the window, and observe you at your convenience, so to speak. My 11 year old son needed no such invitation to do so. And very funny he found it as well. Alternatively you shut the window and steam up. Which brings me to the bathroom mirror. It has a sign on it that says you do not need to wipe it as it will clear itself. Rubbish. You will wait for an eternity. Better to wipe away so you can fully enjoy the rhapsody of having a shave over the lavatory.

Whilst the bathroom is not the Burn How's finest hour their breakfast's are a treat. I have eaten hotel breakfasts more time than I can remember. Take it from me, the Burn How's freshly cooked full English is a delight. Really. My only quibble was on our second day; the people before us must have ordered a mushroom omelette with extra mushrooms with some mushrooms on the side as when my wife and I were served our breakfast we had the grand total of two mushroom caps each. Two. And they were small fungi as well. My wife made a point of only eating one. (Well, you can have too much of a good thing.) Oh, by the way, I have seen bigger amoeba than the portion of baked beans that my son got but I really am complaining too much. The breakfasts are gorgeous. Treat yourself. I can't say the same about dinner as we didn't eat there but I hear good things. (I will review my dinners at Rustellis and Positano when I can rustle up the time and motivation.)

Other things to mention; the rooms are spotless, the complementary biscuits are excellent, the staff are very friendly, the beds are comfy, (the pillows not quite so but I soon pummelled them into submission) and the garden views make me feel like I have walked into a scene from Cider with Rosie. I am sure it won't be too long before I return as I enjoy the good life. (See what I did there?)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gryffyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We certainly enjoyed reading this review from this budding author, and are looking at all the comments that have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

In the old house,big airy room,lovely view of garden,nice big shower,toiletries,not enough shelfing.Needs a better wardrobe! Hairdryer was better than most hotels.wi fi didn't work for me at all.Looked forward to cooked breakfast,but problem in kitchen stopped first mornings,but the fresh fruit,yogurts,etc. were excellent,and we did get a little refund.Finally cooked breakfast was lovely.Very noisy people banging doors,floors etc.spoilt it.Location was ideal.A bit tired and I would have a word with the cleaner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We were sorry that we had no gas to be able to cook breakfast on Friday morning for you, but it was good to hear that you still enjoyed all the fresh fruits, cereals, toast etc that we still had on offer.
We have taken on board your other comments and are looking into those. We hope other guests did not spoil your break too much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We chose to stay here for our Wedding Anniversary and were pleased with our choice. We stayed in the old house, although the floors were creeky we were pleased with the room. The bathroom was spotless and the toiletries excellent. We stayed for 3 nights and every breakfast was brilliant, all cooked for you. The buffett had a great choice of fruit, cereals and bread. The hotel is just a short walk into town where there are a good selection of restaurants, but the Hotel restaurant is good, although the chef was not around when we ate there. A nice easy walk to the lake too, well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetteS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review, everyone does comment on our breakfasts and how good they are. It is a nice stroll down into Bowness and we are very lucky that we have 2 drives one direct to the village and the other to the Lake.
We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Being based around the hen and stag party capital Newcastle, we were looking for a different destination for a hen night. We stayed at Burn How Garden Rooms and were very pleased with the accomodation and location as well as having a parking space for each room. It is very central for the pubs, shops and lake. The rooms were large enough for 3 adults with a double, a single and a fold down bed in each. They were very comfortable, clean and well stocked with tea/coffee making facilities, iron/board, hair drier and toiletries. We were on bed and breakfast basis and the restaurant lived up to it's award winning status. The staff were all very polite and helpful and, on departure, we were all given a voucher for £25 off our next visit. I would have no hesitation in returning here and recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debs93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It was nice that you chose the Bowness area for your get together. A lot to live up against the city of Newcastle. Normally we don't have hen or stag parties at the hotel, but your group were a pleasure to have.
We send you best wishes for your big day and hope that you will visit us again with your partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $143 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing