We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveler rating
412
165
35
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
165
35
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenchalet roomschalet stylethe main housebay roomfresh fruitlake districtcumbrian breakfastevening mealfew minutes walkexcellent hotelroom was largewet roomvenisoneggs benedictcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 633 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

In the old house,big airy room,lovely view of garden,nice big shower,toiletries,not enough shelfing.Needs a better wardrobe! Hairdryer was better than most hotels.wi fi didn't work for me at all.Looked forward to cooked breakfast,but problem in kitchen stopped first mornings,but the fresh fruit,yogurts,etc. were excellent,and we did get a little refund.Finally cooked breakfast was lovely.Very noisy people banging doors,floors etc.spoilt it.Location was ideal.A bit tired and I would have a word with the cleaner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We were sorry that we had no gas to be able to cook breakfast on Friday morning for you, but it was good to hear that you still enjoyed all the fresh fruits, cereals, toast etc that we still had on offer.
We have taken on board your other comments and are looking into those. We hope other guests did not spoil your break too much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We chose to stay here for our Wedding Anniversary and were pleased with our choice. We stayed in the old house, although the floors were creeky we were pleased with the room. The bathroom was spotless and the toiletries excellent. We stayed for 3 nights and every breakfast was brilliant, all cooked for you. The buffett had a great choice of fruit, cereals and bread. The hotel is just a short walk into town where there are a good selection of restaurants, but the Hotel restaurant is good, although the chef was not around when we ate there. A nice easy walk to the lake too, well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetteS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review, everyone does comment on our breakfasts and how good they are. It is a nice stroll down into Bowness and we are very lucky that we have 2 drives one direct to the village and the other to the Lake.
We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Being based around the hen and stag party capital Newcastle, we were looking for a different destination for a hen night. We stayed at Burn How Garden Rooms and were very pleased with the accomodation and location as well as having a parking space for each room. It is very central for the pubs, shops and lake. The rooms were large enough for 3 adults with a double, a single and a fold down bed in each. They were very comfortable, clean and well stocked with tea/coffee making facilities, iron/board, hair drier and toiletries. We were on bed and breakfast basis and the restaurant lived up to it's award winning status. The staff were all very polite and helpful and, on departure, we were all given a voucher for £25 off our next visit. I would have no hesitation in returning here and recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debs93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It was nice that you chose the Bowness area for your get together. A lot to live up against the city of Newcastle. Normally we don't have hen or stag parties at the hotel, but your group were a pleasure to have.
We send you best wishes for your big day and hope that you will visit us again with your partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful minibreak at the Burn How, all the staff were very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome. The breakfast was the best we have ever tasted and both days we were there we didn't feel the need to have any lunch as we had such an excellent breakfast. Our garden chalet room was spacious and very clean, it had everything we needed for a perfect stay. The hotel was in a great location a short walk from the lake in one direction and in the other within minutes from all the amenities Bowness has to offer. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Burn How to family and friends and despite the torrential rain we had a fabulous time and can't wait to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mellor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

It will be nice to have you return to stay with us and that you will recommend us to your family and friends, and that you had enjoyed your mini break despite the weather, and that you found plenty to do, and that you enjoyed our breakfasts.
We are in a good position to enjoy Bowness, and only a short walk to either the bus or boats to explore further a field.
We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had an excellent stay at this hotel.It was in a good location.The room was very clean, and the food was of a high quality, the fresh fruit at breakfast was particularly good. The service was attentive, but not over-bearing or subservient. Overall a very pleasant stay, shame they could not have organised the weather!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dolly98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

We do try to have everything right for the guests, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay along with the breakfast fruits. The weather, we do try hard to get right and most of the staff have sore knees requesting this!!
Hope you can return and see the Lakes when the sun-shines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews