We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveler rating
415
166
36
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
166
36
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden chalet rooms chalet style balcony overlooking the main house bay room fresh fruit lake district cumbrian breakfast evening meal few minutes walk excellent hotel room was large wet room venison eggs benedict cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
565 - 570 of 639 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We love the Lake District and wanted a lovely hotel in which to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. The Burn How Hotel was everything we hoped for. The hotel accommodation was so different with its garden chalet rooms, Extremely comfortable, and spotlessly clean, lovely and quiet with a balcony over looking the garden.. It felt like you were staying in your own little bungalow. Ideally situated only a few minutes walk from the hotel into the town or to the lakeside. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were excellent. We will definitely be going back the next time we visit the lakes, and would recommend the hotel to anyone wishing for a relaxing break. Thanks Burn How for a memorable Ruby Anniversary.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-6 are the chalet rooms with their own balcony and patio door
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geraldine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

We find that our garden chalets rooms are very popular, as guests feel that they are more private and give them more freedom to come and go as they wish.
We do hope that we will see you again soon, and that your anniversary was a memorable one.
Thank you for taking the time to send this review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We celebrated our Wedding Anniversary in Bowness and selected at the Burn How Hotel. It was an excellent choice as it is a very good traditional British Hotel. The Superior Room we choose was great value for money and a really nice size. It was well appointed and had a bathroom with a very modern feel. The Hotel is spread out which is great as you get lots of peace and quiet. The service was excellent which started with a great traditional breakfast. We ate in one evening and again the quality of the food and service was wonderful. Being so close to Bowness though you are spoilt for choice on places to eat. Everyone at the Hotel is polite and it was a real pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior Room, they are well worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Thank you for choosing the Burn How for your anniversary, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back for the next celebration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Although we had booked this hotel for 5 days due to the awful weather we gave up after 3 days but we would like to say that because the hotel room was so spacious and comfortable with nice leather chairs to relax in and a large screen television this helped our stay. I must say the hotel was run very well and the breakfast was very good with everything you could possibly want with no skimping on anything. All the hotel staf were very pleasant and helpful. All in all a nice stay apart from the weather which the hotel could do nothing about.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilianswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

We hope you will be able to visit us again and catch some of our sunny weather., and enjoy some more of the good food and hospitality
It was unfortunate that the weather had to cut you break short.
Thank you for the comments which are always passed on to all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of Lake Windermere & within striking distance of the hills.
Excellent standard of accommodation (Bay room)
Helpful and friendly staff who went that extra mile to provide a holiday to remember on a special occasion
Fabulous food

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

We are pleased that your special occassion went well and thank you on behalf of the staff for your comments, by your review you must have also enjoyed the many walks around the hotel and taken in our wonderful scenery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

A diffrent style of hotel with cottage style rooms. We had a spacious room,with a really large bathroom, patio doors to a covered verandah and garden area. Excellent food and friendly staff..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnjupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

The Burn How does have a varied selection of rooms, and as you said some are cottage style which over look the garden and are spacious enough for families, along with our Victorian lodge which houses our double rooms and our rose garden rooms which can be used as double or twins and the first floor superior rooms. Along with our friendly staff and excellent food we hope we will be able to welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews