We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$199
$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$250
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$350
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveler rating
393
159
34
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
159
34
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenmews roomchalet stylethe main housebalcony overlookingfresh fruitpatio doorscumbrian breakfastlake districtevening mealfew minutes walkexcellent hotelroom was largewet roomvenisonmodern bathroomeggs benedict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 607 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Although we had booked this hotel for 5 days due to the awful weather we gave up after 3 days but we would like to say that because the hotel room was so spacious and comfortable with nice leather chairs to relax in and a large screen television this helped our stay. I must say the hotel was run very well and the breakfast was very good with everything you could possibly want with no skimping on anything. All the hotel staf were very pleasant and helpful. All in all a nice stay apart from the weather which the hotel could do nothing about.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilianswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

We hope you will be able to visit us again and catch some of our sunny weather., and enjoy some more of the good food and hospitality
It was unfortunate that the weather had to cut you break short.
Thank you for the comments which are always passed on to all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of Lake Windermere & within striking distance of the hills.
Excellent standard of accommodation (Bay room)
Helpful and friendly staff who went that extra mile to provide a holiday to remember on a special occasion
Fabulous food

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

We are pleased that your special occassion went well and thank you on behalf of the staff for your comments, by your review you must have also enjoyed the many walks around the hotel and taken in our wonderful scenery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

A diffrent style of hotel with cottage style rooms. We had a spacious room,with a really large bathroom, patio doors to a covered verandah and garden area. Excellent food and friendly staff..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnjupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

The Burn How does have a varied selection of rooms, and as you said some are cottage style which over look the garden and are spacious enough for families, along with our Victorian lodge which houses our double rooms and our rose garden rooms which can be used as double or twins and the first floor superior rooms. Along with our friendly staff and excellent food we hope we will be able to welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked the hotel at short notice and as soon as we got there we knew the decision was the right one. The room was spacious and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was really tasty and plentiful with fruit, cereal and a cooked english breakfast.
The hotel is only 2 minutes from Lake Windmere and we really enjoyed our 2 day stay and would highly recommend it.
The only downfall is that although there`s wifi in the hotel, room 20 had very low reception which was a big let down. It was a very good experience.

Room Tip: the chalets are the best!!! Whole families can stay in one room, guaranteed privacy and much quiter..
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oxfordmnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

We do pride ourselves with the selection of different fruits and cereals we offer at breakfast, along with our freshly cooked hot breakfast of your choice.
And it is as you say just a short walk to Lake Windermere.
We are looking at your comment regarding the wi-fi and apologise if you found trouble accessing it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I have put that we staying here in August 2010 but not true. I did this because I wanted to put across my view upon the hotel. About to visit again in August this year.

We have stayed many times at the Burn How and never been let down by anything or anyone. Food lovely and staff always treat you with respect. A fabulous welcome every time
Will always return when when staying in the Lakes

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holidayholic028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews