We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lindeth Howe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveler rating
668
236
78
24
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
236
78
24
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeatrix potterafternoon teatravelzoo voucherlovely hotelcountry house hotelcourse dinneron arrivallake districtsconessmall pooldeluxe roomturn down servicelog fireamuse bouchesuperb foodfine diningno lift
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
904 - 909 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2011

The building is full of charm and although there are reminders that this was once the holiday home of Beatrix Potter and later her mother's home, it is not overdone. Small, but not too small but very comfortable. A little bit dated here and there and some carpets beginning to show wear and tear.

Our room, No.1, was spacious with lots of suitable furniture, wide screen wall mounted TV and a large bathroom. We had booked this room because the hotel does not have a life and although I am mobile, am unable to manage stairs.

The staff were wonderful, best I have ever come accross, professional and friendly, but not familiar, they would get anything for you without hesitation. The food was wonderful, absolutely delicious. We would certainly return again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemini096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Dear,

Dear gemini096

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We are constantly improving the hotel each year including new duvets throughout by the end of April this year. I have passed on your kind and generous comments to the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe soon.

Best Wishes,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

After a chance internet booking in 2004 we have become regular visitors and firm fans of Lindeth Howe. We have just spent our 6th Christmas in a row at the hotel and also like the odd short trip in Spring and Autumn. The hotel has a lovely 'family' feel with attentive staff and pleasant and well equipped surroundings. We always find the food in the dining room first class and this Christmas was no exception. Afternoon tea is a must, especially the home baked scones and roast beef finger sandwiches. We find it very difficult to find fault and would highly recommend the hotel. Improvements could be made but then there are few places where that is not the case. We provide justification of our claims of satisfaction through our continued praise and support.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Dear,

Hi Kirkhaven,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of Lindeth Howe. We are so pleased you continue to enjoy your Christmas breaks at Lindeth Howe returning for spring and autumn aswell, it is always lovely to see our guests returning again and again feeling part of the Lindeth Howe family.

I have passed on your kind and generous comments to the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe soon.

Best Wishes,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

stayed for a 4 night break over New Year and it proved great value for money. The rooms, food and especially the service from the staff was beyond reproach. A couple of issues could have enhanced our stay but these would not put us off from returning: there was no firework display at New Year as there have been on previous years, despite the reasons given by staff this was purely down to cost cutting- this proved a talking point by many guests, quite simply a hotel of that standing and hoping to compete for the lucrative New Year market must have a display, the decision not to hold one was a gross error and will be subject to a rethink for next year: on the last evening there was a first class buffet but no vegetarian option for the hot main course, most surprising!! Some retruning guests did state that they had noticed other cost cutting issues as well as the lack of firework display, eg, the champagne flowed more freely last time at the reception, the guided walk on day 1 was no longer available etc. A great stay but the smaller issues need to be monitored in order to attract new guests and not just rely on returning customers.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclist100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2011

Dear cyclist100,

Thank you very much for your review of Lindeth Howe. We do keep our packages great value for money for all our guests, especially those who return year after year. Our New Years Package at Lindeth Howe is a celebratory occasion, which is very successful over the years and this year we decided to enhance the New Years Package. Under no circumstances have we ever tried to cut costs, in fact we look at ways to improve our guest experience. We did decide this year not to hold a firework display as over the years we have listened to our guests and understood how we can improve the flow of New Years Eve. Going outside in what has usually been inclement weather has disjointed the whole evening. We are also more aware that we are in a residential area and that exploding fireworks in the middle of the night is not appreciated. We as a team have always given a complimentary glass of champagne cocktail for Reception Drinks on New Years Eve. We always review and improve our package and this has reflected the positive guests comments that we have received year after year from all our guests new and returning.

Regards,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We had a lovely 2 night break at the hotel, staff were excellent especially Sarah and Dave. Dave helped us dig our car out of the hotel drive and transported us to the hotel on our first day when it was stuck. Food was fabulous, very good quality as was the decently priced wine, the Shiraz was lovely.
The position of the hotel is great for exploring and you can walk through the gardens in 10 minutes to join the road to Bowness. Having stayed at various hotels over the past year in the lakes this is definitely our favourite and we have already booked again for April.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portreathboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Hi Portreathboy,

Thank you very much for your excellent review of Lindeth Howe. I am so pleased you were able to make it to the hotel in the snow and you enjoyed your stay at Lindeth Howe. I have passed your lovely compliments to Sarah and Dave. We would never see our guests stuck and Dave is the perfect solution, he will be thrilled to bits.

We are really looking forward to you returning in April and I am sure you will enjoy much better weather at this time of year, you may even be lucky enough to see our magnificent Magnolia Tree in bloom.

Thank you again and see you in April.

Alison,
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We have just enjoyed 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast at this lovely hotel and our stay couldnt have been better.Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by Sarah who showed us to our beautiful room (107) having given us an upgrade as due to the snow and time of year the hotel was unusually quiet.The room was spacious,pristine and boasted spectacular views of the lake and gardens as well as a huge window seat. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and the service second to none,friendly and unobtrusive.All the staff appear friendly,courteous and expertly trained.We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Hi Moka,

Thank you very much for your excellent review of Lindeth Howe. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Lindeth Howe and Sarah was able to upgrade you to one of our Deluxe Lake View rooms.

I have passed on your lovely comments to the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe soon.

Kindest Regards,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews