We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go anywhere else?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We needed a break - there was an item in "Which?" which recommended Lindeth Howe and I emailed and received a most personal and lovely reply. I booked! The journey over (from York) was on 20th April - probably the best day of spring and we were greeted warmly and shown to possibly one of the nicest rooms in the (ex-Beatrix Potter) house - (205 if you want to know!) with outstanding views over the luscious gardens right down to Lake Windemere. The room (described by a member of staff as one of her favorites) has a raised seating area overlooking the lake, a brand-new sparklingly white-tiled bathroom, robes, chilled water, a deliciously comfortable double bed ... break? I want to live here!!
We had booked DB+B and were not let down in any department. The evening meals were all excellent, with enough choice from the (non-changing but with a chef's special each night) menu for three nights. Faultless breakfasts from the starter buffet and cooked-to-order English (which included kippers if you are so inclined) were enough for the day. I agree that the staff were not always synchronised ("I've already ordered that!") but it just added to the charm. The two new boys from Oz were a delight!!
I know there can be problems about noisy rooms in an hotel if you are over the kitchen or outside the staff car-park. Sort this out before you arrive if you can and you will have, as we did, a most relaxing and special three days which I would happily recommend to TA readers. Bravo Lindeth Howe!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waysidemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
There are newer reviews for Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 981 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed at Lindeth Howe for 5 nights just before Easter 2009. Paid £650 for two people in a double room, including breakfast and 5 course evening meal.

Considering the excellent quality of the food, this felt like good value. The breakfast was a buffet for cereal and fruit but anything else was ordered from a comprehensive menu. The evening meals were pretty stunning with a menu that was the same every night with a decent choice of all courses plus a couple of specials for each course for that night only. They also provided a vegetarian menu, although a little limited, and boring after 5 nights.

To complete the experience we were offered drinks and given canapés in the lounge before dinner and then coffee and petite fours after dinner. Wine was reasonably priced with a good selection.

The general condition of the hotel was very good, although we didn’t try the pool, but the room we were given was on the back of the hotel. This meant we had a view over the car park and were subjected to late night/early morning noises from the kitchens and deliveries. This may have been because we booked quite late and rooms may have been allocated on a first come first serve basis.

The room itself was large with and good bathroom and tea/coffee equipment. It would have been better if they had provided a mini bar and a better quality TV.

The location was pretty good with a short walk in to Bowness and all the usual Lake District lakes and fells close at hand.

Overall, a good stay, if only the room had had a better view and been a bit more modern. We would stay again, at the price!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PST69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Our dinner was a very stylish one at the Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, a stunning hotel overlooking Lake Windermere, formerly owned by the children's author Beatrix Potter. We had fabulous food. The sticky toffee pudding was to die for!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbieJones88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights, and the hotel had messed up so much we ended up having to change rooms mid-stay. Nice location, though probably best in summer. Food was pretty boring, and must have taken the chef one flick through a boring cookbook to come up with. Really for the price we had hoped it would be something memorable - it wasnt. Frankly it wasnt worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasoned_traveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindeth_Howe, Hotel Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2009

It is important we receive constructive criticism to enable us to get better. We take all comments extremely serious and I feel saddened that you did not raise the issues whilst you were here to enable us to improve your stay.

We at Lindeth Howe strive to exceed guest expectations. I am so sorry you felt you didn’t enjoy the Lindeth Howe experience and you didn’t feel you received value for money.

I would be very grateful if you would contact me direct to enable me to rectify the disappointments you feel you have received whilst staying here.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kindest Regards,

Alison Magee-Barker
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Booked this hotel for a well earned rest. Staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival when we were shown round before being shown to our room. Room very well serviced with fresh tea tray items and bottled water every day when required, and loved the turn down service complete with chocolates on the pillows. Breakfast was very good with well trained and attentive staff on hand. The restaurant would be better utilised if you could get a regular meal instead of the menu being restricted to the sole choice of a 5 course dinner which would work out at approx £50 per head with drinks. But since there are loads of places to eat within walking distance that wasn't really a problem. Hotel is well located for exploring the Lakes and the Dales. We will definately go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Agree with the other reviewers below. Great two day stay at the hotel, food and service exceptional. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel for a relaxing and very enjoyable break

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Have just experienced a wonderful relaxing weekend at the Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. All the other reports reflect on just how good this hotel is - and it is! We booked with Booking.com but the hotel has just recently updated their site which offers much better deals. Cannot put into writing just how good the food here is. Seven Courses. Compliments to the Chef . All the staff are so attentive and polite.
The hotel has the advantage of a small swimming pool and Sauna - perfect to relax and unwind,
The hotel is situated near to the banks of Lake Windermere. Just 15 minutes walk to the Bowness Cruise Boats. Here you can purchase a 48 hour ticket for £14 per person which enables freedom of the lake. The boats are particularly frequent during the weekend period and we visited Ambleside and Lakeside on the Saturday and took the walk from Wray Castle on the Sunday.
Thank you to all the staff, we have experienced such a lovely break.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
697 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $153 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing