We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just returned from a family weekend away to celebrate our parents Golden Wedding anniversary at Lindeth Howe and we could not be happier. Our party of 12 contained 2 young children and as such we were provided with a private dining room given that children under 7 are not allowed in the the main dining room of an evening. There is also a dress code for dinner, and this gives you an idea of the traditional nature of the hotel, however by having a private room this provided us with the opportunity to make as much noise as our family have a habit of doing without disrupting the other guests. The staff were attentive, courteous and catered for all our needs, and the food was excellent. We made use of the swimming pool which was great, if slightly dated. The house itself is wonderful with fantastic lounges, open fires and lovely gardens. The room was enormous and the bed likewise. All in all Lindeth Howe provided us with the opportunity to make great family memories, Many thanks.

Room Tip: Those looking over the gardens rather than the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Jon Q
Thank you for your great review of Lindeth Howe Hotel, it’s always good to see young children running around the gardens and enjoying themselves making happy memories. Hopefully it won’t be too long until we see you and your family once again.
Best Wishes to you and all your Family
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    217
    70
    21
    18
See reviews for
125
595
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Lovely hotel. Stayed in the Potter Room, glorious views of beautiful gardens and Lake Windermere in the distance. Very comfortable room and spotlessly clean. Little welcomed extras - fridge and ice box filled up each evening. Restaurant superb, lovely food (I'm vegetarian) evening meal a must and breakfasts - well, spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Good Afternoon Angela 186284
Thanks for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe i have passed on all your comments to the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lovely setting, room and staff. My husband and I had a 2 night break here which included dinner, bed and breakfast. It was so relaxing, beautiful grounds and overall an excellent standard of care and service. I loved the food and the attention to detail by the very professional, but friendly restaurant and bar staff. Enjoyed using the pool and sauna, though I think we were the only guests to do so!
Only criticism would be that we were charged for newspapers. When asked if one wants a morning paper, I wouldn't expect to pay for it- that's not common in a high end establishment- but I would at least expect to have been informed at the time of asking - a minor point and a trivial amount, but that sort of thing is what differentiates good from excellent. We will be back!

Room Tip: Choose 1st floor if possible as there's no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earlybird10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello earlybird10
It’s great to hear that you have had a great stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night end if May. Paid £130 for one night. Hotel has small cosy lounges with open fires with sloping gardens to stroll around. Beware with small children as ponds are up to 2 metres dip. Room good size and clean. Corridors look tired could do with makeover. Didn't stay for dinner as £46 each for two courses seemed steep. Instead got taxi to bowness for less than £5. Plenty of choice. Breakfast service good and quality if not quantity of cooked breakfast good. Overall enjoyed hotel just better hotels for price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank oscar476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Oscar476
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe Hotel, I must say I’m not too sure where you have seen a two course menu for £46.00pp. The menu we have at our reception is the full five course menu which is priced at £46.50pp and also our seven course taster menu which is priced at £55.00pp. I hope on your next visit to bowness on windermere you will come and see us once again.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were given a voucher for 2 nights stay, including dinner, and what a wonderful weekend we had.
We stayed in a beautiful suite overlooking the gardens and the lake. What a pleasure to open our curtains to such a fantastic view each morning. Our room was immaculately clean and very well equipped, as was the whole hotel. The word I would use to describe the rooms and the food is "quality".:
Friends joined us for dinner on the first night and we all had the tasting menu which was excellent.
On the second night we were entertained by a very competent pianist who was quite happy to play requests. We chose the table d'hote menu and for a small supplement were able to substitute the chef's choice for some courses. Both food and service was excellent, in fact the only complaint I could make all weekend was that the sauvignon blanc wine was out of stock.All the staff made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
We have been walking in the lakes for many years now and did not know that such a lovely hotel was here. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: A room with lake view is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyJan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed in this wonderful hotel for 2 nights, and loved every minute of it. The surrounding countryside and views of Lake Windermere are simply breathtaking. The hotel itself is very quaint, with a traditional country home feel. Our room was very clean and very spacious, with a great view. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was spot on!

The best part of this hotel has to be the lounge and restaurant. We had a 5 course meal on our second night, and it was arguably the highest quality food I've ever had (not to mention incredibly posh!). There was a gentleman playing the piano in the restaurant who took requests, which I thought was a really nice touch. Definitely worth dining there at least one night - the food is unreal. Breakfast was also fantastic, with a great selection from the traditional full english to continental with warm pastries and fruit.

The lounge area was just perfect. The open log fire was lit every night, and the comfy leather sofas meant you could while away the hours next to the fire, either reading a book from their library or playing a board game (we played a 3 hour game of scrabble!). Also, staff are always on hand to bring you drinks and snacks from the bar, which is an added bonus.

The swimming pool is quite nice - it's a small pool, so isn't very busy. The sauna is very good as well.

Our initial greeting wasn't as warm or friendly as I would have wanted. The reception staff seemed quite busy and were thus a little short with us. However, this was only on our arrival - the reception staff were very friendly and helpful the next day.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel. It has great ambience, character and history (used to belong to Beatrix Potter's mum!). The surrounding area is breathtaking, it's off the beaten track, so you feel far from everything, but only a 10 minute walk to Bowness and Lake Windermere. And the food is incredible.

We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank this_is_cby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester,uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed at this wonderful hotel over a weekend this month,what makes it so pleasant is the surroundings lovely gardens/woodlands inspire a secluded sense of isolation away from the rest of the area.We had an excellent first floor room,nice comfy bed/bathroom,breakfast and dinner are of the highest standard,hotel staff are most helpful,attentive to your requests.Saturday evenings dinner is accompanied by a excellent pianist who does requests for evening diners,will be back sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: spoilt for choice for any of there rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leicester_ukValais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing