We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fabulous room, fabulous staff, excellent food
From the minute we booked this hotel, nothing was too much trouble (Martha, on reception, you are a star!)
Warmly greeted on arrival, shown to a stunning room with stunning views, excellent facilities and spotlessly clean
I had requested flowers and champagne to be in the room as we were celebrating my wife's birthday, not only were the flowers gorgeous and the champagne cold, but there was also the added and thoughtful touch of a birthday card for her
On to dinner, fabulous, a match for any of the top London restaurants
In summary, a wonderfully relaxing 2 night stay, thank you to all of the staff, you are all wonderful!

Room Tip: 204 is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnb2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello johnb2123
Thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, I have passed on your fabulous comment to all at the Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    221
    71
    21
    19
See reviews for
131
601
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel as a family visit and this is the worst hotel for families I have come across. Children are not allowed in the resturant and there are no lifts.

Really do not recommend this hotel if you want a nice stay in windermere. I informed the management of my dissatisfaction and they really werent bothered. In addition they had the cheek to try and charge an additional £2 for repairs...

Really shocking hotel for the price, I think management need training on how to deal with customer satisfaction.

Really disappointed.

If you have no issues during your stay and are a young couple who dont mind climbing a lot of stairs you may like this place although forthe advertised prices I recommend the macdonald hotel instead for a guaranteed great stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Ryan J
Good Afternoon Ryan
I have just received your review about your stay with us and if I may I would like to answer the points you have made.
With regard to children dining in our restaurant it is true that children under the age of 7 cannot dine in the restaurant in the evenings but we do have a children’s high tea menu available from 5pm onwards and we also offer private dining for families in the library, with regard to the issue of the lift it would be very difficult for us to install a lift as the house was built in 1879 and I’m afraid there is just nowhere for us to install one. The additional £2.00 is not for repairs it is a charitable donation to the nature Lakeland and is used by them to maintain the Lakeland fells and foot paths and I believe that the lady on reception did take it off your bill for you. Now coming to your point about the management needing training on how to deal with customer satisfaction the receptionist did ask you if you wanted to speak to me as I was on shift Sunday morning but you declined her offer, if I would have been aware of your disappointment I’m sure we could have sorted out all the issue that had arisen apart from the problem with the lift I’m afraid there is nothing I could of done with regard to that one.
I hope the next time you come to the Lake District you and your family have a wonderful time.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Returned to the Lindeth Howe once again in May 2013 for an overnight stay with dinner. Food once again was incredible, and our thanks goes to the chef. Encountered a few issues with water being cut off in room on Sat night and I must stress, this was not the fault of the hotel but caused by a water burst in the locality. Although dampening the mood, the hotel manager Tony was more than happy to compensate us or our inconvenience and we will certainly return in the near future. I can't stress how good the food is here, and some of the rooms overlooking the lake have views to die for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello Tony W
It’s great to hear that you had a good time with us last month and you really enjoyed your evening with us in the Restaurant I have passed on your comment to Sunil the Restaurant Manager and also Rob our Head Chef and don’t forget to contact me direct when you are next making a booking with us.
Hope to see you soon
Tony and the Team at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Moors, Dorset
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The only thing I could fault about the hotel was the temperature. Our room was so hot all the time, despite turning off the radiator, and eventually when we found it, the heated towel rail! Really wanted to throw the windows open wide, but there were "Health and Safety" stops on them so that we could only open them a fraction. As it isn't a hotel which is likely to have small children staying, I do think we should be trusted not to jump, or fall out! Other than that, a wonderful break in a hotel which is both elegant and cosy. Food lovely and staff/service excellent. We really felt that we were somewhere special and found it very relaxing. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: The only thing I could fault about the hotel was the temperature. Our room was so hot all the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vianneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello vianneM
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe Hotel I have passed on your comments to the whole team at the Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe very soon and I promise I will take the locks off the windows for you.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husand booked us into Lindeth Howe for 2 nights because I had enjoyed our first stay here last year. Once again I wasn't disappointed from walking through the door and receiving a great welcome from the staff to leaving with a heavy heart this morning. We stayed in the Westmorland Suite and what a fantastic room it is. Everything we needed and even when they came to turn down the bed and leave chocolates on your pillow they replenished the tea/coffee which is something you don't get in other hotels. The food, well all I can say is WOW, everything was well presented and tasted fantastic.We both loved the idea of the little loaves that are half white and the other brown. We had the taster menu the 2nd night and I cannot fault it one bit. Breakfast was very tasty and came to the table still very hot which made it all more enjoyable. On the first morning I tried one of the little pastries and it was delicious, didn't have room for one this morning. All staff are very polite and nothing is too much trouble for them. The hotel is lovely and clean. I like the idea after having our meal of going into the comfort of the lounge for a drink and it also gave you a chance to get to know other guests who are staying at the hotel. I cannot wait until we are on our way back here again for a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflakes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello Snowflake 15
Thank you for the WOW the chef and his team are really pleased with that comment and we all look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed 1 night wish it was longer, however it was so relaxing that the stay felt like longer, took my mum away for mothers day and was as much a treat for me as it was for her, Small cream tea with fizz was a pefect start to the stay, relaxing in the pool ws bliss we had it to our selves, The twin room was large and exstreamly comfortable, The diner was amazing one of the best i`ve ever had the presentation and combernation of flavours was genious, the lounge for coffie was so cozy. Breakfast had so much choice and was all delicious,i did not want to leave and am hoping to return for my 30th birthday. All the staff were so friendly,efficiant and un obtrusive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello jenny M
Thank you for your kind review of Lindeth Howe Hotel I have passed on all your comments to the Team and we will look forward to welcoming you back for your 30th birthday.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel, and would have to say it was most comfortable, clean and quiet. It was the tyoe of hotel where you could sit around all day and not leave.

Breakfast was good although while we were there, they had a group of 40 swedish tourists staying, and the breakfast buffet was well picked over and not replenished unless we asked.

The bar staff and restaurant staff were lovely and friendly. In particular, a young lady called Dominika(?) who could light up the room with her smiles.

I would however highly recommend the small afternoon tea. We had it both days in place of lunch - just fabulous.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rustyharpoon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello mrustyharpoon11

It’s great to hear that you have had a fabulous time with us at Lindeth Howe Hotel I have passed on your comments about the afternoon tea to brice our pastry chef and also to dominika in the Restaurant and the Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future.

Best Wishes
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing