We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife booked us in the Lindeth for my birthday treat, we arrived to a very warm welcome which continued throughout our stay. The food and the service were exceptional. The location is very peaceful but within easy walking distance to Bowness.
We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hello Dmaw
It’s great to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us at Lindeth Howe Hotel I have passed on your great comments to Sunil our Restaurant Manager and also to Rob the Head Chef, and the Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 990 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

we have just come back from a bank holiday stay at this hotel - we used a travelzoo voucher and wow what value for money it was.
We upgraded on the room so we have a lake view, the welcome was friendly and we were shown to our room which was lovely, nicely decorated with a half tester bed and window seat so you could overlook the garden with the lake in the distance - beautiful. The room was clean furnished nicely and the bathroom was spotless.
There were plenty of sofas and armchairs to relax in the bar / lounge area before dinner - the bar tender Warren was friendly and attentive. The Dining room was nicely appointed with a piano which accompanied dinner on a Saturday night - the food was excellent, a lovely choice and the quality of the produce superb. The waiters and waitress's were very friendly and helpful and I cant speak too highly of them - they made the whole stay extra special. The breakfast each morning was very good plenty of choice and again excellent quality.

Definitely worth a visit - enjoy as we did. Thank you Lindeth Howe

Room Tip: the room we stayed in was 107 based on the first floor overlooking the garden and lake with a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShropshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hello ShropshireEngland

Thank you for your fabulous review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, I have passed on your kind words to warren (and he is very happy to see his name up in light so to speak) and the rest of the Hotel Team and we all look forward to seeing on your next visit to the Lake District.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. Beautiful location, charming old country house. Went on a Travelzoo deal of afternoon tea, evening meal and bed and breakfast. Arrived early but staff were very welcoming and room was ready. After exploring Windermere, returned for a lovely tea with bubbly. Opted for the five course menu; food was stunning, surroundings delightful and staff attentive. Well appointed room and excellent breakfast the following morning. A wonderful, luxury short break which was excellent value for money. Highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Our room was up two flights of stairs, so quite a walk, but worth it for the garden and lake view. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Lin412

firstly please let me thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have recently stayed at Lindeth Howe & loved every minute! The staff were brilliant, the food was amazing. I stayed in a room looking over Windermere and had beautiful views in the morning. The facilities are very good and its in a great location for exploring around the lakes. I would definetly recommend this hotel and i will be going back in the summer for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca_M10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hello Rebecca_m10
It’s great to hear that you have had a wonderful time with us at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel.
The team and I will look forward to your return for a long weekend in the summer.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The food at Lindeth Howe is excellent and being able to stay there for a very relaxed 2 night short break even better. Our room was well appointed with an excellent view down towards the lake and over to the fells. We had enjoyed Afternoon Tea at the hotel in 2012 and are glad that we were able to return for the full experience. A quick swim in the small pool and a leisurely sauna are the ideal set up for Dinner. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njnorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Njnorden

Thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, I have passed on your comments to the team at the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kindest regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We didn't pay for the stay as it was a gift from work colleagues so cannot comment on Value for money.

The room was lovely and very clean but the meals were fantastic. We were only there one night but thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We used the pool and sauna before receiving the complimentary afternoon tea with a glass of bubbly.

The evening meal was a 5 course meal and haute cuisine so not for some people but if you enjoy leisurely meals to the highest standard then we recommend you stay here.

Well done to all the members of staff- Very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKS_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Called here for an afternoon tea and was very happy with both the food, the surrondings and the staff. We only had what they called a small afternoon tea which was plenty for us and very good value for money.
We are going back in a couple of weeks time to stay overnight - really looking forward to that!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Higgins05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Hello Higgins05
Great to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us at the hotel I have passed on your great comments to Brice our pastry chef and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe very soon.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,031 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,446 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $165 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing