We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One not to miss !!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One not to miss !!!!!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. Beautiful location, charming old country house. Went on a Travelzoo deal of afternoon tea, evening meal and bed and breakfast. Arrived early but staff were very welcoming and room was ready. After exploring Windermere, returned for a lovely tea with bubbly. Opted for the five course menu; food was stunning, surroundings delightful and staff attentive. Well appointed room and excellent breakfast the following morning. A wonderful, luxury short break which was excellent value for money. Highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Our room was up two flights of stairs, so quite a walk, but worth it for the garden and lake view. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Lin412

firstly please let me thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    229
    73
    23
    21
See reviews for
134
619
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have recently stayed at Lindeth Howe & loved every minute! The staff were brilliant, the food was amazing. I stayed in a room looking over Windermere and had beautiful views in the morning. The facilities are very good and its in a great location for exploring around the lakes. I would definetly recommend this hotel and i will be going back in the summer for a long weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca_M10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Rebecca_m10
It’s great to hear that you have had a wonderful time with us at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel.
The team and I will look forward to your return for a long weekend in the summer.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The food at Lindeth Howe is excellent and being able to stay there for a very relaxed 2 night short break even better. Our room was well appointed with an excellent view down towards the lake and over to the fells. We had enjoyed Afternoon Tea at the hotel in 2012 and are glad that we were able to return for the full experience. A quick swim in the small pool and a leisurely sauna are the ideal set up for Dinner. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njnorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Njnorden

Thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, I have passed on your comments to the team at the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kindest regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We didn't pay for the stay as it was a gift from work colleagues so cannot comment on Value for money.

The room was lovely and very clean but the meals were fantastic. We were only there one night but thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We used the pool and sauna before receiving the complimentary afternoon tea with a glass of bubbly.

The evening meal was a 5 course meal and haute cuisine so not for some people but if you enjoy leisurely meals to the highest standard then we recommend you stay here.

Well done to all the members of staff- Very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKS_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Called here for an afternoon tea and was very happy with both the food, the surrondings and the staff. We only had what they called a small afternoon tea which was plenty for us and very good value for money.
We are going back in a couple of weeks time to stay overnight - really looking forward to that!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Higgins05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello Higgins05
Great to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us at the hotel I have passed on your great comments to Brice our pastry chef and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe very soon.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for one week in October 2012, travelling as a couple with a 2 year old and booked a family room. The room was of a decent size, comfortable and clean with a large double and a single bed, however it was on the top floor. Day to day this wasn't such an issue but on arrival and departure there was a lot of luggage to be carried up and down stairs - there was no lift and I did not request any assistance.

Breakfast was good - a small selection of fresh pastries, cold meats etc and a cooked breakfast was ordered from a menu.

We found the hotel's small pool ideal for a quick splash before breakfast with our daughter but it would be too small to provide any worthwhile swimming for an adult.

Location (and the nature of the walk) meant that for us it was necessary to drive into Bowness but it is a short (5 minute) journey. We did walk into town one day but with the pushchair found it to be a tricky journey - this wouldn't be a problem for adults or older children. Being out of town means that the hotel is an escape from the day-trippers that flood into the town.

We did not dine in the hotel (although there is provision for dining with youngsters, small children aren't allowed in the dining room) but there are plenty of very good options in Bowness.

We found Bowness to be an ideal location with access to all areas of the lake, while not being either too remote or built up. The hotel provided a similar balance, being away from the town but not so far out in the country that going into town was a slog.

Room Tip: Our family room was on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bad_u_turn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello bad_u_turn

Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe Hotel, I have passed on your comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is located on Lake Windemere in England. Be prepared to take a small winding road to find it.

It has wonderful views of woods, mountains and lake. Also many areas to sit and lounge around
a fireplace or out on a terrace. Our roomy was spacious and well accomodated.

We ate dinner on site in their restaurant-the food was top notch but the atmosphere was very formal. Many of the men were dressed in suits and ties and the women in dresses and
high heeled. We were travelling light and felt a wee bit uncomfortable in our one step up from
jeans attire. The service was stellar, the food delicious but pricey. We felt overall that the
atmosphere was a bit snooty but the following morning we actually initiated some conversation
with a few of the other guests ( we were the only Americans) and found them to be helpful and
friendly.

This house was once owned by Beatrix Potter and there are pictures and artifacts that made
it interesting.

Overall, the setting, history and charm make this hotel well worth at least a one nite stay just
for the experience.

Not sure we'd go back but we are very glad we got to go once.

S. Hernandez

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny8212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Sunny8212
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe Hotel the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,857 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing