We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I booked this hotel last minute for a one night midweek stay with my wife on the dinner bed and breakfast deal which included afternoon tea. We arrived about 1pm but our room was not ready so we were invited to wait in the snug little lounge beside the fire where we had afternoon tea which was lovely.

The first thing that struck us when we entered the hotel was the beautiful Christmas decorations throughout the public areas. The staff were friendly and pleasant in all areas of the hotel.

We came down to the lounge for a drink before our evening meal and enjoyed the canapes before being taken to the dining room which was very well presented. The food was lovely and we really enjoyed everything. We then retired back to the lounge for coffee which was served with three lovely little treats.

Our accommodation was a standard room which was perfectly adequate.Nothing out of the ordinary, just a good sized clean room with a massive bed - I think it was maybe two singles pushed together. Tea/coffee, TV, trouser press, iron etc. All good quality and in good condition.

Breakfast was buffet style for the cereals, fruit, pastries etc but waiter service for cooked food. Once again the quality of the breakfast was excellent.

Our only gripe would be with the pool/sauna. The pool is very small - I could push off from one end and reach the other without taking a stroke. The sauna was not working, although as I was leaving I overheard another guest saying he had asked for it to be turned on?? Very strange - but if their policy is to only turn it on when required I would have expected a notice displayed to advise guests of such an unusual arrangement. I should probably have queried this with reception but forgot to do so.

In summary - a lovely hotel with a really nice atmosphere, friendly staff and excellent food. I should probably give it only four stars because of the pool/sauna but that would be picky when everything else was so perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allymax27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear AllyMax27

Thank you for you lovely Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel I have passed on you comments to the team at the hotel.

Sorry about the mix up with the sauna when you signed it to the swimming pool we should of asked if you required the sauna.

And we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
There are newer reviews for Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 981 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have just returned from a one night dinner, bed and breakfast deal which included afternoon tea with a glass of champagne. We heard about it via Travelzoo but when I phoned the hotel to check availability, they said they would match the deal. We arrived at lunch time but were told our room was available. We were in 118 which had a partial view of the car park but also a good view of the garden and the lake through the trees. The room was spacious and the bed absolutely huge. We walked into Bowness which took just over 10 minutes. After a walk round the shops, we returned for our afternoon tea, which was excellent. My husband said they were the best scones he'd ever eaten. We sat in front of the roaring log fire, very cosy. The evening meal was excellent. Canapés in the bar first then 5 courses followed by coffee in the lounge. The services throughout was excellent. We didn't use the pool in the end as it's very small and there were already two people in so would have been too crowded. All in all, brilliant value for money and we would definitely go back. Just a note, we could hear a bit of noise from the kitchens in room 118 but it didn't spoil the experience. If you want to lie in you might ask for a different room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PetaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Hello PetaLaura

Thank you for your lovely review of the Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel I have passed on your comments about the afternoon tea to Jenny our Pastry Chef who is really pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. I’m sorry about the noise that you could hear in your room I have had Simon our Maintenance Manager to have a look were it maybe coming from and he assure me that he has fixed the problem.
It’s great the hear that you enjoyed your evening in our Restaurant and I have passed on you lovely comments to Rob our Head Chef and Sunil the Restaurant Manager
Best Wishes
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just spent two nights at this wonderful Hotel. First class Hotel, room, service and food. Very clean and spacious room with a view over Lake Windemere. Located close to the Lake and walks. Very attentive staff. Excellent evening meals having a comprehensive menu. The Hotel will cater for special dietary needs, (gluten free meals). Warm and comfortable room. Wide choice of breakfast menu. We will visit again.

Room Tip: Lake side view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear JohnGrice

It's great to hear that you have had an enjoyable time with us at Lindeth Howe Hotel, I have passed on your kind words to the Team at the Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the coming months

Kindest Regards
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Never filled out a review before but felt I had to give this Hotel a top marks review. We stayed at Lindeth Howe through the Travelzoo offer, and for the £159 we spent, we certainly got our moneys' worth! We arrived in the downpour of the recent weather, but walking in to the Hotel and immediately smelling the log fire, this immediately settled us and we knew we had made a fabulous decision on choosing this hotel.
Our room was very big, and the bed was superbly comfortable and probably the biggest bed I've ever slept in! Only complaint in regards to the room was it was so hot overnight, and we had to sleep with the windows open. It overlooked Windermere, unfortunately down to the weather it was difficult to get the true beauty of the scenery, but i'm guessing on a sunny day the view would be stunning.
We enjoyed the delights of the afternoon tea, and were pleasantly suprised at how much food was included. The homemade shortbread and scones were still warm from the oven, beautiful touch!
The food in the evening was absolutely stunning. There was plenty of choice and every course was out of this world. Especially enjoyed the ameretto sorbet and home made rum and raisen icecream!! Breakfast the next morning was just as excellent, with a great variety of fresh fruit, cereals, juices, continental ham and cheese, and of course the 'full english'.
The swimming pool was a little disappointing, and although this is no fault of the hotel, we managed to take a swim at the same time as a childrens swimming lesson, which kind of defeated our 'adults only' feel to our time away.
All in all, a wonderful hotel, in wonderful settings, with the lovely pictures and notes to Beatrix Potter and her writing. Value for money was second to none, and service top notch. Would definitely recommend and will be going back when the weather is a little more kind!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 116, a very peaceful and clean room, with gorgeous views of the lakes to the left of th...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunSearcher41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear H2411L

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, it's great to hear that you had such a great time with us. I have passed on you comments to Jenny our pastry Chef about the afternoon Tea and her short bread.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the coming months

Best Wishes
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel really lives up to its reviews. It has a warm friendly atmosphere about the place and at this time of year there was a roaring open fire in the lounge to sit beside which added to the cosy atmosphere. We booked an overnight stay with Travelzoo for my birthday which included a lovely afternoon tea as we say overlooking the garden. The room really lived up to our expectations because we had only seen the pictures on their website, it was very spacious and beautifully clean with views overlooking the garden. The highlight for us was the fabulous AA 2 rosette evening meal in the restaurant, wonderful tasting food, beautifully presented and excellent service, all the reviews praise the quality of the food and I have to say it more than lived up to the reviews. We had an excellent full english breakfast the next morning before reluctantly heading back home, we would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris33874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear chris33874
Thank you for you lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country Hotel, I have pass on your great comments about you dining experience to Sunil the Restaurant Manager and Rob our Head Chef and they are both really happy that you enjoyed your evening with us .
The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

As others have said, we also came on the Travelzoo deal. What a beautiful hotel. The whole experience was that of luxury. Sumptuous surroundings with the added connections to Beatrix Potter. The staff is excellent, efficient and courteous. The afternoon tea was sublime, the swimming pool and sauna, small but perfect. The gourmet meal delicious. The room lovely. The hotel is so peaceful and relaxing. It is the perfect place to unwind, right down to the turn down service with chocolates on your pillow and fluffy bath robes. I really cannot fault the place.

Room Tip: We ordered side dishes of new potatoes and vegetables with our dinner. We really didn't need th...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runicmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Hello runicmaid

It’s great to hear that you had a wonderful time with us at Lindeth Howe Country House, I have pass on your lovely comments to the Team at the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Kindest Regards
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Travelzoo deal £159, 1 night DBB and afternoon tea. From entering the hotel to our departure the next day, everything was absolute top quality. On arrival, we were warmly greeted and taken on a tour of the hotel and shown to our room. The bedroom was a large cosy room with most enormous bed I have ever laid eyes on. We sat in one of the lounges, very homely and comfortable, for our afternoon tea. What a treat this was, being both top quality and lots of choice, plus a glass of sparkling wine. It gets even better with dinner, which offered a good choice and proved to be the nicest meal we have had. The price of the wine and the bar drinks was also reasonable. Bed turned down at night with a chocolate on the pillow - another nice touch. The breakfast as we now expected also did not disappoint. Throughout the staff were efficient and friendly. The hotel achieved a balance of making you feel very welcome without a snobby undertone. My only disappointment is that we had only booked one night. Look for the next deal and treat yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john0653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear John0653
Thank you for you lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country Hotel, I have pass on your great comments to the Team.
The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
697 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $153 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing