We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by "deals"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Went to Lindeth Howe because a well-known travel site included it in their regular email bulletin as 1/2 price on certain dates. I phoned direct, asked the hotel for that deal on an unlisted date and they just said 'Yes'. Having booked it, I went to their website to check something and found that I could have gotten that date £8 cheaper still!
Nonetheless, the money was well spent and I'd struggle to find fault apart from the "swimming pool" being just long enough for 4 or 5 strokes before you need to turn.
I'd happily go again and encourage Tripadvisor readers to book it......but check the options!

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, it's quiet on all sides
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poucant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
There are newer reviews for Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 981 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

The location is good and the hotel public rooms very nice. The bar staff and dinner service were also excellent but the let down was the room. We had booked a very good deal in a superior room and maybe this was responsible for the room we were allocated. We were in room 123 which was a family room and I was surprosed it was calssed as superior. Nice and big but a let down as this was a romantic break for two so the extra beds spoiled the ambience. The view was also of the car park and not the gardens or woodland we expected. The room was pleasantly warm though and had all the extras you would expect such as bathrobes, tea, coffee biscuits. It wasn't until we were trying to get tp sleep that the problem was obvious the noise from next doors TV was excessive as we could hear every word. When knocking on the door did not allow me the opportunity to request the noice was reduced I had to go to reception in my dressing gown and ask if it was possible to move. The young lady did try to help but she said the only room available was on the second floor and was not generally used. Her colleaugue then phoned the gentleman and I was horrified to here him say that his neighbours had complianed and could he turn the TV down. This was all done with the best of intentions but the wording should have been less personal to avoid making it uncomfortable for both us and the gentleman as guests. Some staff training would solve this. On our final night we had new neighbours and had also been to the Theatre in Keswick so it was midnight when we returned. Unfortuntaley we had rather loud ladies next to us and had speaking noise until after 1am. So it would appear that this room has a general problem. I don't know if this is the worst room for this in the hotel or we were just unlucky with our neighbours but unfortumatley as it was meant to be a chance for some rest and relaxation it completely spoiled our holiday. I would expect that other rooms don't necessarily have this problem and the hotel is very pleasant otherwise so I wouldn't let this put y ou off just ensure you ask for a quiet room and avoid 123.

Room Tip: Worth having a view and avoiding room 123 for accoustics from room 122.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejs1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

Dear ejs 1001

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff at the Lindeth Howe. We were disappointed to here that your room was not upto your statisfaction, I would like to take this opportunity to appologise for this incident, all we can think of is that you had some noisey neighbours as i have not heard of any other incidents involving this room.
I have passed on your comments to all the staff.

We will look forward to seeing you again at the Lindeth Howe.

Kind regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Lived up to expectations and all of the positive reviews. A room upgrade was an added bonus! Food was wonderful with helpful and attentive staff. However the stay confirmed our opinion that if you are going to take a holiday somewhere where the weather is unreliable, then it is worth choosing a comfortable and relaxing hotel like this! We would like to return in the sun to enjoy the garden and grounds more.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room if available
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maybeboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear Maybeboater

Thank you for your lovely review of the Lindeth Howe Country House, I have passed on your kind words to the team who are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully the next time you stay the weather will be a little better for you, and you can enjoy some time in the gardens.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

booked this at the last minute as a bed for the night but this former home of Beatrix Potter was an unexpected delight, wonderful views of Lake Windermere, large double room with the walls filled with old photos of the Potter family or her work, helpful staff and that wonderful feel of a large country house albeit now a hotel, hidden away slightly from the main road down a track but that made for its closer location to the lake, wish we had planned to stay longer and it wasn't raining so we could have enjoyed the grounds more but you can't have everything, especially in the UK!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Dear Qegsbabe

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Lindeth Howe hotel. We at the hotel pride ourselves our 1st class service and our so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thanks again

Paul Holden
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, wonderful location charming garden view.
stayed for 3 night wish it was for ever..
but what with the bathroom sink?! hot alone cold alone style is torturing.
any way, this hotel is definitely my choice next time.

Room Tip: garden view high floor
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALTHUMAYRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Dear ALTHUMAYR

Thank you for your kind comments about the Lindeth Howe hotel.
We at the hotel will look forward to seing you back at the hotel soon

Thank you again

Paul Holden
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at Lindeth Howe for a four night break in April 2011; the hotel is in a beautiful location, very well laid out and maintained. Check in was smooth and quick and we were shown to our room on the first floor at the front of the Hotel. Although we were at the front of the Hotel it was quiet and peaceful; the room and bathroom were spacious and decorated in a pretty English country house style. The bar area is lovely and on one evening when it was a little chilly we had a roaring log fire to sit by, there was also a separate sitting area near the patio to sit before/after dinner. Canapés were served with your drinks prior to dinner which was a lovely touch. Dinner itself in the two AA Rosette restaurant was delicious and I couldn’t fault the food or service. We had a great night’s sleep in the comfy bed and a nice breakfast the morning after; including cereals, yoghurt, fruit, juice and a cooked to order English breakfast or smoked salmon & scrambled eggs, kippers if you prefer. I didn’t use the leisure facilities as we were out and about most days. The hotel staff were happy to recommend and direct us to the local attractions and we had some great days out shopping and a boat trip on the lake. We were sad to leave after a thoroughly relaxing and delightful break in this lovely Hotel. Book and you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules-Nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

Dear Jules-not

Thank you for your kind works about Your stay at the Lindeth Howe.
We at the hotel pride ourselves on giving a first class and freindly service and are really happy that you enjoyed your stay.

reagards

Paul Holden

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at LIndeth Howe for two nights and felt it was the perfect place for a few quiet days in the English countryside. It is not a place you would bring children - at least I would have felt uncomfortable doing so, but great for adults.

It is not a hotel you stumble upon, but once you have found it, you might as well stay there and enjoy the garden and the beautiful house. We did not try their dinner, as the village is within walking distance (15 min) with several options for dining, but the menu looked tempting.

The room we got - which was one of their suites, was large and spacious with an equally large bathroom, but alas,with only one big bed. Since we had no intention of sharing the bed - just the room - we asked for at least another duvet, but that was difficult. So was a blanket and a sheet. But after some rummaging around the housekeeper found both, and finally it turned out that the big bed could even be separated. Nice service, but a little clumsy .

Room Tip: No elevators, and rather long corridors to get to some of the rooms. May be difficult for those who...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Snehvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Dear Snehvit

Thank you for the kind words about the Lindeth Howe Hotel.

We at the hotel pride ourselves on 1st class service and was disappointed to hear that you had a slight problem with the bed. I have talked to our head House keeper about this matter and all staff have now been shown were the extra quilts are kept.

Paul Holden

a
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
696 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $158 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing