We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unexpected gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“unexpected gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

booked this at the last minute as a bed for the night but this former home of Beatrix Potter was an unexpected delight, wonderful views of Lake Windermere, large double room with the walls filled with old photos of the Potter family or her work, helpful staff and that wonderful feel of a large country house albeit now a hotel, hidden away slightly from the main road down a track but that made for its closer location to the lake, wish we had planned to stay longer and it wasn't raining so we could have enjoyed the grounds more but you can't have everything, especially in the UK!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear Qegsbabe

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Lindeth Howe hotel. We at the hotel pride ourselves our 1st class service and our so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thanks again

Paul Holden
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    222
    71
    21
    20
See reviews for
131
604
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, wonderful location charming garden view.
stayed for 3 night wish it was for ever..
but what with the bathroom sink?! hot alone cold alone style is torturing.
any way, this hotel is definitely my choice next time.

Room Tip: garden view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALTHUMAYRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear ALTHUMAYR

Thank you for your kind comments about the Lindeth Howe hotel.
We at the hotel will look forward to seing you back at the hotel soon

Thank you again

Paul Holden
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham - UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at Lindeth Howe for a four night break in April 2011; the hotel is in a beautiful location, very well laid out and maintained. Check in was smooth and quick and we were shown to our room on the first floor at the front of the Hotel. Although we were at the front of the Hotel it was quiet and peaceful; the room and bathroom were spacious and decorated in a pretty English country house style. The bar area is lovely and on one evening when it was a little chilly we had a roaring log fire to sit by, there was also a separate sitting area near the patio to sit before/after dinner. Canapés were served with your drinks prior to dinner which was a lovely touch. Dinner itself in the two AA Rosette restaurant was delicious and I couldn’t fault the food or service. We had a great night’s sleep in the comfy bed and a nice breakfast the morning after; including cereals, yoghurt, fruit, juice and a cooked to order English breakfast or smoked salmon & scrambled eggs, kippers if you prefer. I didn’t use the leisure facilities as we were out and about most days. The hotel staff were happy to recommend and direct us to the local attractions and we had some great days out shopping and a boat trip on the lake. We were sad to leave after a thoroughly relaxing and delightful break in this lovely Hotel. Book and you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules-Nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Jules-not

Thank you for your kind works about Your stay at the Lindeth Howe.
We at the hotel pride ourselves on giving a first class and freindly service and are really happy that you enjoyed your stay.

reagards

Paul Holden

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at LIndeth Howe for two nights and felt it was the perfect place for a few quiet days in the English countryside. It is not a place you would bring children - at least I would have felt uncomfortable doing so, but great for adults.

It is not a hotel you stumble upon, but once you have found it, you might as well stay there and enjoy the garden and the beautiful house. We did not try their dinner, as the village is within walking distance (15 min) with several options for dining, but the menu looked tempting.

The room we got - which was one of their suites, was large and spacious with an equally large bathroom, but alas,with only one big bed. Since we had no intention of sharing the bed - just the room - we asked for at least another duvet, but that was difficult. So was a blanket and a sheet. But after some rummaging around the housekeeper found both, and finally it turned out that the big bed could even be separated. Nice service, but a little clumsy .

Room Tip: No elevators, and rather long corridors to get to some of the rooms. May be difficult for those who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snehvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Snehvit

Thank you for the kind words about the Lindeth Howe Hotel.

We at the hotel pride ourselves on 1st class service and was disappointed to hear that you had a slight problem with the bed. I have talked to our head House keeper about this matter and all staff have now been shown were the extra quilts are kept.

Paul Holden

a
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Lovely hotel and very friendly but unobtrusive staff - an unbeatable combination.
Whoever trains the restaurant and front of house staff should be congratulated.

The hotel has a lovely "feel" - not too big, with lots of space for resting, reading etc. The pool is a little small but adequate and very clean.

Although the weather prevented us using the grounds they looked wonderful and we will certainly be back with the hope of better weather so we can use them.

Oh yes – and the restaurant is first class. Our compliments to the chef.

George & Hilary

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cctlgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear cctigw

We at the Lindeth Howe are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel.

Thank you for your kind coments about the staff, I will pass on your coments to the Restaurant Manager Sunil Burke and the other heads of department.

We will look forward to seeing soon and hope that the weather is better for you next time.

Paul Holden
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

A very nice Hotel with excellent food and efficient staff. However we did visit towards the end of the season , and there were no events going on at the time.

We had the chefs recomendations for evening meal and they were outstanding. In particular the Venison was tasty, tender and cooked as requested.

If there was anything to rake the edge off the experience it was the slightly limited choice of fruits for breakfast, as I really love a slice of melon when I am away...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HammyDaveXXXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
DearHammy Dave

We at the Lindeth Howe are so pleased that you enjoyed your with us. I have passed on your coments to our Chef Marc Guibert and his team.
We will look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Paul Holden

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

I booked this hotel for myself and my girlfriend for a 2 night stay. I booked this hotel based on its location, setting and the overall reviews and knew that it would be the perfect place to propose to my girlfriend..... Now my Fiance :)

A few days prior to arriving at the hotel I called the hotel and told them that I was planning on proposing to my girlfriend during the stay and they did everything possible to make everything run smoothly and to make the stay a little more special. By the time we left the hotel most of the guests had heard that we had just got engaged and congratulated us on the good news.

Anyway, back to the review of the hotel..... The hotel grounds are very well kept and the perfect place to take afternoon tea. The gardens are colourful and tranquil. If you are around at mid afternoon I highly recommend trying the afternoon tea, the tea/coffee is just the start of it. You also get a sandwich of choice and a nice selection of cakes and biscuits.

The hotel itself is very well maintained and again, has a very relaxed feel to it. When entering the hotel there are a number of rooms that you can go off into. 2 lounges/bar , a library to sit and read or the restaurant which you would only use at meal times.

On one of the days we went out walking and walked over 10 miles and took a boat trip. It was a very welcome greeting to walk back into the hotel and have a member of staff ask us if we would like to take a seat in the lounge and have a drink.
It is a 15 minute walk down to the lake and from there you can catch a boat to the other side of the lake which is Ambleside. The boat trip takes around 25-30 minutes.

The pool is clean and well kept, it is quite small but I spent half an hour having a nice swim and then a sauna.

We stayed in the Potter suite which was quite a luxurious room. One of the best I have stayed in. Very well laid out with 2 arm chairs facing the 32" LCD. There was also a TV on the wall at the foot of the bed. the room had a table with a selection of local magazines and a fridge with a selection of glasses. There was also an ice bucket with a lid on and a container of water. We definitely wasn't left wanting for anything. The bathroom was pure luxury, a double shower with a nice big shower head, the tiled floor was under heated and the mirror was also which is good as it doesn't steam up.

The breakfast and evening meals were amazing. 5 courses in the evening and every one was gorgeous. There wasn't one thing that I tried out of the 2 nights that I didn't like. The service was the best I have ever received. Perfect timing between courses and the waiters/waitresses were attentive to your drink needs.

Lindeth Howe was definitely a great choice for a 2 night break and also the perfect place to propose to my now fiance. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be spoilt for a couple of nights or for that perfect treat.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing