We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only complaint ? It was too short !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only complaint ? It was too short !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Lovely hotel and very friendly but unobtrusive staff - an unbeatable combination.
Whoever trains the restaurant and front of house staff should be congratulated.

The hotel has a lovely "feel" - not too big, with lots of space for resting, reading etc. The pool is a little small but adequate and very clean.

Although the weather prevented us using the grounds they looked wonderful and we will certainly be back with the hope of better weather so we can use them.

Oh yes – and the restaurant is first class. Our compliments to the chef.

George & Hilary

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cctlgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear cctigw

We at the Lindeth Howe are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel.

Thank you for your kind coments about the staff, I will pass on your coments to the Restaurant Manager Sunil Burke and the other heads of department.

We will look forward to seeing soon and hope that the weather is better for you next time.

Paul Holden
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    217
    70
    21
    18
See reviews for
125
594
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

A very nice Hotel with excellent food and efficient staff. However we did visit towards the end of the season , and there were no events going on at the time.

We had the chefs recomendations for evening meal and they were outstanding. In particular the Venison was tasty, tender and cooked as requested.

If there was anything to rake the edge off the experience it was the slightly limited choice of fruits for breakfast, as I really love a slice of melon when I am away...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HammyDaveXXXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
DearHammy Dave

We at the Lindeth Howe are so pleased that you enjoyed your with us. I have passed on your coments to our Chef Marc Guibert and his team.
We will look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Paul Holden

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

I booked this hotel for myself and my girlfriend for a 2 night stay. I booked this hotel based on its location, setting and the overall reviews and knew that it would be the perfect place to propose to my girlfriend..... Now my Fiance :)

A few days prior to arriving at the hotel I called the hotel and told them that I was planning on proposing to my girlfriend during the stay and they did everything possible to make everything run smoothly and to make the stay a little more special. By the time we left the hotel most of the guests had heard that we had just got engaged and congratulated us on the good news.

Anyway, back to the review of the hotel..... The hotel grounds are very well kept and the perfect place to take afternoon tea. The gardens are colourful and tranquil. If you are around at mid afternoon I highly recommend trying the afternoon tea, the tea/coffee is just the start of it. You also get a sandwich of choice and a nice selection of cakes and biscuits.

The hotel itself is very well maintained and again, has a very relaxed feel to it. When entering the hotel there are a number of rooms that you can go off into. 2 lounges/bar , a library to sit and read or the restaurant which you would only use at meal times.

On one of the days we went out walking and walked over 10 miles and took a boat trip. It was a very welcome greeting to walk back into the hotel and have a member of staff ask us if we would like to take a seat in the lounge and have a drink.
It is a 15 minute walk down to the lake and from there you can catch a boat to the other side of the lake which is Ambleside. The boat trip takes around 25-30 minutes.

The pool is clean and well kept, it is quite small but I spent half an hour having a nice swim and then a sauna.

We stayed in the Potter suite which was quite a luxurious room. One of the best I have stayed in. Very well laid out with 2 arm chairs facing the 32" LCD. There was also a TV on the wall at the foot of the bed. the room had a table with a selection of local magazines and a fridge with a selection of glasses. There was also an ice bucket with a lid on and a container of water. We definitely wasn't left wanting for anything. The bathroom was pure luxury, a double shower with a nice big shower head, the tiled floor was under heated and the mirror was also which is good as it doesn't steam up.

The breakfast and evening meals were amazing. 5 courses in the evening and every one was gorgeous. There wasn't one thing that I tried out of the 2 nights that I didn't like. The service was the best I have ever received. Perfect timing between courses and the waiters/waitresses were attentive to your drink needs.

Lindeth Howe was definitely a great choice for a 2 night break and also the perfect place to propose to my now fiance. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be spoilt for a couple of nights or for that perfect treat.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedbergh, cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

The food was imaginative, memorable and very tasty, the room was very comfortable and catered for our needs, the facilities were suited to our needs. The hotel staff were very supportive, professional and always ready to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The only flaws we found is that the dinning staff didn't speak English as well as needed, and during dinner and breakfast, at no time were we asked if everything was to our satisfaction. Also another table at breakfast had their plate whipped away whilst their partner was still eating!! Maybe they do things differently abroad. This did not detract from our stay but it did let the hotel down as everything else was very well done to a high standard. Can't wait to go back again!!

Room Tip: Go on line for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Melanie M
Thank you for your kind words I have passed your comments on to the team at the hotel who are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed your comments on to Sunil the Restaurant Manager who take on board all feedback from the Hotel guests and has implemented a new training scheme with in the Restaurant for all the waiting staff, so on your next visit to Lindeth Howe Hotel you will enjoy you dining experience even more.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future

Kindest Regards

Tony Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

My mom and I stayed for three nights at Lideth Howe. The most impressive features are the 30 acres of gardens . . . we found ourselves every day taking books outside to read in the gardens, and walking around the property, just to enjoy the landscaping and flowers. We also very much enjoyed the top-notch food; we had both breakfast and dinner in our package, and thought the dinners in particular were excellent, with changing and creative menus. The rooms were fine; we had a garden view. (I would suggest not having windows open with lights on at night, though, as we attracted quite a few tiny bugs the night we didn't draw the curtains while lights were on.) The only drawback (for us) is that we did not have a car, and the hotel is not very close to the city center. I think everyone else staying there had a car. It was really an idyllic location for relaxation after a hectic week in London.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becwa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear becwa69

Thank you for kind review of Lindeth Howe Country House, David our gardener will be thrilled that you have enjoyed you afternoons in the garden.
I have passed on your lovely comments about the Restaurant to Marc our Head chef and Sunil the Restaurant Manager and the hole of the team at the hotel.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe next time you are in the Lake District.

Kindest Regards
Tony Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

First class in every way ,faultless service food excellant Main rooms very comfortable

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irvingnothumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Irvingnorthumberland

Thank you for your great review of Lindeth Howe Country House, I have passed on your lovely comments to all the team at Lindeth Howe and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Tony Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had a two night dinner, bed and breakfast package which proved to be one of the most economical parts our our two weeks in England and Scotland. The hotel is exceptionally comfortable with gracious public rooms and an absolutely superb restaurant. The gardens are beyond beautiful and the view of lake Windermere is fantastic. The only little quibble is that room windows can't be opened fully which somewhat limited airflow.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnikikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear pnikikw

Thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House, the team and I are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have pass on your great comments to David our gardener who is over the moon that you enjoyed your time in the garden.

Kindest Regards

Tony Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing