We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English hospitality at it's very best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindeth Fell Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have just returned home after a wonderful weekend at Lindeth Fell & can't recommend it highly enough. The evening meal was 'out of this world' and served in a dining room with magnificent views. We had one of the master suites which was beautifully decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable. All the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was a memorable one. It made a very pleasant change from the impersonal hotel chains we often use. We will definately return and will be recommeding Lindeth Fell to all our friends. Exquisite! Delightful! Perfection! Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 311 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed a Lindeth Fell as a family for one night in the Rydal and Haweswater rooms, the Haweswater had the most amazing views and was decorated to a high standard. The hospitality shown by the owners was second to none, warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was just lovely, very attentive staff and beautiful views over Lake Windemere. This was a special weekend for us, we were so pleased we had chosen to stay at the Lindeth Fell. Will definitely return I have even picked out the rooms for next time!! Thank you for a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: The Haweswater for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueblackburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights on a DBB basis and were so impressed by the care and attention shown to us. Standards are high and attention to detail is evident wherever you go. We stayed in a superior room at the back of the hotel. It was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The only reservation was the fact that you couldn't open the wardrobe doors fully because of the bed. The hotel is family run and it felt very homely without being overbearing. Soft furnishings are of a high quality as was the furniture. If you want peace and quiet in congenial surroundings, then this is the place to be. Staff are extremely courteous and attentive. Most of the guests were of an older type but country house hotels appeal to such people who appreciate good food, comfortable rooms and excellent service; they just keep coming back for more! Food was delicious with a dinner menu that changed daily. Views from the restaurant are outstanding as it overlooks Lake Windermere.

Room Tip: Rooms sizes vary, so best to ask before you book. Superior may be the bigger ones compared to class...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmacq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I wanted a hotel with a single room which are few and far between. The Lindeth Fell has 2. I had the one on the second floor and was absolutely delighted with it. Beautifully furnished with a large shower bath and spotlessly clean. I could not fault it. The hotel was very welcoming with a lovely open fire and very attentive staff. My bag was carried up to my room for me. I was given all the information I needed regarding dinner and breakfast times. I came down to dinner at 7pm and was greeted with a menu full of wonderful choices. My table for one had a view over the lake and attentive but unobtrusive service. My melon starter was just the right size followed by a very tasty cherry sorbet. The main was pork fillet cooked to perfection. Dessert consisted of tiny doughnuts with a vanilla panna cotta, strawberry sorbet and strawberry soup. Delightful. All this was followed by a very tasty decaf coffee and chocolate covered kendal mint cake. The whole one night stay was superb. Breakfast was just as tasty as dinner. I am a porridge fan and my bowl came with cream and honey - just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elvisaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

me and my partner stayed at this hotel one night only as a part of our visit to the lakes. such a great location and beautiful views overlooking the lakes. staff were very friendly and the management was excellent very friendly people.. when we first arrived the manager lady was very organised and she gave us all the details about the area..she also offered us to have the key for the night if we were to come back after 11.00pm.. the room was as we expected very clean overlooking half of the lake and half of the gardens.. it was old fashioned decorating which we liked because thats shows the real character of this house.. our room had a modern bathroom.. room was very cosy and warm and bed was comfy..we didnt try dinner so cant comment on it but breakfast was nice and healthy, good selection of hot and cold breakfast and the waiters and waitresses were very polite and professional.. we will definitely come back for the summer..
Zeynep&Simon

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canarijaune00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is an incredibly special and welcoming hotel, which went out of its' way to make an initimate family lunch to celebrate my mother-in-law's 90th birthday into something that, in her words, she "will remember forever".

Many others have mentioned the extraordinary position, and the stunning house. The dining rooms are filled with light (even on a grey day!), and the food is exceptional - as well as very well priced.

The Kennedy's make the experience so personal, scatterng mini 90's and "Happy Birthday" table decorations, on the table (with less than 24 hours notice, and with no special request to do so), and generally making us feel very special indeed.

Having come here for lunch, I am now looking forward to coming back to stay here with my husband!

Thank you so much to the Kennedy's (I hope you will see this) for making today's lunch celebration an absolute triumph.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southkensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

we stayed here in March and were looked after really well by the owners. the food is second to none and the welcome and warm friendly atmosphere made us feel we were friends visiting rather than paying guests. there was a problem with the water pipes which made a noise in our room and had developed during our first afternoon, the owners moved us to another room to sleep that nigt and when the issue was sorted we were back to our original room which was comfortable and larger.
as we had a problem we were given free drinks in the evening of our second day and some tea and shortbread biscuits which was a really nice gesture on the part of the owners.
we will certainly return here for a visit and will look forward to it very much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
997 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,042 reviews
1.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Fell Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Fell Country House

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $198 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lindeth Fell Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindeth Fell is a luxury bed and breakfast, perfectly located overlooking Lake Windermere. This is the ideal hideaway for those wanting to relax and get away, but at the same time enjoying the convenience of being a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of Bowness with its boutique shops, cinema and lively restaurants. Lindeth Fell is an elegant Edwardian country house, with high ceilings and beautiful architecture, stylishly restored with both period and contemporary features. There are 14 individually designed bedrooms each with its own modern bathroom with luxury amenities. Many rooms have superb lake views. Start the day with a delicious breakfast served in our sunny dining room, overlooking 7 acres of beautiful gardens. On arrival enjoy complimentary tea and scones in the lounge by the fire, or on the sunny garden terrace. Platters are available to pre order, and we have a fully licensed bar for residents. We can provide picnics for walking days, and offer complimentary passes for use in a nearby spa & pool. We provide a friendly relaxing place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lindeth Fell Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lindeth Fell
Lindeth Fell Country House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing