We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lindeth Fell Country House
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$155
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$186
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$338
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$216
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$161
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$203
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$144
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$213
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$213
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
281
28
12
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
28
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskennedy familyafternoon teameringuemarmaladelake districtdecanter of sherrytarn howsnespresso machinefluffy towelsnothing is too much troublewedding anniversarysingle roomon arrivalevening mealhotel is beautifulwarm welcomecomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 326 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent a short break at The Lindeth Fell last weekend, celebrating our wedding anniversary. The hospitality, service and food was second to none. Our A la Carte evening dinner on the Saturday was one one the best meals we have ever had. Very extensive choice on the menu to suit all requirements and tastes. The chef here certainly knows how to cook very fine food. The breakfast in the morning gave us a great choice of cereal, fresh fruit etc from the buffet and an excellent choice of freshly cooked food including a grilled breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled egg on a toasted English muffin etc, etc. The room was excellent, roomy,clean and very comfortable. The en suite bathroom was very contemporary, squeaky clean with bath, shower cubicle, toilet and sink. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we certainly hope to return to this family run hotel in the future.

Room Tip: We had a Classic room which was more than adequate. There are more expensive rooms which do look fabulous. Just a matter of choice and budget.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Diane A,
Thank you for your lovely review.
I have passed on your kind comments to all the staff and chef who are all thrilled.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Came across this hotel by accident because we walked out of another very expensive hotel in the locality ,because it was shabby and down at heel.
Lindeth Fell gave us a good feeling as soon as we walked in ; the place is so comfortable ,well furnished and not stuffy.
The bedroom was well appointed ,good linens ,large fluffy towels and tea making facilities.
Dinner was superb in a spacious dining room , immaculate tableware, good choice of food served by excellent staff.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the lake
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7379selsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear 7379selsy,
I am sorry another hotel let you down but thoroughly pleased you found us!
‘A true gem!’ that’s a lovely comment, thank you!
We hope to welcome you back soon,
With kind regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Brilliant hotel and staff, the food was out of this world, very good value,can't wait to go back. The views are second to none gardens wonderful everything about this hotel is 1st class.A good all year round destination. Book with confidence And enjoy this fantastic

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beastyclitheroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear beastyclitheroe,
What a fantastic review, thank you!
Anytime of year is wonderful at Lindeth Fell, Spring with the tulips and daffodils, summer is amazing with a real buzz in Bowness and our tranquil gardens, Autunm is an array of reds, gold’s and oranges with beautiful autumn colours and winter is crisp and cosy by the fires.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
With kind regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just had a weekend away with the parents inlaw (their diamond wedding anniversary) and my husbands brothers and sister inlaw. To say the Lindeth is faultless is no understatement. My parents inlaw are elderly and were treated wonderfully by all the staff as were the rest of us. The staff are a credit to the owners and the hospitality was second to none. The accommodation was beautiful, the food amazing, the gardens stunning. Would recommend to anyone. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Sarah N,
Thank you so much for celebrating such a special occasion with us and for the lovely review.
We hope to welcome you all back soon.
With best wishes,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just back from two nights at this lovely little hotel with sis and bro-in-law. We both had lovely large rooms, one looking over lake (but view mostly obscured by rain on this visit!)

The hotel is so cosy (actually our room was bit too warm for us on arrival but they turned down heating as soon as we mentioned!). Got back from a boat trip to be met with a roaring log fire and a loud welcome from the gorgeous Amber who immediately wanted to sit on my husband's knee (it's ok ... she's one of the hotel's fabulous cats).

The food was excellent. Chef has great taste buds and we must give special mention to the head waiter Csabo who, along with other staff, just make you feel part of the family for the duration of your stay. Grounds are lovely - hotel has a little tarn too just down from main house. Was just a pity weather was so foul and we didn't get as much of a chance to enjoy gardens as we might have done. Great place though and we definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macelven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear macelven,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Such a shame the weather wasn’t at its best but so pleased you had the chance to relax by the cosy log fires.
Csaba is over the moon to receive such lovely comments, thank you once again and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews