We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lindeth Fell Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went for Sunday lunch.
Pre lunch drinks were taken in the stunning hotel gardens with spectacular views of Windermere and the fells beyond.
The food, service and ambIance were beyond reproach.
The personal service from the owners was charming,attentive and caring.
The price for this stunning 3course lunch including a glass of excellent wine and coffee, just £19.95, amazing value.
We want to go for a weekend break!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MancsJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Mancs John,
Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch with us.
Sunday lunch is so popular here at Lindeth Fell and I am so pleased you enjoyed it.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 305 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have visited several hotels over the years, but discovered this one twelve years ago - and it is easily the best! It has everything we would want: a delightful building in a stunning, quiet location - which is still within walking distance of Bowness- lovely, clean rooms and a super, delicious menu that gets the balance right, as the food is never boring but the portions are good and the chef does not forget the fact that food is not only for looking at! However, the main reason we rate this hotel is that the staff are always so friendly and work hard to make your stay special. Mrs. Kennedy, who is the owner, is a lovely lady and very 'hands-on' as is her daughter, who is the manager. All the staff follow their lead, with the result that there is a really warm, friendly atmosphere which is not often encountered. This is a very special hotel!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second (top) floor. It is a bit further to walk, but was beautifully light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Karen M,
What a wonderful review, thank you so much.
We hope to see you again soon.
With kind regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This has got to be the best last minute decision we have ever made. After deciding to get away for the night, we had great difficulty finding a hotel that had any free rooms. We managed to snap up their last room.

When we arrived, we were greeted by the owner herself, Mrs Kennedy, and she made us both feel incredibly welcome, and showed us directly to our rooms. We arrived just after lunch was finished, but was able to fit us in. we were very grateful, and we had the impression that nothing was too much trouble, as she and the hotel catered for our needs.

The we stayed in the Windermere room, and had an amazing view of Windermere too. Felt very overwhelmed with how luxurious the room was. Very spacious, lots of light through the massive windows, and one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in. Very cosy indeed.

Lunch was simply delicious..... Three course meal. Although didn't ask, I think was made on site. The bread that came with it was made by Mrs Kennedy, and was lovely. The dessert too was made by her. I had the brown sugar merrange, and I would think it was made by a professional with how it was presented.

In the evening we had drinks in one of the lounges, just before we had dinner. And again had a chat with Mrs Kennedy. She tends to the guests herself, along with her daughter (Sheena) and the deputy manager (Caroline) They all made our stay memorable. Had a game of cards before we headed to bed, and it was just a shame we had to get up, the bed was heavenly.

Had breakfast, said our goodbyes, and left.

Have already decided to return later in the year with the family, and looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galactica83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Galactica83,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, it was such a pleasure to read.
Mrs Kennedy was delighted you liked her brown sugar meringues and brown bread! She would however like to pass the credit for the smooth running of our successful restaurant to our three professional chefs who use talent, skill and imagination in our daily changing menus.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Lindeth fell soon.
With best wishes,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have just returned back from a two night stay at Lindeth Fell Hotel and had a simply wonderful time. We were celebrating my Brother-in-Laws 75th birthday. Kath one of the staff was so welcoming as we arrived late at 10.30pm she immediately asked if we wanted drinks and sandwiches which we thought was so thoughtfull. The rooms we had were absolutely gorgeous the views were stunning. The hotel is spotless from the impressive dining room to the lounges and the bedrooms. The breakfast and dinner were superb everything was served beautifully by our waiter who was so profressional and friendly. We will definately be staying here again and l cannot fault it at all. We look forward to seeing Mrs Kennedy and her team very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martiniwarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Martinwarrington,
I am glad you all enjoyed your stay.
I have passed on your comments to Cath, Csaba and all the front of house team.
Karen and the housekeepers are an amazing team who clean to perfection.
Whilst the kitchen brigade work hard to deliver outstanding food.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Professional and welcoming staff, all quietly efficient, welcoming and friendly. We very much enjoyed staying at Lindeth Fell in the Haweswater room with its fabulous view.The hotel's large garden is very attractive and the view across to Lake Windermere stunning. Breakfast and evening meals very good, varied menu, and well presented, though would agree with previous review that some background music in the dining room would improve the ambience and make conversation more comfortable. It is a twenty minute walk to the lake (downhill, roads not all with pavements, steep return) and further ten minutes alongside the lake to Bowness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardinalpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Cardinalpuff,
Thank you for your lovely review!
We are so glad you enjoyed our gardens and we hope you had time to visit or beautiful tarn which is just 200 yards from the main house and still in our grounds, which is an area of peace and tranquillity or even had the chance for a spot of croquet!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
With kind regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived at Lindeth Fell on a sunny Friday afternoon and were greeted by a very friendly lady who showed us to our rooms. We were really impressed with our rooms, Haweswater and Coniston. The only downside to Haweswater is the small shower room which we knew would be small before we went but it wasnt a problem. The cleanliness, facilities, decor, and also most definitely the fabulous view from the room made up for this.

We enjoyed a drink on the terrace and also it was nice to sit in the summerhouse when the sun went in. Drinks are available all day. They also serve lunch and afternoon teas which we will definitely try next time. The grounds of the Hotel are lovely and well kept.

All staff are extremely friendly and efficient. Mrs Kennedy and her daughter obviously put a lot of thought into making their country house a very comfortable and friendly place to stay. It is evident that they care about their guests.

The food was excellent - Lamb, guinea fowl, pork fillet etc. etc. However one of us had fillet steak which unfortunately was a little overcooked, but was very tasty. Lovely selection of vegetables which were perfectly cooked. The menus offered a lovely selection of dishes to choose from. The breakfasts were just as good too. The dining rooms are lovely and had a view of the grounds and the lake in the distance.

The lounges are very comfortable and quiet - we sat and played a card game till 11pm. Most people had gone to bed by then. When we stayed there was a wide age range of people from young to old. We are in our 50s and felt very comfortable there.

We loved Lindeth Fell and most definitely will return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Bluetwo 47,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and you had the pleasure of seeing the Lakes in the sunshine! Though playing games by the log fires during the winter months is very cosy!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Fell soon.
With best wishes,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have literally just returned home after a 3 night break at Lindeth Fell. We enjoyed great hospitality from the friendly and attentive staff. The food was superb and could not be faulted at all. Some slight negatives are the quietness of the dining room, my husband and I felt it would have a better ambience is there had been some background music and the lack of a bar as a focal point for guest to mingle however there is a well stocked dispensing bar and two lovely lounges however our fellow guests didn't appear to use either very often!. Our bedroom, at the top of the house was well appointed and extremely quiet which for me is an important factor. The only element that would have made the hotel 'perfect' would have been good weather! But as a brochure said, 'it rains a lot in the lake district so get over it!'

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jendie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Jendie3,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.
I have passed on your comments to the chef and his team who are all delighted!
We do strive for perfection and only wish we had control over the weather.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Fell again.
With kind regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,031 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
720 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Fell Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Fell Country House

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $198 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lindeth Fell Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindeth Fell is a luxury bed and breakfast, perfectly located overlooking Lake Windermere. This is the ideal hideaway for those wanting to relax and get away, but at the same time enjoying the convenience of being a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of Bowness with its boutique shops, cinema and lively restaurants. Lindeth Fell is an elegant Edwardian country house, with high ceilings and beautiful architecture, stylishly restored with both period and contemporary features. There are 14 individually designed bedrooms each with its own modern bathroom with luxury amenities. Many rooms have superb lake views. Start the day with a delicious breakfast served in our sunny dining room, overlooking 7 acres of beautiful gardens. On arrival enjoy complimentary tea and scones in the lounge by the fire, or on the sunny garden terrace. Platters are available to pre order, and we have a fully licensed bar for residents. We can provide picnics for walking days, and offer complimentary passes for use in a nearby spa & pool. We provide a friendly relaxing place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lindeth Fell Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lindeth Fell
Lindeth Fell Country House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing