We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lindeth Fell Country House
Certificate of Excellence
herts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Professional and welcoming staff, all quietly efficient, welcoming and friendly. We very much enjoyed staying at Lindeth Fell in the Haweswater room with its fabulous view.The hotel's large garden is very attractive and the view across to Lake Windermere stunning. Breakfast and evening meals very good, varied menu, and well presented, though would agree with previous review that some background music in the dining room would improve the ambience and make conversation more comfortable. It is a twenty minute walk to the lake (downhill, roads not all with pavements, steep return) and further ten minutes alongside the lake to Bowness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardinalpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Cardinalpuff,
Thank you for your lovely review!
We are so glad you enjoyed our gardens and we hope you had time to visit or beautiful tarn which is just 200 yards from the main house and still in our grounds, which is an area of peace and tranquillity or even had the chance for a spot of croquet!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
With kind regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    26
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
167
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived at Lindeth Fell on a sunny Friday afternoon and were greeted by a very friendly lady who showed us to our rooms. We were really impressed with our rooms, Haweswater and Coniston. The only downside to Haweswater is the small shower room which we knew would be small before we went but it wasnt a problem. The cleanliness, facilities, decor, and also most definitely the fabulous view from the room made up for this.

We enjoyed a drink on the terrace and also it was nice to sit in the summerhouse when the sun went in. Drinks are available all day. They also serve lunch and afternoon teas which we will definitely try next time. The grounds of the Hotel are lovely and well kept.

All staff are extremely friendly and efficient. Mrs Kennedy and her daughter obviously put a lot of thought into making their country house a very comfortable and friendly place to stay. It is evident that they care about their guests.

The food was excellent - Lamb, guinea fowl, pork fillet etc. etc. However one of us had fillet steak which unfortunately was a little overcooked, but was very tasty. Lovely selection of vegetables which were perfectly cooked. The menus offered a lovely selection of dishes to choose from. The breakfasts were just as good too. The dining rooms are lovely and had a view of the grounds and the lake in the distance.

The lounges are very comfortable and quiet - we sat and played a card game till 11pm. Most people had gone to bed by then. When we stayed there was a wide age range of people from young to old. We are in our 50s and felt very comfortable there.

We loved Lindeth Fell and most definitely will return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Bluetwo 47,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and you had the pleasure of seeing the Lakes in the sunshine! Though playing games by the log fires during the winter months is very cosy!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Fell soon.
With best wishes,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have literally just returned home after a 3 night break at Lindeth Fell. We enjoyed great hospitality from the friendly and attentive staff. The food was superb and could not be faulted at all. Some slight negatives are the quietness of the dining room, my husband and I felt it would have a better ambience is there had been some background music and the lack of a bar as a focal point for guest to mingle however there is a well stocked dispensing bar and two lovely lounges however our fellow guests didn't appear to use either very often!. Our bedroom, at the top of the house was well appointed and extremely quiet which for me is an important factor. The only element that would have made the hotel 'perfect' would have been good weather! But as a brochure said, 'it rains a lot in the lake district so get over it!'

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jendie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Jendie3,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.
I have passed on your comments to the chef and his team who are all delighted!
We do strive for perfection and only wish we had control over the weather.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Fell again.
With kind regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Received an effusive b-&-b type welcome which soured quickly when we we were told that having a bottle of wine chilled ( not for use with a meal, I might add ) would cost the equivalent of the lowest-priced bottle on the wine list. A really very churlish reaction ... A tired, rabbit-warren of a place, though pleasing bedroom and good dining room. We will not return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Francis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Francis N,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lindeth Fell.
We are delighted that despite your misgivings about paying for wine corkage you liked your bedroom and also enjoyed the dinning room.
Yours sincerely,
Caroline Elston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Yet another excellent family lunch at the Lindeth Fell Hotel.Many thanks to Mrs Kennedy,Caroline and all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netvigator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear netvigator,
Thank you so much for your comments.
It is always such a pleasure to serve lovely guests and makes our job fun and worthwhile.
Hopefully see you again soon,
With kind regards,
Caroline Elston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle Of Man
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I visited last week with 5 friends and we had a fantastic weekend; The staff, food, wine and afternoon tea were all great. Everyone is so friendly and helpful which made it all the more relaxing. It was lovely to see young peple ther having a good time and hen parties enjoyikgn the fabulous afternoon tea.The only apology is toanyone staying as the party I was with were a little noisy playing cards and games after dinner but even that the owners accomodated! The home made yoghurt and cakes were fab. We will be back. Thankyou Lynne

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Lynne,
Thank you for writing such a lovely review.
I am glad you had the time to relax with your friends, play cards and have lots fun.
Mrs Kennedy has a fabulous selection of homemade, cakes, scones, biscuits, meringues, yoghurt and brown bread, not to mention all the treats the chefs prepare!
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon.
Best wishes,
Caroline Elston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

for the price of bed and breakfast me and my husband expected alot more for our money although staff friendly and hotel clean it seemed more like a b&b than a hotel the superior room is smaller than it appears on the pictures. When we arrived back after an evening out there was no one around at 11pm to ask for a coffee or beer! I feel this hotel is for the elderly .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Gill R,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lindeth fell.
We have a fantastic team who all love working here and we are pleased you found us all friendly and our beautiful hotel nice and clean.
We hope to welcome you back to Lindeth Fell again and possibly then you could sample the delights in our popular restaurant, which is open to residents and non residents daily for lunch, afternoon tea and 4 course dinners and has fabulous views, a fine wine list and elegant surroundings.
We are very lucky to have a loyal guest base of all ages including children and we pride ourselves on being peaceful, tranquil, and a place for rest and relaxation away from the busy hustle and bustle of everyday life.
Our guests know that they will receive great care and attention no matter what their age!
With kind regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,878 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Fell Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Fell Country House

Property: Lindeth Fell Country House
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lindeth Fell Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindeth Fell is a luxury bed and breakfast, perfectly located overlooking Lake Windermere. This is the ideal hideaway for those wanting to relax and get away, but at the same time enjoying the convenience of being a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of Bowness with its boutique shops, cinema and lively restaurants. Lindeth Fell is an elegant Edwardian country house, with high ceilings and beautiful architecture, stylishly restored with both period and contemporary features. There are 14 individually designed bedrooms each with its own modern bathroom with luxury amenities. Many rooms have superb lake views. Start the day with a delicious breakfast served in our sunny dining room, overlooking 7 acres of beautiful gardens. On arrival enjoy complimentary tea and scones in the lounge by the fire, or on the sunny garden terrace. Platters are available to pre order, and we have a fully licensed bar for residents. We can provide picnics for walking days, and offer complimentary passes for use in a nearby spa & pool. We provide a friendly relaxing place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lindeth Fell Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lindeth Fell
Lindeth Fell Country House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing