We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again!”
Review of Above the Bay

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Above the Bay
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I chose Above The Bay for my first visit to the Lake District because it is in a great location, it's reasonably priced and it is dog friendly. The owners, Trevor and Claire were lovely and had no problem with us bringing our Jack Russell with us as long as we agreed not to leave him in the room alone, the only time we did that was when we went for our breakfast. Upon arrival we were greeted by Claire who showed us around our room and recommended The Royal Oak as a pet friendly pub for our evening meals (see seperate review), our room was clean, the bed was comfy, we had tea and coffee making facilities, a balcony to walk out onto and a great view over the town and lake. Access to Bowness town centre couldnt be easier, just a short walk down the steps through the front garden and a few minutes walk down the road and you are there. In the mornings there was plenty of fresh fruit, cereal and jams / spreads and also the option of a full english breakfast with tea or coffee (veggie option also available). We will definitely stay here again next time we visit the lakes!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oneiro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Above the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 23 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed last year at this B&B and booked again to stay this year and we have booked again to stay next year. There is a room that over looks the car park but our room over looked the lake.The tea and coffee was replenished on a daily basis when the room was cleaned and fresh towels whenever we needed them. It is a 5 minute walk down to the lake through the short cut which may not suit every one as it is quite a few steps. The breakfasts are excellent and so what if everyone is together at one table. We've met some lovely people and chatted over breakfast and actually shared some useful hints about where to go, what to do, places to eat etc. If you are anti-social then maybe it is not the place for you but to be honest good manners cost nothing. Trevor and Claire are lovely people. The location of the B&B to explore the Lake District is fantastic. We used the free facilities at the Burnside Hotel, (a 5 min walk from the B&B) this year too, which was lovely and relaxing after a days hiking. Can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room that over looks the lake. Ask for a pass to use the hotels leisure faci...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

this place says that EVERY room has its own balcony overlooking the lakes,yet our room overlooked the driveway to the carpark?dont know how you guys feel about eating breakfast,but i like having breakfast with my partner alone.this establishment has a large oval table at breakfast and everyone from the 4 rooms are expected to eat together at this table(not for me),consequently,we didnt go to breakfast whilst we were there.the owner was friendly enough and the location was great(apart from the steps).lastly,with the owners living upstairs,you can hear every footstep they make in a morning so no need to set your alarm for breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank wolfy122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Friendly owners and good value
Decided to stay an extra night because the town deserved more time

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We cannot comment on the stay because the owner gave our room away before we got there!! We booked through the tourist office who phoned and told them we were coming. We arrived in less than 30 minutes and they gave our room away! This is an act of absolute inpatience and greed and I urge others to stay away from such disappointment.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
11  Thank TravelM0nkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely hosts.
Great location, 5 min walk from the lake.
Freshly cooked breakfast.
Pleasant rooms with amazing views from your balcony.
We would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forgetmenotsareblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at Above the Bay for a long weekend and really enjoyed it. The room we had was large, well furnished and clean. We had an LCD TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom had a large bath and a good shower. Access to the room was via patio doors which led to a balcony with a table and chairs. The room had a nice view of the Lake and Bowness was a few minutes away.

Breakfast was very nice, good quality ingredients were used in the full English and there was a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc.

Our hosts were lovely and made sure we had a good stay.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Tedlooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
972 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Nagoya Country House
The Nagoya Country House
#23 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#73 of 107 in Windermere
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
May Cottage
May Cottage
#20 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lingwood Lodge
Lingwood Lodge
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#32 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Bay

Address: 5 Brackenfield, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Above The Bay Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing