We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast”
Review of The Two Egg Cups - CLOSED

The Two Egg Cups
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and very friendly staff. Food was hot and freshly cooked. They even gave our daughter bread to feed the ducks! We'll definitely return on our next visit to Bowness.

Helpful?
Thank Hubeyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    53
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Messing about on the water with friends for the bank holiday, so looking for a hearty breakfast. All good, three of us had a full English with my friends wife having a black pudding option, all lovely.
Popping hot tea and toast.........yum.

We will return.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Re-Opened ?”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Always call in here for a brew etc, and never been disapointed at all, nice owners, fab food, lovely and clean, owner always time for a chat.
However been to Bowness twice this year and called, but cafe was closed ? (i knew it was for sale) so can anyone tell me has it re-opened? i do hope so. Thanks

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Churchills37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukewarmCatastrophe
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great staff with a "can-do" attitude!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We visited Bowness as part of a 5 day family trip to The Lakes and after a pleasant boat trip here from Waterhead Pier, we were ready for some lunch!

After walking past many great looking places, we stumbled upon Two Eggcups down a quaint street and were attracted to how small and busy it looked. As a convoy of seven adults with a young baby, this could have presented a problem. However, the waiter spotted me lingering in the doorway, threw us a smile and asked how many of us there were. He immediately presented us with either a large table towards the back of the cafe or said we could sit outside if we wished. We opted for indoors and the waiter cheerily helped us to create space and organised us a high chair for the baby immediately.

We ordered a round of teas, coffees and milkshakes and a good mix of soup and sandwiches. I then spotted the Cumbrian Rarebit with chilli jam on the menu and knew that my sister's partner would really like it so we dashed over to the counter and asked if we could change the order - this was not a problem at all for our waiter.

All of our food and drinks were brought together which was very much welcomed. There's nothing worse than being brought your tea and then having to wait another 10 minutes for your food. The broccoli and stilton soup was piping hot, tasty and plentiful and the sandwiches (roast beef, roast ham, tuna mayo, cumberland sausage with apple sauce and ham and cheese toastie) were freshly made. The rarebit looked amazing and I wish I'd tried some now but it gives me an excuse to go back next time I'm there! £6.95 for soup and a sandwich in the heart of the Lake District is good value.

Our waiter continued to check in on us, crack jokes and generally just put us at complete ease. The younger boys that brought the food and drink over to our table were similarly very professional, smiley and helpful.

The only criticism is how hot it was in the cafe but it seemed to be a very old building (air-con not an option in other words!) and it was an unusually hot day (despite pouring down with rain just a few hours earlier!!). A few strategically placed fans may have helped the overall comfort factor rise a few notches but nothing could take away from our overall enjoyment of the meal and the experience we had. Thanks very much to the staff for making us feel so welcome and for putting a smile on our faces for the rest of the day. We will most definitely return!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LukewarmCatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked breakfast in a little gem of a place.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Really nice coffee and a perfect full english breakfast exactly what we were looking for. The service was very attentive and the premises spotlessly clean. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Two Egg Cups also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing