We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food & great service”
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Just a five minute stroll from the shores of Lake Windermere in Cumbria (UK). Serving fine food, all day with indoor and outdoor seating areas.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a super meal here Saturday night. Starters were tasty and the hake main was absolutely delicious. The staff were charming - it was very busy but they were efficient and prompt.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank sallyWargrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had an anniversary weekend in Bowness-On-Windermere. Thought best to pre-book a restaurant. So glad we booked Porto. Very attentive service, but not rushed through courses. I had pheasant which was beautifully cooked.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davecookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria-rest-manager, Manager at Porto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Porto and Happy Anniversary once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant the day after our wedding. The food was incredible, well presented and very tasty with a good blend of flavours. The service we received was also just fantastic, they made such a treat for us as newleyweds which made us both feel amazing! Thank you to the whole team. The meal and experience was perfect!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 787adelep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria-rest-manager, Manager at Porto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank for such a lovely review: we hope you had a wonderful wedding, and are so happy you chose to join us for a meal the next day!

We always like to make special occasions extra memorable, and it is brilliant to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Porto. We will be sure to pass your kind comments regarding our food and friendly staff on to our team.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to Porto in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After walking the dales way we were hoping for a nice treat, so we booked the Porto Restaurant following a recommendation from one of the locals in the town. We had the duck breast and the lamb chump after three very different but nicely presented and tasty starters. Not sure what else to say but they were all excellent (I was especially impressed with the lamb) ..... as was the Goru (Mad Hairy Fella) wine we had to accompany the food. The service was quick, efficient and very friendly. And you got the impression that the staff were valued by the management. All in all ? ........ it was everything we'd hoped for.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank GeoffS1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria-rest-manager, Manager at Porto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! It's always lovely to hear when we come recommended, and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal at Porto.

All our food is freshly prepared to order by our talented chefs, and we will be sure to pass your brilliant comments on to the kitchen. We do indeed value our staff, and are very lucky to have a fantastic team; it's great to hear this was noted!

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to Porto in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great menu, wide range of drinks, dog friendly, lovely staff. The pheasant and Arancini were out of this world.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Tanya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria-rest-manager, Manager at Porto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your meal at Porto!

We will be sure to pass your lovely comments regarding our food, in particular the pheasant and arancini, on to our kitchen.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to Porto again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing