We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award winning dining just a five minute stroll from the shores of Lake Windermere.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We went here on our first night in the Lake District and liked it so much we went back on the last night of our trip.

The food was great and so was the service.

They do a good selection on the children's menu too.

All in all a great experience and we will definitely be visiting again on our next trip.

Helpful?
Thank McQLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,226
    223
    81
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good end to walking Dales Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We booked this restaurant as a treat for when we ended our walk of the Dales Way, as we wanted some proper food after a week of pub grub. We were not disappointed the food and wine were both excellent and the staff very attentive. Will definitely come back when next in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

My girlfriend and I stumbled upon this place during our latest break in the lake district, but weren't expecting much when we booked. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and made us feel at ease as soon as we arrived. Though the menu hinted at great food, we expected no more than an aspiring approximation of fine dining; given the very reasonably priced menu and wine selection. We've recently dined at The Roux, Barbecoa and Thomas Cubit and would happily put Porto in the same league. We were very happy with the experience, particularly considering a three course meal for two, with wine, came to less that eighty pounds. We would have happily paid half that again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super vegetarian option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We ate here to celebrate our Silver wedding anniversary, staff very attentive and food delicious, large portions too, unfortunately I could only manage half of my mushroom rissotto!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank veggieLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“delicious food and attentive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Ate here for a second time having had such a delicious lunch first time round. It was very quiet, I imagine most people choose to dine here during the evening. The waitress was charming, helpful and attentive. I had the chowder for my main course, the sauce was delicious. My only one tiny gripe would be that king prawns/tiger prawns were described as integral to the dish and there were hardly any. The wine was superb and the relaxed atmosphere perfect. The comment about the restaurant was a positive for me, others may have found it too quiet. Will definitely return when in the Lakes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kernowcouple94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing