We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey”
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Just a five minute stroll from the shores of Lake Windermere. Serving food all day with indoor and outdoor seating areas
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our meal was nicely served and delivered but the lamb was chewy and the portions small. Overall this was an expensive meal and disappointing value

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,255
    232
    91
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We used to use the Port Hole when in Bowness and were so sad when they left, we have looked at the Porto a few times before but hadn't booked a table until this week. We were very pleasantly surprised. The service was excellent and the food equally good. The restaurant was virtually full but you didn't have a feeling of rushing or flapping. The food was beautifully presented and there was plenty to eat, we shared a cheese board for desert and the variety of cheese was unusual and excellent, we look forward to going back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelanelson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Called in here on Saturday night at about 7 without a reservation and the lady on the desk found us a table but we needed to vacate it in two hours, not a problem. The food was truly amazing my tomato tart with goats cheese was delicious and hubbies kofta was the best he has every had. Our mains of Smoked Haddock and King Scallops with creamed potatoes and mushroom ravioli were lovely. I couldn't manage a dessert but my husband had ‘Strawberries and Cream which consisted of Sarah Nelsons Grasmere Gingerbread strawberry cheesecake,Pimms jelly, ‘strawberries and cream’ ice cream he said was fab. The food, atmosphere, wine and service was brilliant and yes we were out in two hours but never rushed. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and have already. Thankyou for a lovely meal

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monicamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaydon on Tyne
Level Contributor
207 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very Nice Meal But Lets Not Get Carried Away”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After reading other reviews of this restaurant we were expecting great things. However, in our opinion the meal was very nice but not great nor excellent. In fact the best part of the meal was the desert which was the strawberry combination.

What did not help either was being shown to a table which was wedged against a blank wall which looked liked it had just been plonked there.

We would visit again but next time we would know what to expect and maybe just go for the early set menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlaydonBlunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Classy eats”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked a table for 2 last Monday night, not sure what to expect, but from other reviews I had read and looking at the photos take by customers who had eaten there, we were looking forward to trying it out.
We were not let down I had told them it was our wedding anniversary when booking and they had set up a loverly table covered with silver confetti and flowered in the middle, nice touch but the food was the main reason for our night out. We both had the steak that was cook to our liking perfectly mmmm. We finished the night by sharing a sticky toffee pudding with ice cream! To die for melt in the mouth.
We will be going back soon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vinny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing