We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining indeed”
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Just a five minute stroll from the shores of Lake Windermere. Serving food all day with indoor and outdoor seating areas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fine dining indeed”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful little restaurant with lovely attentive staff all who were very pleasant.
The food was fantastic and very well presented. I thought the prices were very reasonable. When you consider the quality and background of the chefs who are there then you'd be hard pushed to have a meal prepared by anyone better. Thank you all for a lovely experience. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stazinskem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,276
    241
    92
    17
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We called in for lunch and shared the koftas. Lovely. Good food. Great service and atmosphere. Went well with a bottle of fiz!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northernfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Well done!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

It must be difficult to keep up standards in a holiday resort, too many transient customers. Porto was a pleasant surprise. A seemingly small place able to swallow up numerous customers, many with bookings, some without. The menu was not huge, always a sensible sign. the food was well presented and cooked. The wine list fine, and markup acceptable. The staff attentive but not pushy. a pleasant neighbourhood bistro aiming and achieving good standards. We could not fit pud in, and they looked interesting. Either smaller mains or some smaller puds, other than ice cream or sorbet, might work to everyone's advantage. A useful find.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank poggy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caistor
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hope to be back again”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Myself and husband were on our honeymoon and thought we would treat ourselves whilst staying in bowness. The food was excellent, we both had the crab cocktail starter which was divine, I had the haddock and scallop chowder and my fish was cooked to perfection as well as being delicous, my husband had the pork Plate which was also excellent and very inventive. For dessert I had the egg and soliders which was egg shells filled with 3 different sweet fillings served with shortbread soliders, this was one of the most creative yet delicous desserts I have ever had and would recommendedtot those with a sweet tooth, my husband had the usual cheese and biscuits however this was also faultless and port quite delicous. The service was flawless and the bill for 3 courses each with a bottle of wine and a port just under £100 which considering the quality was excellent. Obviously I have raved about this restaurant and we will definetely return, the only small thing that I could say could be improved was the table we had near to the bar I felt a bt stuck it but hey that is personal preference

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caistor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The food was divine and the staff were attentive. The restaurant had a lovely feel to it. Would definitley come back again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing