We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Dining Experience!!!”
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Just a five minute stroll from the shores of Lake Windermere. Serving food all day with indoor and outdoor seating areas
colne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazing Dining Experience!!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We recently celebrated our honeymoon in bowness and was recommended Porto by a friend. Having eaten at many restraunts in Bowness in the past, we really wanted to try Porto, and as the weather was stunning it seemed the perfect night to eat alfresco on the stunning roof terrace!
We were greeted by a very bubbly lady who quickly seated us, and made us feel very welcome.
The waiter took our drinks order quickly and attentively, even though the roof terrace was busy.
We took advantage of the great specials offer for three courses for 16.95, and could not fault the quality of the food.
The beef kofta were lovely, I had the mussels for main which were fresh and the sauce was to die for! We both finished our meal with a large glass of rioja and the cheese board which just finished the evening off beautifully.
Will definitely be returning!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColneGeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,254
    231
    89
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food ! Would definitely return”
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

The food was great!! Served quickly and was obviously fresh!! The service was really good and just an overall nice place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had our wedding meal here and the staff were wonderful. The decor is just beauful and modern. Gorgeous outdoor terrace. Lovely food, Just cant praise it enough. Made our wedding day :)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Didn't stay to find out!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked here for dinner on a Saturday evening, we were advised to book as they get very busy, had looked at sample menu's online and they looked great, so imagine how disappointed we were when we arrived and were seated. Firstly our table was in the middle of the room, which makes you feel on edge and not remotely relaxed, secondly there was no atmosphere, to talk you felt you had to whisper or lip read it was SO quiet, then the menu, probably one of the most uninspiring we've seen in a long time, when we go out (which we do quite a lot) we want to eat food we wouldn't cook at home, and as a chef in a previous life, we know that it's quite a challenge to do this but as we said earlier the sample menu online looked fab, so we left, couldn't find anything we wanted to eat from the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlandsEmmylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoManagement, Owner at Porto Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your visit to Porto Restaurant. However, as a trip advisor user as well as a business member your comments aren’t particularly helpful or founded. Personal opinions are welcome however I would wish that other members would not take your comments into consideration as you did not eat at the restaurant therefore your review is somewhat invalid and comments unfounded.

I would like to pick up on a few comments you have made. Firstly about the fact the restaurant is ‘SO quiet’ as we have music playing I find this hard to understand and nearly all of our guests comment on how they enjoy dining in beautiful relaxed surroundings with the friendly and personable service and great background music.

Seccondly about the menu being ‘uninspiring’ . We find this comment rather confusing as our previous trip advisor reviews would suggest that our food gets great feedback. We would also like to know where you can find a menu in the rest Cumbria which has ‘Baked scallops and Cullen skink’, ‘Salmon with carrot spaghetti and pumpkin ravioli’, or a ‘Twice baked sticky toffee soufflé?

Anyway we hope you will be inspired elsewhere in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic evening meal”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I took 2 friends to Porto for a special evening, the food and staff were fantastic, we could not fault anything.
Well done to the Chefs, waitresses and the owners, my guests were really impressed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hammy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoManagement, Manager at Porto Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time post your kind comments. We look forward to you dining with us again at Porto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing