We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Just a five minute stroll from the shores of Lake Windermere. Serving food all day with indoor and outdoor seating areas
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Sadly a restaurant that thinks its far far better than it is. The great shame is that is has a lovely décor and ambience, nice attentive staff but sadly a very average chef. I suspect one which thinks they are of a Marco Pierre White capability. He (she?) is not.

If Porto charged about 15% to 20% less then it would probably get away with the standard of food. Since going we have shared our experience with two other friends who have had a similar experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,283
    244
    95
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockport england
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“great food.”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

we ate at roberto's restaurant also the night after. The food is similiar but the difference is the ambience. Porto is a proper, stylish restaurant with great decor- you would want to dress up to come here, whereas Roberto's is more bistro style. The food at Porto is great- I had a lovely steak and the most delicious dessert. Good service too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cozg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You have to try it!”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We popped in yesterday for a pre-theatre dinner. The restaurant offered a 3 course set menu for £16.95 and even from that I had difficulty choosing because it all sounded too good to be true. I chose mussels in a creamy sauce, and slow roast belly pork with mushrooms and shallots on a bed of barley. My husband chose pork rilette and steak and ale pie with a stilton sauce. Everything was absolutely delicious and there was more than enough. The desserts were excellent. Presentation was beautiful throughout and the staff just delightful. Can't fault it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jube15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

stopped in to bowness on windemere on a trip to surrey as we often do,and found porto,which only opened in febuary,as i think there was a pub here before,well it was fantastic,the service spot on and the food was excellent,probably the best ive had anywhere in a while,and we have been around lol would recomend this retaraunt to anyone

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thrasher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous food - good atmosphere”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Lovely food, good staff. The chef is a local, who's experienced the bright lights of London and brought his experience back with him to make the most of the rich variety of local produce. Who can blame him, it's a foodie's heaven in The Lakes?!
The menu isn't huge, but it has a good variety, you can taste the freshness of the produce and everything is presented beautifully. Staff were friendly, though not always as attentive as they could have been.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KsGirl_Thursday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing