We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
cannock,staffs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“another lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2007

this is now our 4th visit to this lovely hotel which consistently provides high standards of accommodation and food quality. The hotel is now completely non smoking which for me increases its appeal.
The staff here are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. the manager Mark and restaurant manager Brian are very professional but very friendly and strive to make your stay there a pleasant one. The food is excellent, good varied choice and always beautifully presented.
for me the rooms are spotlessly clean with all the extras you could possibly need. The bathrooms are all recently refurbished. Sure not all the rooms are huge but you spend so little time in the room that this is not an issue.
We will be returning again later this year. My husband and I travel around alot and rarely return to the same hotel preferring to try others. It has to say alot about this place that we return! This hotel has excellent off peak offers. Try it you will not be dissapointed.

  • Liked — food and friendly staff plus location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    213
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
696
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2006

After reading the reviews for this hotel we were really expecting something special for our weekend in the lakes.

On approach the house is beautiful, its just a shame when the smell of smoke hits you when you walk into reception.

Check in was easy and the young girl very friendly.

We had booked a Superior Lake View Room with window seat and whirlpool bath. The view was good and the room was ok, but the bathroom was a let down with an old grey bath and the waterjets were not very powerful even when turned on full. The room was very hot, even when we turned all the radiators off, but we dont mind the window being open and luckily there are not many bugs that tend to fly in during winter. Although the view was nice, there are many views to be enjoyed once you are out and about in the Lakes so I really wouldn't bother spending the extra money on this room.

Personally I dont think the hotel is value for money we paid £254 a night, I realise this includes dinner, however we have stayed in far nicer hotels and rooms and ate similar food in peak season for less than this stay cost us.

The restaurant was small and intimate, on the Friday night it was very quiet, the tables are very close together and we felt like the couples on either side of our table were listening to our conversation. We had booked our table for 8.30, it had been a very long day and we were a couple of minutes late, at 8.30 we had a phonecall off reception asking us if were coming down to dinner.

The head water was very friendly and good at his job. The food was good, what you would get in any good restaurant. I wouldn't go as far to say amazing or out of this world.

Breakfast was awful, the toast was basically warm bread had not been left in the toaster long enough, bacon was tasteless and the sausages overcooked. The mushrooms were nice until I found a hair in them.

Dinner on the Saturday evening was good, and the atmosphere much better. Again the food was very good.

One thing that had annoyed me is that when I telephoned the hotel to enquire re the dress code for the restaurant. I was informed very smart casual with most gentleman wearing suit and tie. We were hoping for something more relaxed as this was the point of the weekend, however being frequent cruisers our wardrobes are bursting with 'smart casual' attire. We were a little bemused when we were sat opposite a couple in scruffy jeans, old trainers and jumpers.

We didn't bother to go to Breakfast on the Sunday as neither of us thought it was worth going down for. Be sure that you check out on the dot at 10.30, if like us you are still in your room at 10.40 you will be told by reception to 'get out', politely. We are not usually late checking out, however, although we were literally walking out the door when the phone rang we still thought being pushed after ten minutes was rather regimental on a Sunday morning.

This is an ok place to stay, and good base for the lakes, the staff are friendly and helpful but for us there just seemed to be something missing. It didn't have the wow factor we were expecting after reading the brochure and we wouldn't be first in line to stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Regimental Time Table
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont pay extra for superior rooms they are not worth it.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank debisear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2006

We booked a DB&B Sunday night stay. We asked for champagne in our room which was waiting for us in a cooler full of ice cold water - this was a very nice welcome.

The room although small, was very clean and tastefully decorated. The bathroom clean (not small) and well stocked with nice toiletries. The down side was we had booked a garden view - but got a view of cars parked and another building - not much of a view, but we made full use the lounge areas which had a lovely outlook,s were very tastfully decorated, peaceful and comfortable.

In one of the lounges board games and cards are supplied for your use, along with newspapers.

The dinner was OK, nothing really to write home about but then it wasn't bad, maybe the head chef doesn't work on a Sunday evening as it didn't quite hit the mark.

Breakfast however, was great with a good choice that was freshly cooked to order rather than getting dry on a buffet!

Would I recommend it? Yes probably as it wasn't overly expensive and it's great for a relaxing, comfortable stay.

  • Liked — lounge areas
  • Disliked — size and view of the room
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room view a good view - garden or lake (lake view costs more)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tarryho!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glos. England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2006

Having stayed at the hotel in either November or March for the last 6 years we stayed in September. Great to sit in the garden overlook the lake and watch the sun go down. Food as always was fantastic. Rooms vary greatly in price. cheapest rooms are small but who spends much time in the room when the hotel has such nice lounges. Will return again soon.

  • Liked — Food
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2006

We stayed at the Fayrer Garden for the third time at the begining of July and I can't believe that the hotel keeps getting better!
After visits in 2003 and 2004 we had high expectations but were a little concerned as we knew the hotel had changed hands, we need not have worried! The new owner has refurbished all of the rooms and you will notice that whilst some of the old reviews picked up on small slightly tired rooms this is now not the case (we have stayed in lake view, superior lake view and were upgraded on our recent stay from garden view to lake view).

Dinner is too fantastic to put into words! If it isn't in your package stretch to trying it once, I will be very surprised if you are dissapointed.

Teas and coffees are taken outside on the terrace on sunny days (you may get a few) with the wonderful views, this as well as lovely communal rooms make a nice touch.

The location is secluded and this means walking into Bowness is a bit of a trial but in my opinion this is much better than being right in the middle of Bowness as it can be busy and dare I say it...... a bit tacky in the height of summer!

In terms of getting around the rest of the Lake District you are ideally situated for getting easily to Grasmere, Ullswater, Keswick etc (would recommend Grasmere for beauty and walking and head over to Muncaster castle at Ravensglass if you have kids to amuse).

Finally I will end by saying that the staff are fantastic. Especially the resturant staff who work brekfasts and dinners, they love to talk to you, help you and adored hearing our stories of where we had walked that day and what we had been up to.....
......I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel.

  • Liked — Stunning views, fantastic food and staff
  • Disliked — that I had to leave!
  • Tips/Secrets — you must have a walk around Grasmere
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank advisor3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

Myself and boyfriend stayed at this hotel for two nights on the 1st August. We had scoured the internet looking for a luxury hotel in the Windermere area to pamper ourselves.

We were not disappointed. For a very reasonable price we enjoyed a garden view room with our own patio door leading our own iron table and chairs outside. Unfortunately it rained for the entirety of our stay but the wonderful surroundings and service in the Fayrer Garden Hotel certainly made up for it.

The room was beautifully decorated - it looked all new decor, all matching and up to date. A flat screen tv had 12 or so channels including ITV 1,2 3 and 4. The bathroom was immacualte with a lovely whirlpool bath - be wary - don't use it with bubble bath!

Most people including ourselves were on a dinner bed and breakfast basis and we were amazed by the food. The evening started with drinks from the bars when the waiter brought us complimentary canapes - smoked salmon, wednesleydale cheese tartlets. Then we were taken through to the dining room - a lovely open room with windows overlooking the gardens and you can just see the lake. The four course meal had lots of choice, a local meats and delicacies. The waiters and waitresses were fantastic - friendly and helpful. The wine list was extensive. We retired with coffee in the lounge following our meal which has a lovely atmosphere.

As part of your booking you may use the Parklands Country Club at the Burnside Hotel for free which is half a mile up the road. There is a swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi etc and a beauty salon where I booked in for a pampering session - you do need to book in advance as there is only one therapist on at a time.

We thoroughly enjoyed it and we will certainly be returning

We are not walkers but we were made to feel as welcome as any other guest, This is a hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank C_&_D_from_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worsley, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

Have just returned from a 2 night stay with my husband. It was a surprise birthday treat and it was very special as I am 6 months pregnant with our third child and so it was to be our last getaway for a while. First impression was that it was very peaceful and colourful. There was no-one in the reception to greet us and so I was a little bit bemused. Asked if we could upgrade to a superior lakeview but hotel was fully booked but had booked a lakeview anyway. The room was a bit small (it was the four poster lake view) but it probably felt like this because I was so big. Could just about see the lake from the room and mainly the greenery. I had asked for a little card be left on the bed wishing my husband a Happy Birthday but there wasn't one. I brought it to the hotel staff's attention and that evening when we went down for dinner there was a card on the table and a complimentary half bottle of champagne. This made up for the error. We had canapes both nights sat out in the gardens and the menu was extensive and changed both nights. The food was beautiful and worth every penny.

We are a relatively young couple and the whole experience was a bit surreal. Its certainly one we won't forget. The staff made us feel very special and nothing was too much trouble. Although I had wanted a hotel on the lake front, we would like to return here again one day, maybe in winter to see the view when it is snowy. Not a place for kids at all so will probably be next year sometime but a memorable stay.

  • Liked — Peaceful/Great service
  • Disliked — Bit too far away from Lake
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank OliLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing