We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a mid week break what can l say perfect food excellent hotel excellent garden's parking all good nice bar the weather was hot so outside areas snd seats was comfortable the breakfast was excellent and rooms was very clean well done we will be back .we have a hotel ourselfs and we know how hard people work .

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank andria410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    211
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
95
686
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Took advantage of DBB offer on a Sunday night-1/2 bottle champagne waiting in room on arrival.
Pleasantly sited within easy walking distance of Bowness-either down the hill and along the lakeside walk or on the main road.
Large, landscaped gardens overlooking the Lake with big terrace and plenty of seating-perfect for a late afternoon glass of champagne!
Very well kept lounge and bar and the restaurant is well presented. Food was super with a good variety of choice.
Our room was spacious but extremely hot on arrival(full heating on in May!)-later sorted out-tea/coffee/home made biscuits etc. Some of the furniture was a little tired around the edges.
One gripe only-bill checked at departure and charged for someone else's 2nd bottle of wine! Again quickly rectified but not a big apology.
Would happily return and have stayed several times at the "sister" property Hipping Hall-excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lovely luxury hotel with a superb restaurant and an inspired and brilliant chef.
The hotel is perfect and the restaurant is as good as any high end London restaurant run by any of the "celebrity" chefs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nik_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nice property well refurbished to retain the traditional British charm. The staff lives upto the role. Mesmerizing views and nice expanse. Ample car parking space. The rooms are elegantly furnished to retain the heritage character. A wonderful place for those seeking a relaxing break while being close to the lakes. The well laid out breakfasts only indulge you further. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Lovely walks in and around the property.
On the flip side, being a traditional property, there are no lifts and narrow staircases - a definite difficulty for those with luggage. Wifi connectivity, though free is not available in the top floors or rooms (we had to be in the lobby to access internet)

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the top floor if you are looking for internet connectivity or if you have heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgoTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our second stay since it's name changed from the Fayrer Garden. The gardens are perfect for a peaceful stroll with plenty of sitting out areas. While rooms are not the biggest we've encountered ours was tastefully decorated, clean with a good shower-only bathroom, a lake view, and the expected range of tea making/toiletries etc. The staff know what is required of them and are quite professional, especially the waiter from Flookborough. Dinner was really very good on both visits with canapes, amuse bouche, 3 courses and coffee. If I was to be hyper-critical I would say that presentation of our particular choice of dish (an excellent beef fillet) would be lifted by a little colour on the plate. The breaks we had offered very good value compared to other hotels in the lake of similar standards - and as long as they do, we will be returning.

Room Tip: Room 2 is ground floor, nicely decorated and has own patio sitting out area. Shower only, seems that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have just come back from a three nights stay at the Rybeck, this hotel was the perfect place for myself, my partner and our dog. We stayed in the cottage within the grounds of the hotel which was a comfortable well equipped room, very clean and furnished to a good standard. There is good car parking with ample space for everyone. The grounds are well kept and the dog enjoyed his time there, chasing his ball whilst we sat in the garden with a drink from the bar. Our stay included a dinner, bed and breakfast option. Dinner was fantastic, well presented and served to us by very polite and friendly staff. The guest lounge is also lovely (the only place with a WiFi signal) and allows you to see the gardens and lake at your leisure. I would highly recommend the Rybeck and will go back there when we next visit the lake district.

Room Tip: The cottage is dog friendly, very quite and only a short walk to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was perfect in every way. Lovely location, plenty space to walk, sit and reflect in the midst of magnificent views. Accommodation perfect. Food - fine dining at its very best - a wonderful surprise. Good service. Close proximity to attractions. Fabulous experience! We went on a special mini-break offer, at a discounted price, otherwise we could probably not have afforded it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing