We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our first visit to the Ryebeck, after we'd decided to take up a special online deal which included afternoon tea, breakfast and dinner. It really is a lovely spot, retaining a certain old school charm even though it's undergone recent modernising refurbishments. Our rooms were very comfortable and well furnished, with modern bathrooms, tea/coffee making facilities and flatscreen TVs. We enjoyed tea, delicious homemade scones and prosecco on the spacious balcony overlooking the lawns and the lake itself. The four course dinner in the light and airy dining room was excellent, with fresh locally sourced ingredients. The level of service is worthy of special mention: all the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, making it an even more memorable stay. The hotel is clearly well managed, from the selection and training of staff, to the imaginative menu and excellent food, to the immaculately maintained - and extensive - lawns, shrubs and flower beds. Walking into Bowness takes about 20 minutes on the high road, whilst the more attractive lakeside path will take about 30 minutes to reach the main harbour area. A taxi back is less than £5. Highly recommended - we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a bonus, although the rooms facing the front of the hotel are quiet, with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dash1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    211
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
95
686
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I brought myself and my partner to this idilic Hotel for a two nyt romatic break and was not disappointed in the slightest. The grounds are vast and professionally maintained and overlook the lake and its outstanding natural beauty. The room we stayed in on arrival was breathtaking with a stunning four poster bed and had the most wonderful view of the lake! The room and decor was to a very high standard and the bed was very comfortable! And the en suite bathroom with a spar bath what can I say other than it was very much appreciated by my partner. The service was friendly and professional at all times with the food being simply stunning and extremely enjoyable. I cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough and if we return for a second trip we would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you to all the staff for making our two nyt break one to remember!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel on the 20th April with my mum and daughter. The greeting on arrival was very friendly. The hotel is beautiful we understand it has recently been refurbished and very nicely done too! The views from the lounge are lovely the dining room in the new conservatory is just beautiful. We booked on dinner bed and breakfast the food was lovely and the service by the two waiters friendly and very efficient. This really is a lovely place to stay for relaxation and comfortable,surroundings. We will definitely return, we won't leave it too long!

Room Tip: Room 20 okay over the car park but a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueblackburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seascale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My sister and I took our mother here on Mother's Day for afternoon tea. What a lovely place the Rybeck Hotel is. It appears to have been recently refurbished in a very classy and tasteful manor. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating and the afternoon tea was the best we have experienced anywhere. To top it off it was also a bit of a bargain! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpets40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have just returned from a birthday treat at the Ryebeck, It was our first visit and I am sure it will be the first of many. A lovely little hotel that has all the comforts with some top notch extras.
We were warmly greeted on our arrival and were given the option of three different lake view rooms, we viewed all three and chose room 21 that was roomy and airy with a king size bed and jacuzzi type bath in the nicely finished bathroom. After settling in we had a cream tea on the terrace with a glass of prosecco and took in the warm spring weather and the stunning view of Windermere. Dinner in the bright and spacious restaurant was amazing quality and a marvellous experience enhanced by the warm friendly professional attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous 2 night break. The location, views, hotel furnishings, food quality & customer service were all outstanding. The staff were professional but friendly and the meals were superb. There was no wrong menu choice! I can't recommend this hotel enough and will most certainly return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blackp00lr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Spent a day here with a Travelzoo voucher; bed, breakfast, evening meal and afternoon tea with Prosecco for £149 per room in two Lake View rooms. Bargain. The hotel has recently had a refurbishment which has updated some of the bedrooms and public spaces. Parts still look a little in need of attention although there was a homely charm about the hall/reception area but I am sure this will happen. The service was superb. The food amazing - very very high quality, thoughtful with a real attention to detail. Simply delicious. I could not fault the breakfast, lunch or dinner....and I'm very fussy. The room was immaculate, fresh, clean, a good bed, quality bed linen and towels, a Jacuzzi bath and a beautiful view of Lake Windermere. There was filter coffee and homemade biscuits with the tea/coffee making tray. Toiletries were good but I would have liked my own individual bottles as opposed to shared shower gel and shampoo from bottles screwed to the wall but this is a niggle. A "posh" break at a bargain price. I would have paid far more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibobs65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing