We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

went for fine dining, luxury surroundings and attentive staff. Got all three !!! Had a short break before xmas had a great time, lovely ambience, great staff cannot wait for my next break. thanks very much.

Room Tip: just had standard room but had everything we wanted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickyNelsonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed on a Travelzoo deal, and were really impressed with the hotel. It would have been good value at full price, even better with the deal. We were welcomed as honoured guests, no airs or graces but really friendly. We had the cream tea in the afternoon with great service for a simple afternoon tea. The evening meal started with canapés and went on to a wonderful four courses which rivalled the best we've had for service and food quality. We were struck by the quiet and slept well, then breakfast was another treat. Somewhere to look forward to returning to, can't wait for an excuse.

Room Tip: Not all rooms look out on the lake, so worth asking when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here on a travelzoo deal and we couldnt bekieve the excellent service and food that we experienced at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. The cream tea with prosecco was lovely, the evening meal with canapes was amazing and the breakfast second to none. A lovely relaxing break which we will definitely repeat in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayandsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Recently stayed at the Fayrer Garden on a Travelzoo offer - purchased by my lovely son and daughter in law. Added a second night at our own expense. Absolutely first class from beginning to end. Exceptional food, stunning location. Staff were extremely friendly and very attentive. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnej1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We took advantage of a weekend offer and stayed her overnight to break a trip from Edinburgh to London

Apart fom finding we had no hot water in the room we cannot fault the hotel for its welcome, cleanliness and attentive staff.

The evening meal was first class and the room very comfortable. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonymccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed last Sunday for one night on a Travelzoo offer - Prosecco & cream tea on arrival, 3 course evening meal & breakfast of your choice, all for £99 for both of us! Also had free use of the Spa and pool facilities at the Old England Hotel in Bowness, just a short drive away.
Can only reiterate what others have already said - lovely hotel with beautiful grounds, well appointed and very comfy room, very friendly & polite staff, exceptional food. Cannot fault anything and will be definitely be returning.
Thankyou to all at Fayrer Hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel and I have to say we have had a wonderful time. We got a deal through Travel Zoo, which included breakfast, dinner with canapés and afternoon tea with prosecco. I have never known such value for money, the food was exceptional, the location absolutely stunning and the staff were friendly, polite and professional. My only complaint was our shower in room 6 never got warm and I informed the staff about this, more for the benefit of future guests as we were only there for one night. We came with our close friends and all agreed we would come again. Well done to everyone involved in making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
990 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $154 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing