We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5/5 in every respect”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“5/5 in every respect”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We visited on a travelzoo deal expecting to be satisfied. Well, we were more than satisfied. The hotel is spotless, the staff professional, friendly, willing and courteous with 100 % consistency. The hotel is in a lovely spot with the lounge and dining room affording superb views over Lake Windermere. The food is just great - they are blessed with a superb chef - we cannot fault the menu, its creativity, choice and execution. Dinner starts with delightful freshly made canapés in the bar and ends wit hand made petit four with coffee - a real pleasure. The dining room is comfortable with tables spaced nicely and soft lighting and just enough volume on the background music to create atmosphere without being intrusive. Breakfast is good, freshly cooked and hot.

Rooms comfortable and refreshingly 'non corporate' in style with free standing oak furniture. Homemade biscuits in a jar, refreshed every day are lovely, as is the cream tea with prosecco in the lounge in the afternoon.

We will come again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpyoldpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    216
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
711
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just returned from the Fayrer Garden Hotel having had a great time. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff, the food was perfect in every way, we had a wonderful night's sleep and the setting was sublime. We managed to get a special deal so the whole experience was very good value for money indeed and we will certainly return next year if the same deal is still running.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We got married at the Fayrer Garden in 2009 and have returned since on our anniversaries. From our first viewing right through to our departure as husband and wife, nothing was too much trouble for the staff here. The location is gorgeous (tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Bowness), the decor is immaculate and the food is gorgeous.

Our wedding breakfast was served by candlelight in the stunning restaurant overlooking Lake Windermere. A truly magical experience made perfect by the service we received.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent a lovely night in the hotel cannot fault anything about it the cleanliness the staff the food were all excellent, had a lovely 30 minute walk into bowness the next morning absolutely perfect for a night away from it all. Will def return x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good Hotel - great experience from checking in to checking out. Warm and friendly welcome upon arrival. Part of our deal was to have afternoon tea & scones + prosecco upon arrival however as we had some distance to travel and arrived early evening, we were offered the prosecco prior to dining (if we wished) and the tea & freshly made scones the following day rather than forfeiting them which I felt was rather thoughtful. We upgraded to a superior lake view room for a fairly nominal charge & were well pleased indeed with its excellent standard and views. Very comfortable bed and had a good night's sleep. The bathroom was very clean and had a good shower. Service was excellent. Prior to dining, Canapes were served while we were having a few drinks in the lounge - what a lovely & totally unexpected surprise.
The dining room itself was fine but I felt could do with a little modernisation in decor, however its views more than compensated. Some portions of food seemed small but having completed all courses, we were suitably satisfied and perhaps a little thankful after all. Public areas were clean, very comfortable and tastefully furnished. French doors opened from the public rooms onto a large patio area overlooking the extensive gardens and water fountain. Quite an idyllic, peaceful setting to chill out & relax, with good service, good food, and a comfortable night's sleep.

Room Tip: Worth the extra to upgrade to a superior lake view room, although some of the standard rooms may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just spent an evening at the Fayrer Garden House Hotel with a group of friends and enjoyed every minute of it from the cream tea in the afternoon to a wonderful evening meal and an excellent breakfast. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the rooms were very clean. We had a garden room with doors opening out onto a veranda and a view of the lake - pity the weather wasn't a bit better.Look forward to staying there again

Room Tip: recommend a lake view room the views are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just enjoyed our first stay at the Fayrer gardens. From the beginning to the end the experience was extremely relaxing.We sat looking out onto the beautiful gardens,with a view of the lake,enjoying our cream tea. The evening meal was excellent quality..plenty of it.It began with canapes in the bar area whilst choosing your meal..this was followed by aperitifs.. three amazing courses and strawberries to finish.As soon as you enter the Fayrer gardens you can feel yourself instantly relax.A fabulous find and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traypa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing