We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Not what it says on the tin"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
1 review
“"Not what it says on the tin"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent two days at the Fayrer Garden House Hotel and was very disappointed. We were put in,what they called the cottage, which was a few metres away from the hotel. It was a standard room and nothing like the photos on their website. Unless the rooms in the hotel itself are different, which they assured me that they were all of the same standard, this one was tired, small and cold. The bathroom was dirty and run down. No television in the hotel itself although there was one in the room (with a poor signal). The menu was a bit pretentious and lacking in substance. Loved the Lakes but would stay in a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Lakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    211
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
95
686
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night dinner bed and breakfast, first impressions were good a lovely country house set in acres of beautiful gardens,our room was comfortable and had a good view of the lake,however the interior was dated and the evening meal was awful,it was undercooked,cold and just generally not very good.the breakfast was better,not value for money and will not be returning for a second visit!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boltonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
217 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A return visit for 3 nights, after a 16 year gap! The hotel has changed hands since then and is almost unrecognisable from the previous visit. We had a room with a colourful garden view and enjoyed 3 peaceful nights sleep. Lovely grounds overlooking Lake Windermere and hills beyond, 2 comfortable lounges, a lovely outside terrace and large conservatory with large panoramic windows used as a dining area for all meals. The food and service was excellent. Plenty of choice for the self service buffet breakfast (fried breakfast was waiter service). The evening dinner is 3 courses for £42.50 per person, which is aiming for the more discernible diner, however as I hold a tastecard, I was able to obtain a 2 for 1 offer for both nights we ate here. Strangely all the waiting staff were young males and the reception staff were female.
a few minor points - the bay window roof had a leak and water was dripping on the carpet in 1 of the lounges on the 1 day it rained. There were several gnats in our room when we arrived which we had to chase and remove before thinking about sleep. The bed was a decent size but the room housing it was a bit small.
We would definitely return here though.
I would recommend a combined ferry/steam train ticket for £14.75 return. Ferry from Bowness to Lakeside, then train to Haverthwaite. we then walked from Haverthwaite into Backborrow and enjoyed a nice coffee cafetiere in the Whitewater Hotel on their terrace overlooking the river and weir in the warm sunshine - lovely.

Room Tip: room 16 was a bit small, on the road side of hotel but no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prentonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our second 2 night stay . Our room (No 2) was delightful with french doors opening onto a lovely paved patio with a table and chairs offering panoramic views towards the lake. Although on a quiet corner, we did get the occasional guest stroll past and stare into our room making it far from private.
We looked forward to relaxing in the Hotel's lovely lounge with it's beautiful panoramic views only to find it crammed full of guests taking afternoon cream teas from their travelzoo deals meaning we had to wait for a seat.
We later went into the lounge for pre dinner drinks and were served tasty canopies whilst we studied the menu before being escorted into the restaurant. We enjoyed the meal on the first night but struggled for choice on the second night (the menu is the same on all nights). When you consider what you have paid for the evening meal (their website values it at £42.50 each), we would have much preferred to have ordered a taxi and ate at one of the many excellent restaurants in Windermere for our second night.
The staff were friendly and courteous and the breakfast was excellent!

Room Tip: Room 2 is in a lovely setting on the ground floor with french doors offering panoramic views towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryMLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here with my wife and parents-in-law for 2 nights in September (4-6th). Its well located, has a nice view and the rooms were modern and comfortable. Indeed the beds were very comfortable. The hotel was cosy and classy. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The dinner time menu was faultless. You cannot lose by booking this place for a nice break in the lake district. I do recommend this place, and looking at other people's reviews, they seem to agree.
If I go back to the lake district anytime soon, it will be here that I book.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MobyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Recently had one night at this hotel and it was not enough. Booked to celebrate a birthday. We were delighted with the setting of this hotel as soon as we pulled up on the drive and were not disappointed with our reception which was handled by the most efficient and friendly young lady you could wish to meet. Nothing was ever too much trouble to her throughout our stay.
We could not have been allocated a nicer room (room 1) for our requirements, French windows opened onto the garden where we had our own wrought iron table and chairs with cushions in our wardrobe. I have had issues in the past with hard beds and my back problems but not here. The bed was fine for me and I enjoyed a good nights sleep.
Afternoon tea was delightful, our evening meal superb (although not too sure about the "heritage carrot") and breakfast next day could not be faulted.
The shower had a hand rail for disabled persons, and, rare in some places, shelving for your bath sponge etc. Liked the glass shelves in the bathroom holding little extras like tissues, cotton wool balls etc - all nice touches that are all to often missing in today's climate. Lovely fluffy bath towels too.
Definitely would recommend but we want room 1 when we go back so don't book it for yourselves.

Room Tip: Depends what you want but we loved room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireLankyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night, cannot fault it, room was clean and tidy, the food was amazing, staff were very attentive.

Was about a 20minute walk to the town, we got a taxi back which was only £3.50.

Ideal place for a romantic getaway

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing