We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The essence of the Lake District”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
bishop auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The essence of the Lake District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

A very pleasant and relaxing 2 night break with my wife last week. Travelzoo deal of £159 DB&B with lake view room plus cream tea with prosecco good value for money. Staff very friendly and helpful. Service very good. Room (11) was modernised and had fantastic view over gardens with lake in distance. Breakfasts good quality and choice. Fine dining evening meal was special and well presented.
Communal area furniture showing early signs of wear and tear. All areas very clean. Walk into Bowness took a good 20 minutes.
Overall a delightful break in beautiful surrounding that captures the essence of the Lake District. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Worth that bit extra to get a view over the gardens and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alatbish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    213
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
694
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I recently stay one night at the Fayrer, it is a lovely hotel, the staff and friendly and helpful, the room was very comfy (the bed was excellent) and the hotel is set in wonderful grounds. The only draw back we found was it was quite a long walk back up a hill from Bowness but would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairy-tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent hotel with beautiful grounds. The staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs.
The room we were allocated was on the first floor and was large overlooking the car park which was fine.
Breakfast could be a little better

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be excellent but the second floor is a long walk up for an elderly person,althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booked this hotel for a couple of days over the recent bank holiday.Two rooms two nights DBB
The staff are great and the food excellent couldn't find a fault at all.
The view from the lounges and restaurant were magnificent across the lake and the gardens extensive and well manicured.
The only negatives were that our tele kept loosing the signal and it kept going off also it was minute in size.The room was rather on the small side and very difficult for me to get around it with my husband in a wheelchair..There was also a horrendous smell in the corridor by our room on the Sat morning.I mentioned this to the receptionist and she said that there was a gents toilet situated by our room which must have been used by another guest and they had left the door open!
The other nice touches were the filter coffee and homemade biscuits.
Total bill £645 for two nights for four people

Room Tip: you have to pay an extra premium for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent location and peaceful setting with good views of the lake from the lounge and restaurant conservatory. Like other reviewers the Lake view rooms are worth the extra and if you book Room 2 (Lake View room) you have your own patio doors leading directly onto your own small terrace area with table and chairs, also has the benefit of being on the ground floor and so very close to the restaurant, bar and lounge, ideal for anyone with mobility issues. The room was a good size with ample storage and a lovely big bathroom with a double size shower. (The shower itself would have been improved if it had a power shower, not so impressed with the flow!) We chose to stay on a bed and breakfast basis as there was lots of good local restaurants and were slightly put off by previous comments. We noted that the menu did not change for the weeks duration of our stay. Breakfast was very well cooked and presented. A few small gripes however for the price we paid (£132 per night).Room service was unavailable after 4pm and there was no menu for what could be ordered or prices. Although the room was clean on our arrival the housekeeping during our week was minimal. Beds were made and the room given a basic tidy, but I had to request that the floor was hoovered, and the bathroom shelves were left untouched for the whole week. Whilst the view from the bedroom patio doors was lovely I also agree with a previous reviewer, that some sort of modesty voile or net curtain would be useful as people would often walk past our room, and certainly in the mornings and in the evenings you would need to pull the heavy curtains in order to maintain privacy. There was a blind for the big window which helped.Only small things but the devil is in the detail.For trips and exploring,you can catch all the boats, buses etc which leave from Bowness and while there is parking we found it much easier to either walk to or better drive and park at the ferry crossing car park and take a leisurely stroll along the lakeside into town.But be warned a stiff climb back to the top if you walk. Would recommend the open top bus rides to Ambleside and Grasmere ( £7 all day hop on/off & free for seniors with bus pass) Coniston Cruises, and for nostalgia a visit to Beatrix Potter's house at Hill Top in Near Sawrey. Some good local restaurants The Wild Boar at Crook (10 mins by car) The Boathouse at the Marina.

Room Tip: Room 2 on the ground floor with terrace patio and views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mum1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stay here in July on a special deal. The hotel gardens are lovely and the hotel is in a beautiful setting. The main hotel is very nice with some rooms having a lake view, but unfortunately we got a room in the cottage annex and thats why we have only given it a 3 star rating. As we only stayed one night we did not complain, but if have stayed longer and paid the full price we would not have stayed in the room. The view from one window was overlooking a skip, and the bathroom was not cleaned properly.

So beware when staying on a deal make sure you get a room in the main hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carolunsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We got a travel zoo offer for 1 nights stay which included afternoon tea, 3 course evening meal and breakfast. The hotel was lovely set in a gorgeous garden, with a stunning view of Lake Windermere in the distance.

The lady at reception was really helpful, she told us where to go and gave us a map and directions of how to get to Lake Windermere. It took 20 mins to walk down to the lake which wasn't bad at all.

We had a lake view room which was gorgeous! It was spacious, clean and it had a 4 poster bed which was really comfortable. The Jacuzzi bath was a real treat!

The afternoon tea was lovely but smaller than expected, we had scones, tea and a glass prosecco - it would have been good if we got some sandwiches. The evening meal was delicious with good sized portions and the service in the bar and restaurant was spot on. No matter where you sat you had a fab view of the garden and the lake.

Me and my boyfriend loved our stay, the hotel is so pretty in a great location, the setting is really romantic and the staff were lovely. I recommend staying here for a romantic treat you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room it's stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neelam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing