We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel - friendly staff, fantastic food, and lovely views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel - friendly staff, fantastic food, and lovely views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Fayrer Garden. Like a lot of recent reviewers, we booked through Travel Zoo. This was by far the best Travel Zoo deal we've ever bought. The hotel was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The four course evening meal was fantastic on both nights. We expected the hotel and the meal to be good, but both completely surpassed our expectations.

The hotel is situated in gardens with beautiful views over Lake Windermere, which are visible from most tables in the restaurant as well as from the lounge and bar. It is a short walk to the lake and then onto Bowness village. (I would recommend taking this route if you're on foot, rather than the direct route into the village, as in places there is no walking space and cars travel at a considerable pace.)

In sum, it's a great hotel in an excellent location. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura1978187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    196
    54
    7
    4
See reviews for
83
610
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We got an overnight stay with bed breakfast, evening meal and afternoon tea for £99, supposedly at a value of over £300. Was good for the £99, but certainly not worth &300. Food looked fantastic on the website, but was a bit disappointing when it came. The restaurant seems to be aiming for fine dining with the presentation but the taste certainly isn't there yet. Lovely view from the restaurant over the grounds though. Overall a good value, but there's plenty of nicer places to stay in the lakes for the 'real price' of the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaylorClanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights on a Travelzoo deal, so we were not surprised in being allocated a smaller room than when we stayed two years ago. The room was small but with a great view of the front gardens. In the room we were conscious of a persistant noise from somehwere (Kitchen Extract below?) until quite late. Then we had the noise of selfish guests leaving the bar who obviously didn't have the manners or inclination to consider other guests. Having said that, otherwise this hotel is faultless in every way. It has a huge carpark and there are beautifully kept gardens to the front and rear of the hotel, offering pleasant walks with views of Windermere lake.
The staff are excellent and friendly. Orders for evening meal were taken by the maitre de whilst we enjoyed canapes and a drink in the bar. He addressed us by name and is absolutley professional. The staff are knowledgeable about the comprehensive wine and beers on offer. The restaurant is quiet and tasteful, again with great views over the lake. Guests are (unsurprisingly) expected to observe a simple dress code befitting such an hotel, but some guests don't have the sense of style or enough braincells to rise above jeans, teeshirts and trainers. Unfortunately, cheap offers from Travelzoo etc. does attract that level of society as well as more discerning clientel. The food was excellent and well presented.
The breakfast menu is excellent and served at the table. This was our second visit and unlikely to be our last.

Room Tip: Room 18, whilst having a great view, is a little small for two, and suffers from mechanical / human...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holdyourforkproperly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having booked this hotel through Travel Zoo I found it to be incredible value for money, with every aspect of the hotel, from location, to staff, to the food exceeding expectations.

Situated a couple of minutes drive from Windermere the hotel itself is beautiful, with a lovely garden overlooking Windermere where you can sit out with a cream tea in the sunshine. The staff were some of the friendliest I have come across, taking our bags from us when we arrived at 09.00, and when we returned at 14.00 the bags were already in our room! Nothing was too much hassle and they really were a credit to the hotel.

The room itself was spacious. as was the bathroom which came with a nice set of complimentary toiletries as part of the Travel Zoo offer. Dinner was absolutely brilliant, some of the best food I have eaten for the listed prices and definitely at the top end of the market place.

I look to be balanced in my reviews and offer something of fault, but on my stay there really was nothing, I would return here any time I am back in the Lake District

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lndntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February 2013.

The hotel and staff were pleasant. Staff were helpful at all times.

We did not enjoy the food. All though presented to an extremely high standard there wasn't a great deal of choice and we chose to eat out for the second night.

The upgraded room was lovely, vast and had an exceptional view of the gardens and lake Windermere. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. We did have quite a serious problem with the shower and I came close to burning myself. Hotel did offer to get a plumber to the shower without question.

We would recommend this hotel for a weekend break.

Rebecca and Dale

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We bought a Travelzoo voucher so our overnight stay was good value at the discounted price, we did have a nice time and enjoyed ourselves. The hotel lounge and the cream tea were lovely as the view out was great. Our room was a standard double which was ok but the bathroom was a bit shabby, the bath panel needed fixing and there was a few black grout areas, as I am very fussy this was a bit off putting, but overall cleanliness was good. The bed was comfy and the room nice and quiet. Our evening meal was enjoyable but not memorable, the service was very good as we're the rest of the staff, very polite and helpful. Overall everything was nice for the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely weekend with friends at this beautiful hotel. Room,views,staff,food,attention to detail all excellent. A very relaxing experience. This is hospitality as it used to be. Will be recommending it. Got the deal through Travelzoo but it would have been worth it at the full price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 2,571 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing