We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful hotel”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful hotel”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having booked this hotel through Travel Zoo I found it to be incredible value for money, with every aspect of the hotel, from location, to staff, to the food exceeding expectations.

Situated a couple of minutes drive from Windermere the hotel itself is beautiful, with a lovely garden overlooking Windermere where you can sit out with a cream tea in the sunshine. The staff were some of the friendliest I have come across, taking our bags from us when we arrived at 09.00, and when we returned at 14.00 the bags were already in our room! Nothing was too much hassle and they really were a credit to the hotel.

The room itself was spacious. as was the bathroom which came with a nice set of complimentary toiletries as part of the Travel Zoo offer. Dinner was absolutely brilliant, some of the best food I have eaten for the listed prices and definitely at the top end of the market place.

I look to be balanced in my reviews and offer something of fault, but on my stay there really was nothing, I would return here any time I am back in the Lake District

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lndntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    220
    61
    8
    5
See reviews for
106
720
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February 2013.

The hotel and staff were pleasant. Staff were helpful at all times.

We did not enjoy the food. All though presented to an extremely high standard there wasn't a great deal of choice and we chose to eat out for the second night.

The upgraded room was lovely, vast and had an exceptional view of the gardens and lake Windermere. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. We did have quite a serious problem with the shower and I came close to burning myself. Hotel did offer to get a plumber to the shower without question.

We would recommend this hotel for a weekend break.

Rebecca and Dale

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We bought a Travelzoo voucher so our overnight stay was good value at the discounted price, we did have a nice time and enjoyed ourselves. The hotel lounge and the cream tea were lovely as the view out was great. Our room was a standard double which was ok but the bathroom was a bit shabby, the bath panel needed fixing and there was a few black grout areas, as I am very fussy this was a bit off putting, but overall cleanliness was good. The bed was comfy and the room nice and quiet. Our evening meal was enjoyable but not memorable, the service was very good as we're the rest of the staff, very polite and helpful. Overall everything was nice for the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely weekend with friends at this beautiful hotel. Room,views,staff,food,attention to detail all excellent. A very relaxing experience. This is hospitality as it used to be. Will be recommending it. Got the deal through Travelzoo but it would have been worth it at the full price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay....absolutely superb. Upgraded to a Lake View Room with a whirlpool bath.....fabulous.....the staff could not have been more helpful nothing was too much trouble......the evening meal was just delicious....Masterchef eat your heart out.....from the canapes in the bar to the delicious main course and excellent desert.......hopefully we will return in the not too distant future.....

Room Tip: Upgraded to Room 10 beautiful views and very light and airy and a whirlpool bath..fabulous....only n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGuys_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I just love this place, the food is superb, the staff are fantastic, all the rooms are splendid, all the reception areas are realllly relaxing and well decorated......looking forward to my wedding day there later this year, I know I wont be disappointed x x x

Room Tip: any of the lake view rooms are splendid x x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLETS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a beautiful, tranquil small hotel in a lovely setting with amazing views. All of the staff were excellent. The service was fantastic and the evening meal was superb. That was the same for the cream tea and breakfast. The only thing I didn't like was the type of tea that they used so maybe a good idea to take your own if you're precious about a good cuppa. We got a great deal via Travelzoo which was well worth the money. It was a present for my parents and they were blown away.

Room Tip: We had a superior Lake View room which was lovely with a great view. Not sure it's worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori_millard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
965 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing