We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely charming hotel at a great price with great staff.”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A group of us stayed at the hotel while we attended a wedding at another hotel. We chose to stay here because we had heard it was pleasant and somewhat off the beaten track (it is but not that far to be a hindrance). Everyone in the group was so happy we found this place. It has a fantastic ambience of its own and through the amazing and friendly staff one almost felt that the place was yours. Food was excellent and breakfast had a good choice for all palettes. The rooms we stayed in were cosy but very clean and stocked with everything you need. The grounds were lovely and the views on a clear day were picture perfect. We all plan on returning as soon as we can and only hope that too many great reviews do not make reserving a room an arduous task in the future. I for one would spend my last pound for another night there.

Room Tip: the hotel offers chalet cottages where you can bring along your dogs to stay with you.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarke59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
There are newer reviews for The Ryebeck
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights the hotel is to a very high standard with excellent food. The staff make you do welcome especially Brian well done. The views are fantastic looking right across lake Windermere.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just arrived back from the Fayrer Garden House Hotel, Bowness-on-Windemere. What a lovely retreat! We stayed Bed and Breakfast with a good choice for most appetites. Can recommend the Full English Breakfast. Our room was a standard Double with en-suite shower and toilet. The Bed was probably a King size with very comfortable mattress and pillows for a good nights sleep. The hotel has a spacious lounge with views over the grounds to the lake, were you could just sit and read or order a drink or two. There is also a seperate Bar area which looked very plush in its decor and very welcoming. Unfortunately, we did not eat our Evening meal in the Restaurant as my husband was full of a cold, so wouldn't be able to enjoy the 5 Course meal on offer. Hopefully we will return soon and try the meal again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent a couple of nights at this hotel, lovely, peaceful, everyone friendly. Lounge area could benefit from a bit of background music maybe, a little to quiet at times. It is the second time we have stayed here and will return again. Breakfast is a delight!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just had a few weekend days break at this hotel. This was our second visit, and as im in the pub business, its enjoyable to have a few days peace and quiet in Bowness and the lakes.
Really like this hotel, lovely location, rooms are very adequate, staff are always pleasant and their service is always 100%.
The views from the lounge towards the lake are magnificent, room service excellent, and full english breakfast very tasty indeed with plenty of choices, Brian always has a smile !
Would recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Rear superior rooms have the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Churchills37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a beautiful English Country hotel on the banks of Lake Windermere. It has plenty of old world charm and style, with a restaurant second to none. The food was among the best we have ever eaten, providing us with a very memorable stay with friends celebrating a birthday.

The service could not be faulted and the rooms are well equipped with the addition of tea and coffee making facilities and even a barrel of biscuits on the table. Beds are superbly comfortable.

The only down side was the slightly tired looking bathroom, but then it was the end of the season, so no major quibble there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazerSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were bought a stay here as a present from our in laws who have stayed here previously and they loved it. I can see why - its a great location and perfect for their age group but seriously we were at least 30 years younger than everyone else and we are in our late 30's! The menu was obviously the same on a sunday as it is on saturday as all teh other guests were remarking on it and we were surprised to see pigeon as a main course. I ordered a fillet and the waiter ( though I fear he may be a manager?) did not ask how I wanted it done. So it came out burnt (Literally) on the outside and over cooked for me on the inside. Unlike the carrots which were virtually raw - my husband also said his food was equally unimpressive. The room though quiet was as hot as an old peoples home so it made for an appalling nights sleep. I am sure they cater to their market but it was not a romantic retreat! Bar staff and receptionist friendly but even our room which was a luxury suite was a bit tatty round the edges with ripped wall paper etc

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoroughGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
703 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $161 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing