We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 3 Star - much more than that!!!!”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely not 3 Star - much more than that!!!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at this beautiful hotel. The staff are all lovely and friendly. This morning was spent digging us all out of the car park (snowed in!) so that we could get home - although we could have stayed an extra night and it's a real shame that the snow started to melt, so we had no excuse to stay. I would definitely highly recommend this hotel - and wish them all well in obtaining their 4 star rating....it is thoroughly deserved!

Room Tip: We had room 11, which had a four poster and a lake view, with a juliet balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    218
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
103
713
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This country house hotel is beautifully yet traditionally furnished, set in its own grounds in a peaceful location with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and lake. It is approximately one mile (15/20 min walk) into the town of Bowness but the location affords you the tranquility that many hotels in the area do not. The main communal areas and our bedroom were kept spotlessly clean and well maintained with large fluffy towels, good quality toiletries, comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities (tea, coffee and biscuits replenished generously daily). There is a good choice of fruit juices/cereals and cooked foods for breakfast where you can eat as much or as little as you want. Allowing you the opportunity to wind down and dress up a little, dinner is a culinary delight. The food and wine menus cater for most palettes and food is skilfully but beautifully prepared and served, and is very reasonably priced for the excellent quality received. Throughout our stay, all of the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly whilst maintaining politeness and professionalism. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them and they always found time to enquire about our day. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. Read the reviews, but give the Fayrer a chance to make up your own mind.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel between 29th and 31st January. Booked through kgb deals, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very pretty with nice common areas. We were in room 17 on the first floor, not facing the lake, but which has nice views of the front garden. The room including bathroom was clean and looked to have been recently renovated. The room was cleaned while we were at breakfast which was a nice surprise.

A couple of probably unimportant details but ill share them anyway; there was no socket for the kettle on the dresser so we had to boil it on the floor, and the tv was in a corner such that you could not watch it from the bed and you we resorted to moving the bed. To be honest, it looked as if they had changed the room around to create more space but that meant leaving appliances in awkward corners. We didn't go to watch the tv but it was absolutely freezing outside, very little was open in Bowness it being January and so we did end up inside watching it a little so just to let you know! This could be the only room like this....

We saw a couple of the lake rooms whilst they were getting cleaned and they looked superb; much bigger with lovely views so the upgrade looks worthwhile.

Our complimentary cream tea was gorgeous and the breakfast was brilliant also. They were very accommodating with tweaks to the breakfast menu and all staff were lovely. We didn't go for the dinner in the hotel which is 3 courses and costs £30, but plenty of guests seemed to be doing so. I would say that at this time of year there wasn't a great deal of choice in Bowness for food so it might be a good bet.

The room was freezing although the heating was on, but this could just be put down to it being an old building in a very cold week in January.

Although the hotel was near Bowness centre we took the car each time. The road to walk along is quite fast and at night it wasn't lit so all in all it seemed a bit dangerous. In summer it would probably be fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karrybarry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Me and my boyfriend (20 & 25) received this break to fayrer garden as a Christmas present it was booked through KGB deals. We visited 20th-22nd Jan. we arrived at the hotel around 12ish and although your not meant to check in until 2pm the staff were more than happy for us to have our room early, we were taken to a lovely room with views of the garden and could also see the lake. We unpacked and went downstairs and asked if we could have our cream tea where they took us to the sitting room and lit the fire for us and braught the tea to us while we admired the views. We didn't eat in the hotel as it was rather expensive but there's so many reasonable priced restaurants in bowness, a 5min drive away. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were lovely! The cleaners were fantastic after returning after breakfast the first mining the room was already made up! The only bad thing we could say is that the bar is very expensive but we had a few drinks while we were out and one to relax in the hotel. All in all it was fantastic! X

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krawden18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just got back from a 2 nights B&B stay (KGB deal - which was excellent value for the money). We also upgraded to a lake view. The hotel was fantastic, very clean, stunning scenery, good choice of breakfast and friendly/helpful staff. On check-in we were given a voucher to redeem the complimentary cream tea and also a voucher that can be used in a nearby hotel to use their leisure facilities. The room was lovely with great views across the lake, with snow on the mountains in the background. The bathroom was spotless with a fantastic shower and lovely toiletries (especially the hand cream!). The hotel is a distance from the town which we easily walked both nights (15 mins) but agree that a torch is needed due to lack of footpath/street lighting. Although there are loads of taxis in the town which we used to return each night costing around £4.00. Would recommend this hotel to anyone - fantastic weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead, tyne and wear
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

my husband booked this on a £99 KGB deal and upgraded to lakeview room (9). We stayed 23rd -25th Jan to celebrate my wedding anniversary and birthday.We too were not offered the cream tea as promised.The room was spotlessly clean with a great view of the lake. l loved the complementary toiletries, they were much nicer than the cheap stuff you often get in some hotels . The breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked. The staff were very polite and helpful and nothing was too much bother. The hotel was lovely and quiet when we stayed with no guests banging doors and making noise as they returned to their rooms which has happened quite often when we have stayed in other hotels. As we had a car the trip to town wasn't an issue but can see the problem others had in walking. We didn't eat in the hotel as we thought it was a bit expensive but there was plenty of places to eat in town. All in all our stay at this hotel was very relaxing, enjoyable and good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebblesrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had a 2 night stay at the Fayrer Garden Hotel in Jan 2012 using the KGB deals offer which worked out as excellent value. The hotel is set within lovely grounds overlooking part of the lake, the rooms are nice and clean, the breakfasts were very good and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The only slight downside is the location, it's only a 10-15 minute walk into the town which wasn't an issue for us but I understand that it may put some people off. There are small stretches of road with no pavement/street lighting, so I would advise taking a torch with you if your planning on returning after dark by foot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hinzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
960 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing