We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent staff, gorgeous setting”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed for a 2 night mid-week break in December and loved it.

The hotel is gorgeous and looked lovely and festive, breakfast was superb and the staff were all fantastic.

The only negative was the standard room (room no 18) was quite small and didnt have a bath but everything else was great and this didn't really affect our stay- though it would have been nice to have a relaxing bath after all that walking and fresh air! Having said that everything was spotlessly clean, and very cosy and warm, the bed was comfy, the shower was brilliant and there was a tv and plenty of storage.

The hotel is just outside Bowness in an elevated position with views over the lake. It's decorated beautifully with lovely lounges and comfy sofas and a really nice restaurant / breakfast room. We didnt have dinner at the hotel but I believe its very popular, there's a very good chef and the menu certainly looked fantastic. Breakfast was one of the best we've had and the views down to the lake are superb.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenandJohn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
There are newer reviews for The Ryebeck
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

909 - 915 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

The second time my wife & I have stayed and standards remain so high from the welcome on arrival to the settling of bill.
This time was a University year reunion (42 years) with 28, including partners, attending. Not one had a bad word to say except that some of the standard rooms are on the small side. We had a superior, lakeview room which was very comfortable, spacious & clean and worth the extra money. Service in the restaurant was slick and the food richly deserved its 2 rosettes.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonH34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at the Fayrer Garden 20-22 November 2011. The hotel itself is lovely, but it was definitely the staff that made our stay so special.

We stayed as part of the KGB £99 deal and upon arrival were shown a standard room and a much larger room. We were pleasantly surprised to be given the larger room, which should have been subject to an upgrade fee, for no extra cost. We both agreed that we would have been very disappointed to have been paying the full price for the much smaller standard room. The room we had was lovely with a fantastic whirlpool bath and a view out to the lake. The whole hotel was very clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was of a very high quality with a good choice. We were both pleased to see that it was table service rather than a buffet-style breakfast. The service was very good throughout our stay, and special mention should be given to the night porter who couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel during our stay, instead preferring to make the 20-25 minute walk into Bowness then returning by taxi (which only cost about £3.50).

We were both very impressed with the hotel and would return, although I'm not sure we'd pay the regular full room rate.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an upgraded room. The standard room which we were shown was very small.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We went for the weekend (11-13 Nov) with another couple. It's a very nice small hotel in a great location with friendly, welcoming staff and really nice public rooms, especially the lounge. Bedrooms are very nice, if rather small. Ours had wonderful whirlpool bath and good view of lake (we booked on kgb £99 deal and upgraded. If you're on a budget, you could definitely live without the view.) Food was good, both at dinner and breakfast, and on Friday night there was a wonderful pianist playing in the dining room, which created a great ambience. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VelbofMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Just wrote a full fab review for this hotel and managed to lose it so I will keep this one a bit brief.
Just come back from a wonderful stay with the boyfriend....we booked on the KGB deal £99 for 2 night stay including breakfast and cream tea on arrival.
I will try to stick to the main points you will need to know if contemplating staying here.....

Room - Goregous, well decorated, decent size, Massive bed. Telly only had 5 channels but we were on holiday so only watched about an hours tele all weekend anyway. The room had NO view but it was expected as we were on a budget and opted out of the upgrade - it had no effect on us if we were awake we were out and about and if we were asleep whats the point of a room with a view!!!!!!

Restaurant - Due to 2 heavy nights I never made it too breakfast :( but my boyfriend did on the first day and said it was fab, the paper we ordered was on the seat ready for us and they did plate some cold items for him to bring back to me (eternally grateful!) I had a wander round the restaurant beautifully laid out with stunning views.

Lounge and Bar both absolutely gorgeous.

Location - for me perfect - far enough away so you are out of town and close enough that it is only a short drive away / taxi ride

Nightlife - better then expected (hence the 2 heavy nights comment!!!) quite a few decent bars ranging from wine bars, old fashioned pubs, sports bar and even a nightclub (I say that in the loosest term!) but it was a good night and the hotel was again a great location!!

Spa - amazing!!!! the Macdonald hotel (less then a mile away) has a spa free to any guests at this hotel - with swimming pool, sauna, steam room, ice room ,aroma showers etc - the pool overlooks the lake and it is just a perfect way to end the weekend!!

All in all it was a lovely stay my only critsicm was we left some clothes in the room on return to the hotel after the spa (we rang ahead to inform them we had left them and would be back in the afternoon) the staff could not find out clothes anywhere!!! took them almost an hour to locate the items at one point they did offer to post them on but we said we wanted them now.... miscommunication with staff with a proceedure in place this can be avoided....

Having said that it did not deter us and we will return to this hotel in the future - Highly recommend to any couples looking for a romantic getaway!!

Room Tip: If fundsa allow book a room with a view but not essential!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caz6082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Well worth a visit to this beautiful small hotel with friendly helpful staff. The food was very nice with extra touches such as canapes while choosing the menu, sorbet between starter and mains with coffee and chocolates in the comfortable lounge to finish.
Situated on the edge of Bowness in Windermere approximately 1 mile walk from the town or to the ferry.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I am from Scotland and never visited the Lake District but I found this hotel online and booked in at The Terrace Restaurant for a family meal to celebrate our parents Ruby Wedding Anniversary. We arrived and were seated in the lounge where we were given the menu to browse through (set price for a 5 course meal) and ordered drinks. Once ordered we were moved through to our table which was all set very nice. It is quite a formal restaurant so we were all smartly dressed. The etiquette is fabulous – the ladies were served first! The food was excellent and very good value for the 5 course meal. After our meal we were moved through to another separate private lounge where we were then served coffee and chocolates and the staff brought through the cake we had bought to celebrate the anniversary.
Unfortunately we arrived at 8pm on an October night so we couldn’t see the views but from what we could see of the gardens it looked lovely and we will definitely return in the summer in order to enjoy a lovely meal over looking Lake Windermere. Highly recommended – cannot fault it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoroGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
697 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $158 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing