We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable service”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I am so pleased to have chosen Fayrer Garden from the advice of Trip Advisor. We have just returned from a 3 night stay and I have barely a bad word to say. Admittedly, the food in the restaurant was a tad hit and miss. We had extremely ropey starters but delicious mains and puddings on the night we ate there....and the view from the restaurant over the grounds and the lake are exceptional. The breakfast menu was extensive and mainly very good.
As a benchmark of how good this hotel was, my only complaint was that the pillows were uncomfortable! And while the hotel is beautiful, what really makes it in my eyes are the people that work there. Every single person that works at the Fayrer is exceptional - whether its the lovely young girl who makes up the rooms in the morning to the brilliant deputy manageress in the restaurant, the receptionist and waiting staff included. They really went the extra mile and helped make our stay so enjoyable. I have never had such universal good service.
One thing I would comment on though which is no criticism of Fayrer just a note. A lot of people on here are saying the hotel is a 15 minute walk from Bowness. We are very healthy, fit 30 somethings and I would say this is very misleading......more like 25 minutes on the way down and 40 on the way back as it is so uphill. Plus there is no path on the road so you need to take the back route into Bowness.
If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a beautiful hotel looking out over the Lake with impeccable service then this is the place for you

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    218
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
103
713
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leigh
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have visited this hotel a few times and always have found it friendly & relaxing. We had a standard room (16) which has excellent views of the garden and is very comfortable. The evening meal was excellent as well as the breakfast. Staff very friendly and would do anything for you. We will defintely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We have been in a room at the front with an beautiful view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliewLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The staff were very helpful and friendly . The room was brilliant. We ate dinner one night which was superb.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Just been back to the Fayrer Garden after a couple of years and it really is better than ever.

Can't believe the last reviews, our expectation was already high since our last visit and Mark and his team didn't disappoint. As professional and friendly as ever, always having time to help us and make us feel special. The food is to die for, plenty of selection, always hot and great portion size, especially after a long walk in the hills!

Our room looked over the beautiful gardens and was spotlessly clean, as we expected. We will no doubt be back again soon as our memories of this fabulous hotel are cherished.

Room Tip: We love room 19, spacious with a lovely garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is almost a very good hotel, but our room meant it rather poor value.

It is a typical Lakeland-style large house and has great gardens and views. The food and the service are excellent. The timing of dinner courses was well managed, contrary to some other views – perhaps they have taken note.

The public lounge is spacious and attractive. The fabric and decoration of all the hotel’s public spaces was in very good order,

My only concern was our room. It was one of the cheaper ‘Standard’ rooms which the hotel says are ‘cosy’ and with ‘limited views’. They are not kidding! See the photos of the views from the two windows. It was just big enough, with space for one small armchair. The room was in good decorative order, although the bed was not of the first quality.

I think it rather dear for a hotel with rooms like this, even allowing for the hotel’s other qualities. Perhaps if you pay more for a better room, the overall impression would justify the cost.

Room Tip: Don't get room 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanKnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel previously and would have graded it as a 5 star for a small hotel. But on this occasion we have been slightly dissapointed. We were in a lake view room with french doors only we could not open them due to the inconsiderate couple in the room below us sitting outside chain smoking, as it was warm weather opening the doors would have been nice. Also the sofa in the room had never been vacumed or cleaned and the curtains had black stains on them. I used the bath on the first night only to find the bath had never been cleaned the day after. On the first night reception rang our room as we were five minutes late to ask were we coming down for dinner, then when ordering certain dishes they had ran out of them, is this acceptable when paying quite a bit of money for our stay? (This is an expensive rare treat for us). When we have stayed before we have received canapes before dinner in the bar area which we found very pleasant and different, this did not happen during our current stay. The evening meal menu never really changed all starters, main courses and desserts were the same. Breakfast would have been nice with fresh fruit on offer on the cereal table and not tinned. The dress code in the hotel brochure clearly states that jeans are not to be worn in the evening when dinning and this is good as it is nice to make an effort for the evening meal, this was not the case with certain guests. This hotel will have to up it's game if they would like to carry on providing the service guests have been used to over the years. We just feel the welcome of the staff and the quality was not as we have previously experienced which is a shame. But the location is fantastic due to the views. Would like to return as it has been previously and could be a nice retreat!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SIX3OFUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Visited for 2 night stay, Mon and Tues. Took eighty year old parents.
Lovely welcome from Mark, who genuinely cared about our visit. All staff were excellent, however he stood out. Knew our room number without asking, had good local knowledge, supplied a map to enable us to get to the other lakes.

Breakfast was excellent. Evening meal was excellent, although perhaps a little pricey. Having said that everywhere is expensive. Even pub meals were coslty, but all of a very good quality.
Our rooms were standard and overlooked the front garden. The lounges have plenty of settees, they do not have a TV in public area, very peaceful.

The terrace was lovely in the evening. Weather helped of course.

Overall the stay was very relaxing, my parents loved it. We would return.

Room Tip: We booked via website venere. We had standard rooms which served our purpose, we didnt see other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saints13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,833 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing