We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fabulous views and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 12, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed here with my partner and we were again on the second floor but upgraded to a lakeside view room off the lovely receptionist, who noted we were previous visitirs and welcomed us back. We again ate here on the evening and again it was lovely. This thime we had time to use the spa which was nice, gym a bit small but there was enough equipment to get a short workout in. Breakfast we took in bed and was excellent .
first class hotel very central!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank vankaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2011

Many thanks for your positive comments. We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Old England Hotel & Spa. I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff involved and we are happy to have been of service to you.
I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to look after you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Kay Harrison Mann
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,757 - 2,763 of 2,994 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2011

This hotel is excellent, could not fault it at all, except the room was too warm. The staff were great and friendly. The Hotel was centrally located. We had a wonderful view of the lake. The food was fantastic and breakfast was hot. I would recommend this hotel to any one and we have booked to go again at the end of this year.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaz1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Stunning place, our room had a lake view at ground level, the room it's self was tastefully decorated and the bathroom was roomy and very clean. Huge bed which was two singles pushed together but very comfy. Room was a little warm for my taste but better once we managed to open window a little. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Carparking was an issue for other guests but we luckily found a space in the hotel carparking as we arrived early. Our only gripe was the food! Evening meal was okay but nothing to shout about a bit on the tepid side but as we had waited so long we ate as we were famished. Attention to presentation was good but some of the obvious things you would expect were lacking eg cold plates/food butter was scarce, no sauce with salmon,rolls whipped away with
starter. The cooked breakfast was atrocious considering it's not inclusive, scrambled egg and smoked salmon was literally a cold dollop of one egg scrambled and a couple of slivers of salmon on a cold plate. Hubbys was one sausage one bacon one egg a tomato and half a large mushroom which was all over cooked and cold. Coffee was bitter and stewed. Cereals and juice were the saving grace. Overall we would go back as it is a lovely place but we would eat out and avoid the cooked breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Dear AlfnFred
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad that you liked your room and found the staff to be friendly and helpful, but was disappointed that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience. It is rare that we get complaints regarding the food here at the hotel as our chef, Nick Martin, maintains a very high standard, however I am sorry that we clearly did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I hope that we will get the chance to restore your faith in the food that we serve on your next visit to us here at the Old England Hotel & Spa.
Kind Regards
Kay Harrison Mann
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

It is a few years since we visited The Old England and we are delighted at the improvements made. Every member of staff was helpful,friendly and professional. Our room in the original building was up to date, well decorated and furnished and with a wonderful view of the lake. The food in the restaurant was well cooked and presented. We stayed for 2 nights and there are good deals to be had. We left with a lovely warm impression. Well done Macdonald Hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Dear SusieJ

Many many thanks for your positive remarks. We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and customer care and so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Old England. I have passed on your comments to all our staff.

We hope to welcome you back at the Old England soon.

With kind regards

Kay Harrison-Mann
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The Old England enjoys one of the best positions in the Lake District with views over Lake Windemere. The hotel itself is nice, particularly the lounge and bar areas and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We booked a family room so that we could take our seven year old and whilst it was clean, it was very basic with old furniture, which I felt was not worth the £380 price tag for two nights (inc. breakfast). We also had the misfortune of a cold swimming pool (broken heating) and an overcrowded car park, but none of that spoiled a lovely weekend in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Dear Rachael,

Many many thanks for your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff. I will pass on your comments to them.

I am sorry you felt the room was not worth the money you paid; it is rare we receive complaints about our rooms but your comments are noted.

I apologise for the cold swimming pool, we did unfortunately have a technical problem which has now been resolved. I am sorry you did not get to enjoy the full benefits of our Spa.

I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay but your comments will be taken seriously and we will hope to see you back at the Old England in the future.

Kind regards

Kay Harrison-Mann
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This was our first trip to the Lake District and we were looking forward to staying at this hotel which was located right on the lakeside. However the rooms at this hotel were disappointing to say the least. 1st room had only a skylight window which you could only slightly open if you stood on a chair - the room was therefore hot, stuffy and dark. We asked to be moved. 2nd room was large with big windows but was directly above the kitchen with the extractors running right up past our window which made it very noisy (so we had to keep the window closed) as well as the general noise and smells of the kitchen which were unpleasant. 3rd time lucky - no such luck. The 3rd room was spacious and well ventilated but was a disabled room with an open wet room. My husband and I are fortunate enough not to be disabled and would have wanted the room to be allocated to someone who needed these facilities. All things considered not a standard of room choice that you would expect from a 4 star MacDonald hotel with a £210 a night rate. Even a standard room should not be this "standard".

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank foxygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Dear Foxygolf

Thankyou for your comments. Delivering the highest standards of service for all of our guests is at the heart of our core values and I would always welcome your feedback where you feel that this has not been the case. I am glad that we were able to give you a choice of rooms but am sorry that you were not happy with them. Please be assured that we take all comments seriously and are always looking at areas where improvements can be made to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Kay Harrison Mann
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Great location, friendly staff. However, I would recommend avoiding the rooms that overlook the street. We had a room on the second floor above the hotel entrance. The room was warm so we needed to keep the window open while sleeping. Saturday and Sunday nights were very noisy with loud voices and vehicle traffic until well after 1 AM. I would hope that a lake view room, which I will request on my next visit, would be quieter.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackArkadelphiaARUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldOldEngland, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Dear JackArkadelphiaARUSA. Thank you for taking the time to note your comments on trip advisor. It is only through feedback such as this that we know where improvement still needs to be made. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and found the staff to be friendly but sorry that you felt your room to be noisy. Although we have put a lot of effort into minimising sound in the couple of rooms that overlook the road, situated as we are in the heart of Bowness, in busy seasons there is infortunately no way of fully eliminating all pedestrian noise when the windows are open.

I am glad that you will be coming to stay with us again and can assure you that you will be extremely happy with a Lake View Room. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Old England Hotel & Spa in the future.

Kind Regards

Kay Harrison Mann
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
472 reviews
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $113 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing