We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!We love everything about this Hotel, Strongly recommend it!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Perfect Paridise!!
You must spend your next visit in the Old Macdonald hotel if visiting Bowness in the Lakes, its a must and your will enjoy every minute of your stay! Upon booking, request the new side of the hotel, there are a number of newly refurbished rooms and it will make your stay all the better.
The staff at this hotel are very friendly & helpful, they make sure that your time spend at the Old Macdonald is a very special occasion, especially Paul who walk on front of house, everytime we visit, he manages to make our stay extra special and makes sure we have everything we need. Employee of the Month

Dont miss out on this hotel
Gold Member - Westland

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bez1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,732 - 2,738 of 2,916 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2010

Booked this Hotel in January and paid up front for my stay in March only to get a phnoe call the day before telling me they where fully booked. Totally disgusted with this hotel and that's before I even had chance to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank UpTheTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Superb hotel with great facilities and location overlooking Lake Windermere in Bowness. Rooms were superb and spa facilities were excellent. The hotel does have a no jeans policy for the evening restaraunt which we didnt bother with as I have to wear suit to work everyday so when on holiday its the last thing that I would want to wear! There were plenty of restaraunts within walking distance from the hotel, and we did not eat a bad meal during our three night stay so you will not be disappointed with the restaraunts. The only let down I would say was the breakfast. Continental breakfast is included in the price, however if you do wish for an english or cooked breakfast you do have to pay extra for this. The service also was not the best at breakfast time. Our second morning we had to request tea & toast, which is included with the continental breakfast, 3 times as they kept forgetting about us! It did seem a little disorganised at breakfast as we witnessed several people getting the wrong breakfasts when they had ordered a cooked breakfast. This was the only downfall, but it would not stop me returning!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelled_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

My husband and I, escaping for the first time since the birth of our first child, now almost two, wanted a relaxing, beautiful place not too far from nice restaurants and hiking opportunities. Having received recommendations from locals that the Old England was top notch we decided to stay. Since we told the staff at the desk, we don't feel bad saying it here, the terrible food (except the chips!) and the most rude food servers we've experienced (and we're from London) have prompted us to spend our precious free time steering you away from this establishment. The response from the front desk upon our complaints was that the rudeness was to be expected since they weren't paid very much. Do yourself a favour and choose somewhere else. The Spa wasn't bad hence the two stars.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank MissPickyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Passed this hotel on many occasions and had coffee in the lounge often but never stayed until now. Great location overlooking Windermere, comfy relaxing lounge with papers to read, great spa and GREAT staff. Lovely breakfast room overlooking lake. Very comfy beds
Downside- the spa was lovely but the swimming pool is a bit soulless. You also pay extra for cooked breakfast-never had that before at a 4* hotel! The old building rooms are great but the new block looks very "concretey".

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Chosen for a short break to walk in the area. Welcomed in and given a room upgrade to a lake view room. The view over Windermere was great - peaceful with just the swans and ducks around. Clean and comfortable with all you could need. Porterage was offered. We had dinner there the first night. we were shown to a table overlooking the lake - very romantic. The menu was limited, but more than enough to satisfy all but the most fussy eater. My ssalmon starter was an interesting trio of different ways with the fish. The lamb main was well cooked. Service was attentive, but not intrusive. We had continental breakfast - a wide choice. If it had ben wet the huge lounge had plenty of places to snuggle up with a book/paper. The only slight downside was that the main car park was 100 yards away, although valet parking was offered. Would choose to saty here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Just returned from the Old England and it met 4* expectations in every respect. On arrival we were upgraded to a lake view room which had fantastic views and was very clean and well appointed. The decor is traditional throughout, no style awards here, but the lounge is packed with cosy chairs and sofas and the restaurant has unbeatable views across the lake. The pool and spa are modern and clean, the spa treatments are reasonably priced and the treatment rooms are excellent. The location in Bowness is fantastic and although the car park is tricky to find (my advice is pull up next to the hotel entrance, run in, and they will give you exact directions), free parking in the very centre of Bowness is not to be sniffed at! It is a 1 minute walk to the hotel from the car park. A few niggles with the service in the restaurant due to staff being unfamiliar with the special offer menus let the side down but the food quality is very high with excellent presentation. Overall it is a solid 4* hotel but if perfection is what you seek, you need to stay in a 5* establishment!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luggagelabelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $144 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing