We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,215)
Filter reviews
3,215 results
Traveler rating
1,309
927
521
264
194
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,309
927
521
264
194
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold englandfeature roomvalet serviceterrace barexecutive roomice roomlake viewrelaxation roomlovely hotelcar parkcooked breakfaston arrivalsauna and steam roomafternoon teablack puddingevening mealshort break
Filter
Updating list...
3,097 - 3,102 of 3,215 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2009

I took two friends out to the Old England for afternoon tea last week .We opted for the Royal tea on the reccommendation of our waiter and then enjoyed 2 wonderful hours admiring the fantastic view over the lake sipping champange. The tea was definatly value for money and you couldn't ask for more helpful and attentive staff from entering the Hotel until we left. I have had afternoon tea at Raffles Singapore and Oriental Bank Kok and the old England was on par with them We decided as we enjoyed it so much we are going to make this a monthly treat.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Whilst I didnt stop in the hotel, I ate there and felt it warranted a review. The service was excellent from the service in the bar, while I waited for my table. They gave me a table right in front of the picture window overlooking the lake. Was not discrimated against for being a single diner and not a resident. having stopped in a number of hotels for work, this was excellent treatment. The food was imaginative, beautifully displayed and tasted good. Good price. No rush in service, just the right pace. The staff deserve a round of applase.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumpercolouringbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Stopped here for 2 nights,good location,room lovely and spacious,only problem we were overlooking building work and not lake windermere.
Breakfast was absoultley awful(buffet),complained to receptionist,who then sent the deputy manager to our room,he was most apologetic,and offered us a free cooked breakfast the next morning (room service)
staff very helpful and manager dealt with our complaint immediatley.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasminSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights and had requested an upgrade after an illness by my wife earlier this year. On arrival we were allocated an upgrade overlooking the lake.
Room was clean and up to date with facilities. Service was attentive, staff smart in appearance and breakfast had plenty of variety in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouseHellifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We booked an 'Executive' room for an overnight stay on 17 March, 'Execitive' means 'Lake View.' The room itself was tired and in need of refurbishment. Houskeeping was superficial, with only the bed linen changed and the bathroom serviced.

Breakfast was chaotic, although from 7.00am until 10.30am, at 9.00am prunes, red grapefruit and ordinary grapefruit was the only choice of fruit - the empty bowls were never topped up. Cooked breakfast was an extra £6.00 (something not obvious when booking on-line), bringing the total cost of a single breakfast to £21.00.

The 'Black Pudding' was the wrong consistency and tasteless, the single rasher of bacon, the single sausage, the half tomato and half mushroom were cooked well.

Service was chaotic, long waits, failure to bring extra tea and coffee when asked. Throughout not a single table was cleared when diners left, leaving us to view their mess. The waiters clearly did not have a clue.

The reception area was dark and depressing and on our arrival the carpet at the entrance was dirty and full of bits, it was in the same state when we left the following day.

The only redeeming feature of this hotel was the receptionist, who was bright, cheerful and efficient and seemed genuinly concerned that we had not found everything to our satisfaction.

In the customer questionnaire it states that all comments are taken seriously and are reviewed on a daily basis. Taken so seriously that the management has not seen fit to contact me apropos our comments.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews