We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 1st Class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Have just come back from a few nights at the Old England and now feel totally relaxed!
Our room was a standard room in the new wing which we were not expecting to be anything extraordinary but it was beautiful - the size of my flat! It had a huge double bed, sofa, table and chairs and a large flat screen tv. The bathroom had a large bath and a very big walk in shower.
We had breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner and all were superb. The continental breakfast had so much choise we didnt feel the need for the cooked option. Taking Afternoon Tea in the Lounge overlooking the lake was lovley. The evening meal was of very good standard and we would have tried everything from the menu if we could have!
I had a spa treatment which was very good, the pool area was very well equiped and very clean. The only thing missing was a jacuzzi.
Parking is two seconds down the road but they were more than happy to park/retrieve the car for us and help with the bags. Check in and out was friendly, quick and personal.
All staff reception, housekeeping, waiting and concierge were friendly, polite but not overbearing. it made us feel like we had gone back decades to a slower pace of life. Thanks to the entire team for a delightful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,809 - 2,815 of 2,916 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2009

We've had enjoyable family trips at the Old England before but this was our first stay since the Macdonald group took over the hotel and we were very impressed with the standard of the room and especially with the superb professionalism of the staff. We had a great room in the recently-refurbished annex with a view of the lake and enjoyed the huge bed and immaculately clean and well-appointed bathroom. Dinner on Saturday night was of an extremely high standard and the food actually felt like a bargain, although we felt that the wine-list was rather ambitiously priced. We loved sitting in the beautiful public rooms overlooking the lake and we appreciated the tone of the staff who were attentive and offered refreshments and newspapers, but who were never over-bearing. The pool and spa area were clean, elegant and happily child-free. Parking was a bit of a drama, especially as we arrived in driving rain, but the reception staff were extremely helpful and offered us valet parking which helped enormously.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsCathO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

A beautiful looking hotel in wonderful surroundings, but let down badly by inconsistent service and some real glaring errors.
Having arrived late evening we were pleased to have the option for valet parking of the car. Unfortunately that was the best that happened. Check-in was painfully slow with one couple checking in before us. I really don't expect to wait 10 minutes before I can get to my room. The room was small and the bed was of equal proportion. I had booked an executive room, so If I really had got one (which I have some doubts) then the standard rooms must be miniscule. The flat screen TV was smaller than my computer monitor, but having Sky Sports was a plus. Lack of any indication of Internet access was a big minus. The room was clean and tidy with only two visible cobwebs.
We'd booked dinner in the restaurant and this is when it really started to go wrong. We sat in the lounge with a drink looking at the Menu; which was a £30 set meal with limited choices. I asked to see the a la carte menu only to be told that 'that was last year, this year we change menu daily' the purveyor of this information was Eastern European (as arfe most of the staff). I tried to ask why there was still an a la carte menu on the Website and in front of the entrance, but her English deserted her completely (which is a polite way of saying my question was just ignored).
The food itself was superb, but I was still simmering about the fact that I wasn't allowed a wider choice. There seems to be an assumption that everyone is there on some form of Dinner, Bed and Breakfast break and I always feel slightly insulted to be told that if I want Cheese and Biscuits there would be a supplement. The same thing happened at breakfast when I asked for a full cooked breakfast - 'that will be £6 extra' - yes I know it will I can read.
Badly trained staff, lack of attention to detail makes this a very poor 4* hotel - a good 3* maybe. The facilities in the room really don't go with the star rating - no sign of a mini-bar, and the 'generous work area' helps redefine the word 'generous'.
At checkout there was chaos as the car park was packed and people were blocked in. It took me 45 minutes to actually check out and get on the road. Badly understaffed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeT_Hessle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel... it is pretty expensive for the price but if you get the right room in the "New Wing" then you won't have any complaints.

Some of the rooms look over the lake which is amazing on a clear day.

Location is superb and breakfast is really good. We have heard that the hotel dinner is great, however we just ended up walking around Windermere into one of the local restaurants (lots of Chinese and Italian restaurants).

The pool is a good size - but on our trip it was ice cold! They had a powercut which cooled the pool.

Management very understanding and helpful.

Lots to do - nice drives and if local boat cruises to local areas.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I visited this hotel with my boyf for Valentines Day, and stayed 2 nights. Overall, we had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a nice location, right on the lake and as you enter, has a welcoming reception. Check in was very efficent, although we asked for some help with our bags, which didn't arrive. They did however park the car for us - which was nice. We had a lake view room which was OK - clean and OK furniture but i have stayed in better - there are a number of room types above this one, which i think have been refurbished. Our room was fine though - lovely view of the lake, flat screen TV, small but serviceable bathroom, nice power shower. If we went there again though i would upgrade the room just to have a bit more luxury.
We had booked on a dinner, b&b basis and i have to say the food in the hotel restaurant was superb. Alot of foreign staff, but they worked very hard and the service was very good. Some of the food was out of this world - best fish dish i have eaten in a long time and the pre-starter veloute was absolutely sublime. We eat out quite a bit and this definately rated amongst the better meals we have eaten. Nice wine list too - and quite reasonably priced.
Breakfast was good as well, although cooked breakfast isn't included in the b&b rate - they charge an extra £6.50 for that which i think might be a bit stingy! We had it both mornings and did enjoy it, but noticed alot of people weren't prepared to pay the extra.
We also made use of the spa - having a couples massage which was very good and at £90 for both of us, quite reasonable.
Overall, the hotel is very good - quite pricy in some respect - 2 nights cost us £1000, but we did have wine/champagne/treatments etc. so i suppose that isn't too bad. Would i go back? Yes, but Bowness is a bit of a dull place - full of tacky tourist shops and hairdressers that close on a Saturday!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We loved it !
Stayed on 12th Jan 09 for one night birthday celebration.
I rang prior to our visit and spoke to Justine who was really helpful, she was also on reception when we arrived and was welcoming and helpful.
Our room no. 321 overlooked the lake, was spacious and special. dble bed, coffee table, chairs, large dressing table, flat screen tv, tea/coffee etc. spacious and clean bathroom.

The classic lounge rooms in the hotel had fantastic views over the lake lake, pure relaxation.
We used the pool and sauna's which were brand new - didnt even think the pool was too cold !
We opted for full english breakfast but there was plenty of choice with the continental.
will definitely book again, cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brownshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Old England Hotel at the end of January, having been given a gift voucher towards our two night stay.
The location on Windermere is great and the views from the lounges and restaurant are superb.
We did manage to check in before 4.00pm and were given our key . I presumed a second floor room as the key indicated 200+ but then had to travel up a floor to third! Perhaps the receptionist could have pointed this out?
The "Classic " double was very small but included all facilities. Perhaps the expensive "broom cupboard "was a punishment for querying the booking system! I had wondered why a regular booking was actually cheaper on line than the booking made under the "Winter Saver" Special deal? We had to remove the bulky robes from the tiny wardrobe to enable a small hanging facility. The trouser press and ironing board etc were also squashed into the space.The room was rather cramped but the bathroom was fine and cleaning standards were good.
Service in the bar and lounge was good, all staff were friendly and efficient.The bar was however rather empty on the Thursday night - a bit like the Marie Celeste with no barman to be found for a while.
The restaurant food and service were excellent, with the Set menu dinner choices varied. I was disappointed that the a la carte menu was not available. It's worth having cheese for t dessert , just to look at the great descriptions of the cheeses available.Wine selections are good .
We opted for the cooked breakfast choice in the morningsbut the continental options were plentiful and varied.
We did use the pool and Sauna - as others have noted the pool temperature was on the chilly side! but it was enjoyable.
All in all a great couple of days - but not a budget break.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWMisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $144 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing