We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, apart from the early wake up call...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful, apart from the early wake up call...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. Very clean and nicely fashioned. Very well situated. Rooms were large and spacious, and the beds were to die for! So comfortable! Food was delicious and the Spa Facilities were amazing. We had the Body Glow Spa Day, would definitely recommend! Wpuld have been 5*, but we got a room at the back of the building si at 7.15am on both mornings, we got woken up by dustbin men, bottles breaking and the linen lorry. Other then that, a great hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank criticalsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    815
    437
    210
    131
See reviews for
460
1,661
43
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My family stayed in this hotel last week , they were very disappointed by the tired batnroom and bedroom, although the views were as described. The breakfast and evening meals were acceptable but not as o e would expect from this standard of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

A poor experience. 80 people in the function room downstairs and it took 3 hours to serve everyone a 3 course meal. A cold tart that should have been warm, poor beef and a tastless, a mediochre pud.
Not enough staff or attention. These organisations think they can get away with it. A shame as my organisation is looking for a regular function suite in Windermere, but it won't be at The Old England. Your loss.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham Bucks
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at end of February for two nights DB&B in room 237. The room had everything you would expect from a top hotel and everything in room was in working order. It was clean/spotless and even the tea and coffee was replaced each evening and the bed turned a nice touch. The view from the room was of the lake over looking the landing stages for the boat trips and a Good view of the gardens and the opposite side of the lake. Over all the room was to a very good standard and one of the better rooms that we had stayed in with Macdonald's Hotels.

The public areas where well maintained this is a very busy hotel and is well laid out the bar lounge area is comfortable. with good views over the lake. There is a terraced where we have had afternoon tea on previous visits a couple of years ago which was good value.

The restaurant is a lovely room with large windows looking over the gardens and lake, it is clean and very nicely laid out. However on the night we eat there the service was slow and poor, The food was not of the quality we have had at other hotels in the group, The breakfast was up to the usual Macdonald standard either. But to be fair when we checked we spoke to reception not to complain as we thought we had been unlucky with the food we had, To there credit they insisted we spoke to the duty manager who spent some time listening to our comments and was interested in what other hotels we where comparing it with in the group. we where happy with the outcome and may even give it another chance. As overall it is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stopped here for refreshments in the afternoon. The food was not 10/10 as walnuts were missing from our Pear & Walnut salad. This was beautifully compensated by the service. I will recommend this place as human error can happen anywhere and everywhere but we left happy that was the Name of the Game.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleyags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Amazing location, amazing service, amazing food, sitting in the bar watching the sun go down over the lake is just fantastic. The staff were fantastic, we stayed with 2 kids & they couldn't do enough for us. Particular credit to the staff at breakfast. Would we stay again? You bet.

Room Tip: If you can get a view of the lake all the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve10322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stay here every time we visit Bowness, can't fault it. Lovely rooms, get a view! Great food and drink. The bar is lovely the whole hotel has a feel of opulence. Staff are really helpful. Great spa and pool. Highly recommended! Couples, families or whoever wants a break.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fi55be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing