We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay for a 50th birthday celebration, the whole experience from start to finish was beyond expectation. Upon arrival our luggage was taken from the car, then the car was taken and parked for us. The room we had was fabulous, clean, spacious and had a wonderful Nespresso coffee maker...so much better than a kettle!! We had excellent views of the lake and pier, what better place to watch an electric storm over the lake! Service at the Old England is traditional old fashioned service where nothing is too much trouble, without exception every staff member was polite and went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed. Breakfast was good with lots of choice both continental and cooked, and plentiful, and not a toasting machine in sight! I can't thank the staff enough for making our stay a memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKHCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Congratulations again on your celebratory break at the Old England. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed some of our recent service enhancements such as valet parking, concierge and Nespresso coffee in all of our Executive Feature rooms.

My team will certainly enjoy hearing about your memorable stay and I thank you for your kind words of praise for there service commitment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    824
    440
    214
    134
See reviews for
470
1,677
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Four of us came for dinner and had booked the table two weeks earlier. We were shown to table that was long rather than square or round, we asked the waitress if we could change to a round one and was promptly told the two available we're reserved for people staying at the. Hotel (this made me feel like a poor relation). Anyway needless to say we were given a round table at the back of the restaurant on our own. Staff were friendly enough but not professional, more training definitely needed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Meandhim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
As you know our restaurant enjoys stunning panoramic views across the lake. We receive many requests for tables directly in front of the window with all but one being round tables for 2 people only. This makes it difficult to push table together due to tables. Requests are of course very limited and generally tables are allocated as they arrive. I am sorry if you left feeling that we in some way offended you by not being able to accommodate your request. I can assure you that we do not differentiate between those guests that stay with us and those only visiting the restaurant.

If you have any specific comments regarding how we may improve our menu offering or indeed suggested dishes you would like to see we would certainly welcome your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over bonfire weekend with my wife, surroundings are amazing, it's well located within easy walking distance of local pubs & shops. Car park is pretty small, but they did offer valet parking so not sure if they have an off site area, but I had already parked in car park before checking in.

Staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

All of the food we had was of good quality.

The rooms were ok, we had a king size room over looking the lake, the room was clean and tidy but the bathroom looked like it was ready for a re-vamp, celling had mold and it took for ever to get hot water through the taps.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DucatiKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My Husband and i have just returned from a two night stay over Halloween, On arrival our luggage was taken for us and then the car parked. We never used the car again until departure.
Our room was ready when we arrived 3 hours early and we was allowed to check in. The Hotel is ideally situated for everything near the lake, shops, restaurants. Staff can not do enough for you, meals and room service are daft prices but some beautiful places to eat in the village, we was B&B and the Breakfast was amazing anything and everything you could possibly want, staff very accomodating, managed to get a table next to the window overlooking the lake beautiful. Rooms are a little tired but bathroom and bed very clean, toiletries suppled are lovely. Robes have been boiled washed a few times looking a little grey, couldn't get in for a spa treat though so do book early if you want one, this was because of 3 hen parties arriving. We did use the Swimming Pool, Steam Room, Sauna, and Ice Room. Overall had a wonderful time, really enjoyed will return.

Room Tip: View from room not nice facing onto a pub didnt pay for a lake view so didnt get one, may try asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Myself, daughter and granddaughter stayed for three nights across halloween. Rooms were spacious very fresh (obviously recently refurbished) and comfortable with a lovely bathroom with both bath and shower. We booked standard but asked for quiet rooms and were kindly upgraded to Executive so were really happy. We used valet parking and left the car parked for the entire stay as the hotel is in such a good location . Close to restaurants,shops ,the boats and bus stops right on hand. Views of the lake were great from our rooms, the terrace bar and the hotel restaurant where we had great breakfasts. The staff were without exception helpful and friendly and treated our 4 year old like a princess. Particular thanks go to the Bar Manager Dania who saved the day when we were unable to go out during a horrendous downpour, couldn't get a table in the restaurant for dinner, and food service in the bar had been stopped .She was a hero ferrying our dinner from the restaurant into the bar and fussing over us despite the fact that she had to then go back to finish service in the restaurant. The meal and wine was expensive but outstanding . We had a lovely time and would stay there again just wish the weather had cooperated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from short break at this hotel with my husband and young children. The hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Bowness - overlooking the lake and central to the town. The family room was spacious and comfortable. Not a room with a view, but then we didn't pay the premium price for such a room. We had bed and breakfast at the hotel and the food was lovely. There was a broad choice: continental breakfast with cereal, fruits, croissants etc followed by a freshly cooked breakfast. The children were warmly welcomed and catered for. Also made use of the swimming pool - an additional attraction that the children enjoyed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SLHWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here at the end of August and we've just returned from another overnight stay.

We first encountered this hotel 12 years ago, when we had a G & T on the terrace overlooking the lake. It was our plan to stay there eventually but the prices were always too high.

Macdonald hotels offer some great deals. We paid £126 BB at the end of August, this was for 2 adults and 1 child; including valet parking and £10 credit per room. Most of the B&B's in Bowness are roughly around £100 per room so the difference is well worth it. Plus the added bonus of a lovely pool & spa facilities NB. under 16's time restrictions apply.

We paid slightly more for half term week. We didn't eat in the hotel because there are ample of places to eat within yards of the hotel. Yes, the bar prices are expensive but the £10 credit does make a difference - bottle of Pinot and a fruit juice £25 less the credit - not too bad.

We will definitely be staying again. The staff are very friendly and the overall atmosphere is very relaxed.

Thank you Old England

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra to upgrade to an Executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelly1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing