We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel with a Lake view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Hotel with a Lake view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Almost at the bottom of the main road through Bowness, the Hotel overlooks the Lake Windermere. Find the Church and the Hotel is behind it. The car park only holds about eight vehicles, so park outside the hotel and get directions to their main car park. It is on the other side of the Church but you need a key card to get the banner lifted. The hotel is used by foreign tourists so don't try to book in when their coach has just arrived! Parts of the hotel are old but there is a new wing. All is nicely decorated with a modern feel throughout. We had a room overlooking the lake. The room is large and has all what you would expect. Food at the hotel is good but we found the service be be slow at times. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. Two lifts serve all floors and the dining room is large. A self service breakfast bar has a good variety. The views over the lake and boats are brilliant and the hotel is only a couple of minutes from the steamers which glide the lake. There is a local 'bus service and a variety of shops selling local produce and items. Take clothing for inclement weather - this is The Lakes!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dormouse39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    790
    415
    199
    125
See reviews for
440
1,604
41
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked through booking.com and hadn't paid for a particular room so we were both pleased and surprised to get room 125 which had a double aspect overlooking the lake. We even managed to get into the room about 1130 as we were in the area early. It was a nice large room with 2 chairs so we could sit and watch the boats come in and out having a lovely cup of tea!! The hotel has a nice pool area - decent size pool with sauna and ice room. It also has a gym and spa which we didn't use. Breakfast was a good - nice variety, cold & cooked. We sat out on the terrace and had drinks from the bar - a bit pricey but you're paying for the great location. All the staff were friendly. We paid £244 for 2 nights B&B which for the standard of hotel and the actual room we were allocated was good value.

Room Tip: Room 125 - double aspect overlooking lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anet-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle,Cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

As a Cumbrian residing in Carlisle, we tend to avoid the Lakes during the tourist season as packed with cars,coach trips and day trippers. So it was with some trepidation that we headed to Bowness for a couple of nights over the Bank Holiday week-end. We had managed to secure a family room at the Old England via Superbreaks and was pleasantly surprised at the excellent service levels, quality of room and breakfast. The Lakes can be hit or miss when it comes to customer service, standard of accommodation and food so be warned but I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. Spa and pool were excellent and had a lovely Elemis facial which was reasonably priced. Hotel is in an excellent location and if you arrive by car they will park it for you in their secure car park. Great hotel , would definitely stay here again, and remember to pack your water proofs .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luibaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked two "executive" rooms - which seemed pretty standard except you had a very nice lake view and a "complimentary" bathrobe/slippers. Room was clean and comfortable and plenty of wardrobe space. Only downside was the décor of the bathroom and cracked tiling in the floor.

We had breakfast in the restaurant - a bit slow but the shift supervisor did apologise to us personally for this - which is not something you get very often. The food was good but it seems hard to justify the supplement for any fish (kipper or smoked haddock). Staff very polite.

The lounge areas are well appointed and have nice views over the lake - may be a bit traditional in style for some. The bar could do with stocking one cask ale from a local brewery. All in all a quiet and restful hotel.

Room Tip: Best to go for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

lovely room, stupendous views great position....BUT cannot believe that a hotel of this standard has no WiFi? would
never have. booked here had I known. Absolutely infuriating in a hotel in this price bracket.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank suewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Charming, charming hotel! Our room had a great view! We were there in May, and the weather was cool. We noticed there was no air conditioning in the hotel. This was our first visit to the lake district, and we are from the U.S., so we don't know if A/C is ever needed in this part of the country. We were with a bus tour, so we didn't have to worry about parking. The food was excellent. Drinks were more expensive than at many locations, but the whole experience was wonderful!! We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the water.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank summersailor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed her for two nights, a mixed group of adults and children. Our party included an elderly disabled wheel chair bound member. The staff were fantastic from the moment we booked in to the time we left. They pitched the level of attentiveness just right. We had an executive family room with magnificent views. The room itself was a little tired, but comfortable and well appointed. The only complaint came from out children, as the bunk bed frame squeaked everytime they turned over.
The food was very good, but I found my main (Monkfish tails) a little over seasoned. As this is very subjective I have no complaints about it. The pool facilities are fantastic for families.
Overall a great experience, enhanced by wonderful staff. We rarely return to the same hotels, but will be making an exception with this. Well done Macdonald.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank podgerpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing