We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why no WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 13, 2013

lovely room, stupendous views great position....BUT cannot believe that a hotel of this standard has no WiFi? would
never have. booked here had I known. Absolutely infuriating in a hotel in this price bracket.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank suewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,372 - 2,378 of 3,041 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Charming, charming hotel! Our room had a great view! We were there in May, and the weather was cool. We noticed there was no air conditioning in the hotel. This was our first visit to the lake district, and we are from the U.S., so we don't know if A/C is ever needed in this part of the country. We were with a bus tour, so we didn't have to worry about parking. The food was excellent. Drinks were more expensive than at many locations, but the whole experience was wonderful!! We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the water.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank summersailor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed her for two nights, a mixed group of adults and children. Our party included an elderly disabled wheel chair bound member. The staff were fantastic from the moment we booked in to the time we left. They pitched the level of attentiveness just right. We had an executive family room with magnificent views. The room itself was a little tired, but comfortable and well appointed. The only complaint came from out children, as the bunk bed frame squeaked everytime they turned over.
The food was very good, but I found my main (Monkfish tails) a little over seasoned. As this is very subjective I have no complaints about it. The pool facilities are fantastic for families.
Overall a great experience, enhanced by wonderful staff. We rarely return to the same hotels, but will be making an exception with this. Well done Macdonald.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank podgerpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. Managed to park in the car park next to the hotel. Only found out later that there was another car park available a short distance away. This is a very good hotel to experience old English charm. We found all the reception staff very friendly and helpful. Our room (217) was OK, small and with no view only the pub windows next door. Bathroom design was not good, difficulty getting in and out of bath due to glass shower screen. Not a good room for anyone less agile! If you want views and space, then you need to state this when booking and pay for the extras. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and wonderful views from the dining room. Hotel is central to everything, boat trips, restaurants etc. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayaddict023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The overall score for the hotel is based on quite a mixed stay . Hotel is an old one " character" I assume the correct phrase.
Positioning of hotel in Bowness is superb , great views of lake from the dining room and lounge and , I believe ,from some of the rooms. Our room was reasonably comfortable , medium size, bathroom average and as it was not the cheapest grade we had hoped for a glimpse of the lake but we hit the jackpot with a great view of the skip at the back of a nearby property ! Luckily over the weekend the builders were not working too hard early morning. Some rooms in the corridors would also I assume get a lot of noise from cleaning staff as the cleaning trolleys were spread past a few rooms on the corridor each morning very early on.
Due to the location parking is all valet service - but that too can cause problems at peak times as the small road by the hotel can sometimes not cope with the number of cars when people are waiting to check in .
Staff were very pleasant throughout , check in desk could do with help at times as it becomes stretched on check in and check out , but they still remain cheerful.
Food - breakfasts very good - superb choice of buffet and cooked breakfast also good . Dinner when included in the price is very good value and excellent . Usually find the Macdonald Hotels in general do use good quality produce which reflects in their meals .
Drinks in lounge - FORGET THEM , pricing is steep even for tea/ coffee - presumably they get a lot of passing trade and need to make money off people when only there for an hour or two ?
Spa had a "special "marked on boards through the hotel which had " stopped" when we asked at the spa itself , a suggestion that the cards should be removed took 2 days to action .
The hotel overall somehow just falls short of very good - I would have said good for the price we paid - but no option for that so sticking on average .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaMBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We always have a weekend away in March for our anniversary and never go to the same place twice, but this time we made an exception as we loved our first stay at Old England 3 years ago, we were compelled to return!! The staff are very efficient and friendly. We had a ground floor room, with a good view and the room was spacious and clean with a big comfy bed, soft bath robes and good quality tea and biscuits.. The breakfast was good and the serving staff attentive. We only paid £87/night including breakfast, you can get a good deal if you search the net, we used Trivago. Absolute bargain!! The hotel is ideally located in the centre of Bowness, which is good for a night out, plenty of eating places and pubs. Absolutely recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritz102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last Sept to break up a Bristol to Aberdeen drive and did the same this year on the way back from Scotland for 3 nights. We did look at other (cheaper) options but the hotel was so good last year we decided to come back. Our little one is now 13 months and the hotel were very helpful with high chairs, sterilising bottles etc. One minor niggle is that high chair could have done with a clean - from experience 10 minutes with a baby wipe would have done the trick!!! Excellent hotel and excellent service.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,512 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,176 reviews
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#16 of 20 in Windermere
558 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $138 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing