We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time visit, not disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We always have a weekend away in March for our anniversary and never go to the same place twice, but this time we made an exception as we loved our first stay at Old England 3 years ago, we were compelled to return!! The staff are very efficient and friendly. We had a ground floor room, with a good view and the room was spacious and clean with a big comfy bed, soft bath robes and good quality tea and biscuits.. The breakfast was good and the serving staff attentive. We only paid £87/night including breakfast, you can get a good deal if you search the net, we used Trivago. Absolute bargain!! The hotel is ideally located in the centre of Bowness, which is good for a night out, plenty of eating places and pubs. Absolutely recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritz102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,338 - 2,344 of 3,002 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last Sept to break up a Bristol to Aberdeen drive and did the same this year on the way back from Scotland for 3 nights. We did look at other (cheaper) options but the hotel was so good last year we decided to come back. Our little one is now 13 months and the hotel were very helpful with high chairs, sterilising bottles etc. One minor niggle is that high chair could have done with a clean - from experience 10 minutes with a baby wipe would have done the trick!!! Excellent hotel and excellent service.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were considering staying in this hotel as it is situated right in the middle of bowness on Windermere. my partner is in a wheelchair, so we wanted a central hotel. We were already booked into a hotel just outside the town and having looked at this hotel online, we decided to go and check it out for ourselves. Our main concern was, of course, accessibility. The few parking spaces adjacent to the hotel were occupied so we parked outside the hotel, which has double yellow lines outside it. Having displayed my partners blue badge and time clock (which allows 3 hours parking on yellow lines) I started unloading the wheelchair when I became aware of a hotel porter standing and watching us. Having transferred my partner out into the chair, the porter stepped forward and asked if we were guests at the hotel. when i said, not yet he said we could not park the car there. As he was not English, we pointed out that the blue badge allowed us to park there, albeit temporarily, but he repeated that we could not park there as the hotel was expecting a coach to arrive and would need our space. My partner repeated that he was legally parked but the porter 'suggested' that the car could be damaged by the pending arrival of the coach. He kept on and on that I should move the car that eventually, I told my partner nothing would induce me to consider this hotel for a stay if this was an example of their 'hospitality' (bearing in mind my partners very obvious disability)
I then had to transfer my partner back into the car and drive further up the town into a disabled bay which allowed 3 hours parking. We passed the hotel several times during the next hour and never saw any evidence of a coach. Obviously the porter was just moving us on so he could keep the road outside the hotel specifically for hotel use - despite it being a public road. Very poor show.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sooz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Took my soon-to-be-mum daughter there for a pamper overnight stay and we had a lovely time. Staff were so attentive, a cut above some of the guests to be honest, and the general feel of the place was a sort of Agatha christie movie set - I loved it. Room 309 had a fab view of the the lake and was clean, comfy and had everything a 4 star room should have. The spa and the people were fantastic and friendly and the pool, albeit with young kiddies was just what we needed. Next time we promised ourselves a two night stay...thanks everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ex-stew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from 2nd May over the May Bank Holiday Weekend. We had booked directly with the hotel since we had specific room requests: Cot for our baby, a family room, a fridge in the room and above all one of the hotel's renovated rooms. We had decided to trade off a lake view for a more modern room. Upon check in we were given an unrenovated room with a lake view and no cot!
Our initial displeasure at the above points were soon erased though as the location and the ambience of the hotel won us over. The view from our room was spectacular as was the view from the lounge and dining areas. The service from all staff was excellent and we had breakfast each day plus one evening meal and the food was to a very high standard (if slightly on the expensive side!).
Overall we had a very relaxing time at the hotel and we would definitely book to stay there again. Without the views and the location, the hotel would have seemed 'run of the mill' and expensive, but the overall package was well worth paying for!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_and_Liya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Please do not waste your money on this place it is an absolute dump for the extortionate prices you pay for one night - total disgrace!!

We had decided to stop off in the lakes on a journey back up north from London The first night we stayed in Armathwaite hall which was lovely (separate review) but to put it briefly excellent service, beautiful views, superb spa and very classy 5 course meal in the evening....... service was honestly impeccable.

We were then able to stay a second night but unfortunately Armathwaite were fully booked on the second night so started phoning around to see where else we could stay.

A few hotels that we had called had mentioned this old england hotel and were the only ones that had availability. Anyway the woman we spoke to when booking assured us that it was a beautiful hotel and apparently we were getting a king executive feature room???? - what the feature was i don't know!!.....anyway considering the price was the same we thought...ok it must be quite good... what a mistake to make such an assumption.

When we arrived....it was like driving into Blackpool and when we seen this dingy looking hotel we were totally shocked and so disappointed.......
We were told that the hotel had a car park but were not told that it was an outdoor car park completely separate from the hotel. Now considering we'd just bought a brand new top of the range sports car, my husband was not best pleased.

So went in to speak to reception and "Andrej" has got to be rudest person on a reception desk i have ever come across.... I had asked him where the car park was and all he kept saying was unload your luggage and we will take the car and park it. When i tried to explain that this was not going to happen and my husband would prefer to park the car himself, he continued to make rude facial expressions, shrugging his shoulders and raising his voice continuing to say the same thing....i was so disappointed with this attitude that from that point on i really did not want to stay here...but could not cancel even though we were told whilst booking that we could since we'd booked it so lastminute. Anyway so i had to come out and send my husband in. Another hotel manager came out and directed him to the car park - simple!!!

By this point i was so upset that we'd paid the same amount for one night and had gone from one extreme to the other and the attitude had just totally ruined the day from that point on.

The rooms were really outdated and had mould and disgusting tiling in the bathroom. I was told we were getting a King executive room - to find it was 2 single beds pushed together. Still don't know what the feature was!

Aside from that, there was a lovely spanish lady on the bar, very friendly and the restaurant is actually a great experience. Worlds apart from the hotel itself, forgot for a short while that we were still in this dump of a hotel lol.....The service in the restaurant was really good too as was the food.

Anyway if you're going to spend close to £400 for a night then please go to somewhere like Armathwaite Hall or i'm sure there are a few others of the same luxury and class.

This place you definitely do not get what you pay for, it's a complete and utter rip off!! Perhaps if they sort out the attitude of their staff on reception things might have been tolerable - but still majorly disappointing that they can get away with charging so much when the hotel itself is more like a 3* if that!!!

Needless to say as soon as we woke, we left and that was 6.30am - desperate to get out of the place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnyscotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed from Thursday 25th April to Monday 29th April, having booked the hotel directly as I have used other Macdonald hotels for business and for pleasure. Was not disappointed with the hotel and the Spa is excellent. We used the pool, gym and had treatments, very relaxing and the staff in the spa are very pleasant. An experience not to be missed.
The hotel is on the Lake (Winderemere), and as most Macdonald hotels are always of a good standard in lovely locations. I have a couple of suggestions which might be considered - there is no free wifi in the hotel and considering that we had this facility in a local tea shop, I think the hotel should take this on board. The breakfasts are very good, loads to chose from - the ordering was a little hit and miss but overall no complaints. We caught a party of travellers one morning which depleted the fresh fruit and cold meat bar and this took a whilel to replenish. We had dinner one night and this was excellent, standard of presentation, quality of food and service were spot on. Dinner for 4 of us cost around £115 without wine.
The rooms we had, 229, 230 & 231 were on the 2nd floor but the windows are fairly high up hence restricted views of the lake. Newly refurbished it would seem, good beds, sofa in the room, generous size bathroom with bath and shower, safe, coffee and tea facilities with a bottle of fresh water every day. The size of the TV's varied from one room to another, much to the annoyance of my husband, our TV was the smallest of the 3 - not that we watched too much anyway.
My overall experience was very good, the check in was a little lengthy, we waited 10 minutes and then decided to go for lunch and came back later, there was one person on reception, Paul - there were quite a few people waiting and he was stuck with one person's query. A little annoying. Would recommend this hotel, it is very clean, we found the staff to be very pleasant and the location is superb. Lots of local shops and places to eat and drink, so book, you will like it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvtuykom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
476 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $121 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing